Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
43
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 June 2014
I don't understand the dunderheads reviewing this CD as if it is just a compilation - its their hits done LIVE!
I bought the CD to get a flavour of how they might have sounded like when they were young fresh and relevant. It's an unpleasant reminder for me of another amazing band I wished I'd seen live!
Cool album brothers and sisters - buy it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
My first LP (that I will admit to!) and I still remember the black and white mini skirt my mum made for me..... This brought back all the memories of walking down carnaby street trying to look hip! Great music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2001
i have liked the specials for a while now after hearing Ghost Town on TV and being completely engrosed. this album is kind of a best of record with a lot of strong and catchy song that make you want to shout 'rude boyz' at the top of your voice :) if you like modern ska/punk, then find out where it came from by listening to these guys.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2004
Why bother?
This is simply a mash of the tracks from 2 great albums.
The Specials is the classic album. More Specials is 2nd best. You need to hear all the tracks. That leaves the non-album tracks. Which aren't here. So its worthwhile getting for 2 kinds of people: people who only like the hits and people who already heard the albums (vinyl owners?) and only like the tracks here.
People who want to complete their hits collections after buying these two albums should look elsewhere for collections including the Special AKA hits- see Free Nelson Mandela, Gangsters (on the US The Specials release)
People who haven't got those tracks or have only The Specials should get More Specials. Not as good, but again it has a unique atmosphere created by the attitude of the songs. Definitely NOT this.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`Too Much Too Young' is a good companion to the `Specials Singles' album but useless as a `Best of' as it contains fourteen tracks culled from across the two studio albums `Specials' and `More Specials' plus the 45 `Rat Race' and the very rare remake of `Rude Boys Outa Jail' (limited edition 45 given away with `More Specials'). It doesn't contain the number one singles `Ghost Town' or `Too Much Too Young' (it does feature the tamer album version of Too Much) or debut single `Gangsters'.

So although it cannot be recommended as an introduction to the band it is a cheap way to get a flavour of both the Specials LP's for a bargain price. At this price it would be rude not to buy it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
If you like Ska, and if you like the Specials in particular, then you should buy this. It will have you dancing befoer you know it..terrific.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
The CD was good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
What's the point in buying this album? For those owning both original Specials albums plus the singles collection it's needless to buy this patchwork CD which only includes one previously unissued track (nerve wrecking "rude boys outta jail")that I haven't had in my collection yet. It's even a let down for new listeners since double features of both original albums exist and instead of buying this crude compilation that doesn't even have a proper booklet, you should go for the original recordings. There isn't an underlying concept here - if they had jumbled up live versions, demo tracks alongside with bbc recordings in order to portray the band's career it would have been worth a buy, but this here is just another odds and ends production lacking ideas and concept.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
a good cd with various ska songs, if you enjoy or used to enjoy ska and want to relive this again, then this is a cd you must get.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
I love the specials and have recently seen them in concert and they still have it in spades all these years on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)