Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
14


on 4 May 2013
It took me 7 years of having Hour of the Bewilder-beast to listen to it- I don't understand why either. Having heard it and loved it, it took no time at all to buy and listen to Born in the UK. I too am a Springsteen fan going back to 1977 - this is a much better album than Born in the USA, agreed both albums show the authors conflicted about the USA or UK but Damon shows a better vocabulary meaning the album runs better end to end and there are moments of triumph and majesty that I am not eloquent enough to describe. There are outstanding songs on this album but don't get hung up on that, do yourself a favour buy this and play it end to end and feel grateful that the UK can produce and nurture talent of Damon's standing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2013
Loved Hour of the Bewilderbeast, and thought Have You Fed the Fish & About A Boy were pretty good, but really loving this album - melancholy and bittersweet, with the usual clever and touching lyrics
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2015
LOVE IT. BUY IT...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 September 2015
It's my favourite album by Damon. But it. You won't regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 December 2006
Easily the finest Badly Drawn Boy album since 2002's ABOUT A BOY soundtrack,

BORN IN THE U.K. finds the British alternative-pop artist (a.k.a. Damon Gough)

playing to his strengths after a period of creative stagnation. While the title

track (a nod to Gough's musical hero, Bruce Springsteen) is energetic and

assured as it careens over a Beatlesque drum line, "Nothing's Going to Change

Your Mind" is a lush, plaintive ballad that reinforces earlier comparisons to

Harry Nilsson. Although BORN IN THE U.K. doesn't feature the overt eclecticism

of Gough's lauded debut, THE HOUR OF BEWILDERBEAST, it benefits not only from

Gough's renewed focus on crafting compelling pop songs, but from a new creative

foil, Lemon Jelly's Nick Franglen, who helped to flesh out the album's

arrangements. Although the record will readily appeal to Badly Drawn Boy

diehards, it should also win over some lapsed fans, and garner some new admirers

as well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2013
Ok, The Hour of Bewilderbeast gets loads of praise (rightly so too), but this is my favourite Badly Drawn Boy album. Bought it as soon as it came out in 2006, and always loved this- especially the title track, Journey from A to B, Promises and The way things used to be. But sll the tracks are great. Just invested in this limited edition with DVD too, and very glad I did. The cd's superb - as I knew - but the DVD is recommended too. Just a brilliant album, and I've had Journey from A to B in my head all day!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 May 2007
Despite the tea cosy hat,the ragamuffin threads and the luxuriant beard. Mr Gough is no art school,angst ridden,folk inspired singer songwriter.

The music of Badly Drawn Boy can be summerised in a single word...POP !

With lush orchestration, intensively tweeked production and a seamless thread of inoffensive easy listening songs,BDB provides us with another mellow album of Brit 'Chick-Flick' songs.

It's not as if we haven't been here before but each subsequent album now out blands the last.

Middle of the road love songs are all very well but after all these years,critics might be entitled to ask...'where's the beef !'.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 October 2006
Here we have album number 5 from the "wooly-hatted one". In true Damon Gough style, it has a playful, punning title ("Born in the UK" - a nod to his idol, Springsteen.) In true Damon Gough style, the music here is beautiful, exhilirating, uplifting and GODDAMN LIFE AFFIRMING! I hate to be so predictable, and bestow it with 5 stars, but...WHAT THE HELL?! This music is making me happy. 5 STARS it is. Let me guide you through, track by track:-

1.Swimming Pool. - Some spoken word philosophising from Damon. Would probably sound lame coming from other artists, but from Mr Gough, this outspoken love for his family sounds earnest and real. A powerful start to the album.

2.Born In the UK. - Vintage BDB. Impossibly catchy and energetic. Power chords on the piano and a Joy Division-style rolling beat. A very infectious vocal line. Be prepared to fall in love with this tune!

3.Degrees of Separation. - Piano-driven kitchen sink pop. Beautiful.

4.Welcome to the Overground. - Sounds like something from a 1970s musical!(Godspell, possibly?) This brings the album to a whole new level. Operatic backing vocals, a triumphant melody, gigantic piano stabs. The energy here is tangible.

5.Journey from A to B. - Very remeniscent of New Order's "Run". This contains a very captivating one-finger piano hook.

6.Nothing's Gonna Change Your Mind. - This one you know. A melodramatic masterpiece!

7.Promises. - Introspective and melancholy. Builds and builds, then the beat kicks in and this tune spreads its considerable wings! Superb.

8. The Way Things Used to Be. - Good use of slide guitar.

9. Without a Kiss. - Classical-style arpeggiated piano. Another introspective beaut.

10.The Long Way Round. - My personal favourite. A gorgeous vocal line, accompanied by an equally gorgeous muted trumpet and minor piano chords. This sounds like early Belle and Sebastian. Possibly even better.

11.Walk You Home Tonight. - Perfectly executed tune. Piano and ghostly synthesiser. This would have fitted snugly into the "About a Boy" set.

12.The Time of Times. - A rythm guitar heavy, golden sunset tune.

13.One Last Dance. - Upbeat ballad as a finisher. This is a beautiful love song that floats on perfect waves of melody. The climactic chorus makes this the perfect closer to a pretty much perfect album!

So there you have it. Buy the album. Slap it in the HI-FI. Feel your hair stand on end. Feel alive.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2006
Whilst I have enjoyed previous albums from Badly Drawn Boy (BDB) I have found his latest offering particularly excellent. The album is dedicated to Bruce Springsteen and his influence is obvious. Unlike previous albums I feel the music does not 'jump-around' as much and makes for a more thematic, coherant listen. The topcs covered will be familiar to any Springsteen fan but to summarize BDB sings about growing up and running away/escaping to a better place. The album was great on first listen and I will be enjoying this in years to come.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2010
This isn't a bad album by any means, but nor is it a great one. Track after track of familiar, safe pop melodies. This isn't another hour of bewilderbeast and as such any serious BDB fans will feel a little bit disappointed. As we have done with every album since the debut. Don't write it off though, its easy to listen to and has a feel good factor to it. It just isn't going to be played on repeat for numerous day running.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)