Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 22 June 2005
There are many inexpensive Ike & Tina compilations on the market but until recently they had always dated from a slightly later period than their Sue labels recordings, which Stateside have now released, almost in full, on this and its companion, Don't Play Me Cheap/It's Gonna Work Out Fine. Apart from a few singles, most are appearing on CD for the first time.
They start with the very first recording credited to Ike and Tina Turner, from 1959, A Fool In Love, which charted on both pop and R&B charts. The story had begun a couple of years earlier, when 17-year old Annie Mae (Tina) allegedly jumped onstage on a dare from her sister to sing at an Ike Turner and his Kings Of Rhythm gig, and ended up with the band, eventually recording a local single for Ike on Tune Town as Little Anne in 1958 (Boxtop/Calypso Love Cry).
Eventually she joined the revue and became pregnant by one of the band, who left St Louis and never came back. She and Ike became an item in 1959. The Soul Of Ike And Tina Turner, their first album, was recorded with the fabulous Ikettes while they were on tour with the revue, and comprised almost exclusively Ike Turner compositions. It included follow-up singles I Idolize You and I'm Jealous (the opening note of this track is slightly clipped on my copy of the CD), with its flipside You're My Baby featuring the Ikettes, with Ike on backing vocals.
All but three of the tracks also appeared on singles, the exclusive tracks being If, You Can't Love Two and I Had A Notion (Chances Are is a re-titled Puppy Love, a B-side), and there is remarkably little padding on the record.
The next album, Dynamite, duplicated many of the same tracks, tracks 13-17 being the only new ones. The original running order was You Shoulda Treated Me Right/It's Gonna Work Out Fine/A Fool In Love/Poor Fool/I Idolize You/Tra La La La La/Sleepless/I'm Jealous/Won't You Forgive Me/The Way You Love Me/I Dig You/Letter From Tina.
I Dig You was the only exclusive track, the other new tracks all appearing on singles, the A-sides being You Should've Treated Me Right, It's Gonna Work Out Fine (included on the companion disc), Poor Fool and Tra La La. Four non-album tracks from the period conclude the collection, including the A-side Mind In A Whirl. There is a rawness and earthiness in all these recordings that give them a potency and power that remains undimmed
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)