Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
281
3.9 out of 5 stars
Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)
Platform: Xbox 360|Edition: Standard|Change
Price:£3.99 - £21.99


This is best Halo game ever, based on the game engine of the best halo game ever (halo 3)
Film Noir-esque, superb sound track, compelling characters, brilliant story.
This is one of Bungie's masterpieces, rivalled only by their other masterpieces.
Take me back to 2009 just for this!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
Son loves it and must admit that I quite enjoy it too when playing as his backup/sidekick. Wish I could get Halo on the playstation... :(
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
Love this game, had it for years.Got this one when my original copy was damaged when my old console had a meltdown
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2017
broken on arrival
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2009
ODST is worth getting if you don't have all maps for Halo 3 as this comes with a new Halo 3 disc which contains all maps (this does not include the Halo 3 campaign, only online play). Fire Fight is also good fun to play with mates and is comparable to Horde from Gears of War 2. The ODST campaign is disappointing: maps are repetitive and uninspiring, graphics are not as good as Halo 3, and game-play just lacks something which Halo 3 has but I can't quite put my finger on what it is. The points I have made above tend to be the common feeling from all the people I have played with. The three stars I have given for this is only considering the ODST part of the game; Halo 3 online is definitely a five star experience!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2010
I was not expecting much from this game perhaps due to the limited publicity. I waited for the prices to go down and from among the shops I use amazon was the first to offer this at a very good price. The game is really good and have started playing it for a second time. Good that there is no Flood! Now it is time to play.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
ehhhhh
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2009
Bungee have to be respected for their devotion to taking the Halo series and improving it each time. ODST feels both comfortably familiar to and refreshingly different from the Halo trilogy. There are no Elites and no Flood, but that has to be taken in the context of the story - which has to be canon with Halo 3, of course. The Brutes have been improved and you see far more of the Drones and Jackal snipers than in any other game. Even the Grunts are more fearsome, travelling in greater numbers and sometimes charging at you with lit plasma grenades. The Hunters travel in pairs as usual. Hunters are Hunters in any Halo game - they used to be the worst enemy to face; now it's pairs of Brutes with hammers.

The scripting and the environs are so well conceived that the campaign mode is better in gameplay terms than in any of the Halos so far. The game is set in the occupied city of New Mombassa and you start off as The Rookie, dazed, separated from your squad (yes, in ODST you are part of a squad), and wandering the city at night searching for clues as to what happened to them. Assisted by the Superintendent - an A.I. that runs all the city's systems and communicates with you in a unique way (saying more would be a spoiler) - you gather clues about what happened to the rest of your squad in the time you were unconscious after your drop pod crashed. On finding a clue, you get to play as one of your squad in a long flashback to a mission carried out during the hours of daylight. Each of these missions beats any Halo chapter gone before hands down for fun, variety and sheer distilled pleasure hectic mayhem (Googlewhack!).

Though you are fighting in close quarters, you do get to drive and fly and blow up vehicles. You even get to blow up a bridge. A new feature is the ability to switch to a visor friend-or-foe system that outlines friendlies in green and enemies in red. Useable items show up in blue and collectibles in yellow.

There are some fun achievements to get, and one gigantic Easter Egg built into the game in 30 collectable parts. Sadie's Story - a combination of audio and comic - tells the story of a civilian caught up in the invasion of New Mombassa. It at first informs the backstory of the Covenant occupation, and then later weaves in with the main storyline. It's not only extremely well written, the voice acting is excellent. Speaking of speaking, fans of Firefly will be overjoyed to discover that Nathan Fillion, Adam Baldwin and Alan Tudyk voice your squadmates, along with Tricia Helfer from Battlestar Galactica.

Fans of Gears Of War 2's Hoard mode will love Firefight, which takes areas of the city and throws wave after wave of Covenant against one or more players. The game also comes with a bonus disc with a cornucopia of Halo multiplayer maps. If you have Halo 3, this also unlocks extra achievements for finding skulls on certain maps.

Don't let the name fool you - "Halo 3 ODST" it may be called, but it isn't just an expansion - it's a whole feature length game, and the best game to come out for the Xbox 360 since Fallout 3!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2017
Ordered this, only to find when it arrived that although the Multiplayer disk was functional, the Campaign disk was totally unusable; it would load the menu, but any attempts to go further than that would result in a message telling me that the disk was unreadable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here