Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
28
Song For My Father
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99


on 2 June 2001
Quintessential hard bop from the founding father of funk: an absolutely kicking album. Hugely influential, irresistibly swinging deep groove. Joe Henderson's saxophone is driven by waves of emotion and Silver's crisp composition and rhythmic left hand is at its most compelling. This is easily one of my favourite albums. I'm capable of playing it over and over again - the title tune is simply thrilling. The whole band exudes ebullience and optimism.
But the album is far more than mere entertainment: Silver's own trio piece, the closing "Lonely Woman" (not to be confused with the eponymous 1959 piece by Ornette Coleman, or the 1937 one by Benny Carter) is exceptional for its introspective lyricism. Silver's father was from Maio, Cape Verde, and his Portuguese origin (presumably Silva) explains the sub-title of the album: Cantiga para meu pai. No father could hope for a more heartfelt dedication.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2015
been playing it in the kitchen while I'm cooking = nice calming music. Love 'song for my father' itself
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2015
Quality sounds
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2014
If you are looking for an introduction into brilliant cool jazz, listen to these tracks. If you are already well into modern jazz, get it any way
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2015
Great album, especially track 5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2015
Great listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2016
A pure groove. Silver and Henderson bring out the best in each other. I never tire of this CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2017
mega
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2017
Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 May 2014
This 1965 recording by the Horace Silver Quintet (though, strictly speaking, there are two different quintets here) is the sort of album that almost defies genre – it’s obviously jazz (with a latin and be-bop feel), but its commerciality is so (for me, at least) all-pervading that I would have no hesitation recommending it (and, indeed, much of Silver’s work) to non-jazz fans. Silver has always had an ear for a catchy melody and the examples here, along with the album’s latin rhythms (no doubt partly deriving from the man’s own cultural heritage), make Song For My Father a totally intoxicating listen.

Strangely enough, though, the album had a rather chequered production history (as perhaps inferred by its ‘double quintet’ nature). At its core are four tunes featuring Silver’s 'new’ quintet, with Joe Henderson on tenor sax and Carmel Jones on trumpet. These are the bossa nova beat-backed title tune, The Natives Are Restless Tonight, the slow-burning Que Pasa? (all Silver compositions) and the blistering Henderson-penned number The Kicker – all are outstanding with (in particular) some great soloing from the emerging talent Henderson, and with one or two impressive solos from drummer Roger Humphries. Also included on the ‘original’ (1965 release) album are two Silver tunes with the man’s earlier quintet, featuring Blue Mitchell on trumpet and Junior Cook on tenor – Calcutta Cutie and Lonely Woman. These are more laid back (with less horns), but Lonely Woman (in particular) is a beautiful composition with some heartfelt piano from Silver.

The 1999 release also includes four extra tunes with the earlier quintet. Sanctimonious Sam is an infectious waltz written by the saxophonist Musa Kaleem, Sighin’ And Cryin’ is a moody, strolling number with some nice playing from Mitchell, Silver Treads Among My Soul is another catchy Silver tune with some nice piano and there is an abbreviated (but still infectious) trio version of Que Pasa? It’s an album which comes highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Moanin'
£1.79

Need customer service? Click here