Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 22 July 2016
I originally bought this on LP,Album, Vinyl whatever you want to call it when it first came out nearly 30 years ago now.
I went through a bit of a Goth period when i left school until 19, I also liked the Cult and All about Eve (singer Julianne Regan sang backing vocals for The Mission's God's Own Medicine album before they were signed to Phonogram)
So released in 1987 at a time when 'Rick Astley' 'Mel & Kim' & Bananarama were riding the charts this album is what we needed to escape all that trash, and I have to say it still sounds good today as it did 30 years ago as it didn't fit into all that 80s cheese that was around at the time so it still sounds fresh.
Unfortunately i was only a Goth a short time and my music sort of changed to Indie & Rock so i didn't really get into any of their other albums but i did however liked the 'Tower of strength' when i heard it back in 1989 which i thought was excellent!

When i bought this CD I also bought their 4th album 'Carved in sand' as someone recommended this one, I have played this already and i actually do quite like it but have noticed a different change in direction with this one, If i had listened to this when it first came out in 1990 i probably would of hated it as that 80s Goth sound i loved had changed drastically in the 1990s and 'Goth' became 'NuMetal' and we had the likes of 'NIN' & 'MM'
For me personally real Goth music was at it's best in the 1980's with bands like 'The Mission, Sisters of mercy, Siouxsie, Cult, Cure, Fields of Nephelin, Killing Joke, Danielle Dax & Cocteau Twins' ...... so if you want to buy any Mission CD i would say go and buy this one as probably their best and most popular!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2011
I always preferred The Mission to The Sisters of Mercy. The more melodic and human songwriting approach of Wayne Hussey always appealed more to me than the industrial doom of Andrew Eldritch.
'God's Own Medicine' was probably one of the outstanding rock albums of 1986 for my money.
Tracks like 'Wasteland', 'Bridges Burning','Blood Brother' 'And The Dance Goes On' and 'Sacrilege' are big, powerful rock juggernauts with some smooth rolling bass runs from Craig Adams, while 'Garden of Delight (hereafter)',the unintentionally amusing 'Love Me to Death' and 'Severina' show a more wistful, romantic side to the band.
'Stay With Me' is a catchy pop track with drinking song style chorus, and songs like 'Let Sleeping Dogs Die' and 'Island in a Stream' are effective low key tracks with good vocal performances from Hussey.
The stand out track for me though is 'Dance on Glass' with it's graphic lyrical imagery and tribal style percussion. It's A dark, yet beautiful track which really draws you in to it's atmosphere.
Vocally, Wayne Hussey proves to have far more range, power and emotion than any other singer whose band he'd played in (Pete Burns, Andrew Eldritch), and he contributes some skilled songwriting too.
Simon Hinkler's guitar adds depth, atmosphere and drama to what is already a heady brew and the rhythm section is smart and unfussy, allowing the rest of the music to flow beautifully.
I can't recommend this album enough. There's more to it than just plain goth, so step back into the 1980's and savour this little masterpiece.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2018
classic album wonderful gothic tinged songs from the guy that helped for sisters of mercy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 October 2016
Still my fav followed by Carved in sand.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2018
another brilliant cd from the mission
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2015
wayne hussey's voice and his music are absolutely fantastic. I have always loved that genre of music. excellent service thank you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2014
One of the Mission's best albums
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2016
Ace
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2012
Forgotten how much I really loved this album and how brilliant it was. Took me right back to 1986 when the Mission were at their very best and hence produced this fantastic album. Not a crap track on it - full of all the raw gritty talent that made the Mish great. Fantastic album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2015
I Love it, play it nearly every day!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Children
£3.99
Singles
£11.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)