Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 23 October 2015
Pet Shop Boys are a British electronic pop duo, formed in London in 1981 and consisting of Neil Tennant (main vocals, keyboards, occasional guitar) and Chris Lowe (keyboards, occasional vocals).

Pet Shop Boys have sold more than 50 million records worldwide,[1] and are listed as the most successful duo in UK music history by The Guinness Book of Records.[2] Three-time Brit Award winners and six-time Grammy nominees, since 1985 they have achieved forty-two Top 30 singles and 22 Top 10 hits in the UK Singles Chart, including four UK number ones: "West End Girls" (also number one on the US Billboard Hot 100), "It's a Sin", an acclaimed cover of "Always on My Mind" and "Heart". Other hit songs include a remake of "Go West", "Opportunities (Let's Make Lots of Money)" (satire of Thatcherism) and "What Have I Done to Deserve This?" in a duet with Dusty Springfield. At the 2009 Brit Awards, Pet Shop Boys received an award for Outstanding Contribution to Music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2013
This "greatest hits" album rightly celebrates the first ten years of PSBs, from this chance encounter between Chris Lowe and Neil Tennant in a music shop in Kings Road in August 1981, to the release of "Discography" in November 1991. Even if the first single on the CD, "West End Girls", was only released in October 1985, a first version of it was produced in 1983 and "Jealousy", one of the latter singles of the band in this time period, was effectively written in 1982.
Therefore it is fair to say that this album covers ten years of music-making by the Boys.
I am not going to replicate what has been repeated endlessly in these reviews, bar to say that these songs are all TIMELESS, and represent some of the best music-making in any genre. The addition of two new songs, especially written for this release, "DJ Culture" and "Was it worth it?" are both very good additions to the PSB canon and absolutely deserve to be here. My only complaint is the absence of "How can you expect to be taken seriously" - particularly the single version which had been brilliantly remixed by Brothers in Rhythm.
But what is probably even more incredible is that this first "best of" album could have easily been extended to a 2-CD or even a 3-CD set. There was amazing music written by the Pet Shop Boys then which could/should have been here: the Liza Minnelli singles from "Results", the two singles for Dusty Springfield, or "Paninaro" (a single in its own right in Italy) and so many other tracks by PSBs that didn't make it as singles: "Kings Cross", "It couldn't happen here", or B-sides like "We all feel better in the dark", "Miserablism" and "Bet she's not your girlfriend".
In light of all these riches coming from a band that has always been working very hard and has never stopped being relevant on a 30-year period, let's pay tribute to these two music geniuses who, more than twenty years after the release of this, manage to produce "Elyseum" and "Axis" back-to-back in barely twelve months!
The adventure continues!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2009
When I was young back in the 80s the Pet Shop Boys were probably at the height of their fame.

Strangely I never owned any of their music during this period, although lots of it I did like.

However given the revival of the 80's bands and the number of tours taking place by the old guard it's sort of made me realise that I should purchase some of this music for enjoyment, reflection, and to show that I am old.

So I purchased this via MP3 download on Amazon.

Firstly the MP3 download process with Amazon is painless, I downloaded the client, and when i purchased the album it started dragging itself onto my pc in quick time, before you know it I was having an 80's revival right here in my office.

The album itself is overall very good, a lot of the songs I know as they were singles and well played during my youth, there are a couple that I know less well, but they have the same distinctive sound that is the Pet Shop Boys.

It's a good album, if you like the Pet Shop Boys, or your having an 80's nostalgia trip then you need to purchase it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2017
all the hits you want. plus daughter like it too, win win!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2014
As someone who grew up with the Pet Shop Boys' music but long ago lost the cassettes (boxed up somewhere in mother's house), it has been great to come across this disc (and at an absolutely brilliant price, too!), that has all the hits I have missed having all these recent years.
The only song that might be missing in there is Go West, but, even so, five stars well deserved!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2017
Bargain
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2011
After seeing PSBs performing live at Wembley Stadium as a support act to Take That in July, I was delighted to hear all their greatest hits again. I was reminded of the innovative brilliance of their music and bought the incredibly priced CD of their greatest hits. An outstanding collection of the iconic duo of the eighties, Discography provides a comprehensive collection of all the singles produced by the Boys. Thoroughly delightful to renew my enjoyment of their creation.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2010
I will not write an elaborate essay on PSB music. don't worry. It's just one of the groups I grew up with as a teenager and simply like it. It's a very decent CD with all the mainstream tunes, one of the few compilations I can actually listen without fast forwarding/skipping the tunes like I often do with my other favourite artists' compilations from the 80's/90's.
Interesting inlay with a short story for each song, a must if you have always liked the group but never fancied buying and going through any of their original albums.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2018
Great song from many fine tracks from the group that listen many times. Brings back some memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2015
Pet Shop Boys really do have a very distinctive sound that no-one else can quite pull off, and some of those lyrics are just great too, "Call the police! There's a mad man about!" That said, the sound is always the same and after the end of the album you're ready to rest for a while before a re-listen.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Ultimate
£5.99
Actually
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)