Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2017
greatest album ever, in my opinion! even better as it is the limited edition!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
Item as described, fast delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
fast - good value, great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
Great...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2002
gorillaz aren't the type of thing i'd usually listen to.
but they're great.
like pretty much everyone else, i bought this album after hearing clint eastwood and really liking it. clint eastwood is one of the most rappy tracks on this album, and they take it through a range of styles. my favourite songs are the last three tracks, one of which is kind of dub/reggae type thing, one is a pop song with cool wind effects and the last one M1A1 being gorillaz twisted idea of a rock anthem.
there's many other suprises along the way, none of the songs sound similar at all. but to find fault, a few of the tracks ('punk', 'latin simone' and one or two others) seem a bit throwaway. i was particularly dissapointed by the inclusion of an instrumental version of 'Latin Simone', having heard the full vocal version previously and thinking that was great. but you can't have everything can you?
basically, a mixture of moods, styles, rhythms..while it doesn't strike me as being a total classic, the best bits of this album are absolutely awesome.
oh and in reference to the previous review - i am a heavy rock/metal fan. again proof to how widespread gorillaz appeal is.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2001
This is an album filled with little hooks and lines that will have you humming and drumming along.The mark of this albums infectiousness lies in it's ability to make the listener absent mindedly noodle and hum the tunes in any place and at any time. If music is about whistling in the dark, then look no further than Gorillaz.Slow and haunting songs like 'M1 A1' and '19-2000' melt effortlessly into noisier tracks like 'Punk' and '5/4'. The aren't many stand out tracks because the whole gels so well, yet on their own each track is a potential single - apart from 'soundcheck (gravity)'which features a somewhat grating soprano lyric from 2-d.The easiness of the rhythms and the fluid feel of the album as a whole make it perfect listening for lazy evenings and bathtimes, but also good for getting ready to go out... turn it up and enjoy.oh yeah...if you let the cd run, beware of the hidden track...it will make you jump.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2001
There is nothing better then a good cd with an excellent colaboration of different types of music. Enter Gorillaz. These guys know what they're doing. There's rap, R&B, Rock, Pop, and a little Miscellaneous on this cd. It's perfect. I guarantee you, if you like music you'll love this cd. It's so good I have 3 copies! One for the car, one for the house, and one for the pc! (It's interactive) :)
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2006
This is deffinitely the best album from Gorillaz. Blur frontman Damon Albarn initially created the ficticious band to emphasise the amount of manufactured bands and the lack of actual talent in todays 'pop scene'. And you really cant get more manufactured than cartoon characters as an actual band. Albarns' plan may have technically back-fired on him as the Gorillaz became an instant hit. Taking a mix of punk, R n B, and slow rock to create classics such as clint eastwood, 19-2000, and rock the house. Even a collection of Gorillaz b-sides, formed a quite good album with "G-Sides". This is probably the most original/ diverse kind of music you are likeley to hear today. Boy/ girl bands, commercial hip-hop 'stars' and general pop artists should feel pretty bad that they are being out-done by a ficticious band led by mainly 2 people. (Albarn and cult cartoonist Jamie Hewlett) And they have the numerous awards to prove it. Whilst Demon Days is good and still maintains its originality, the self titled debut album will always be a firm favourite for those of us who like something else asside from the drone of girls aloud, the campness of every boy band around, and the vanity of those commercial hip-hop stars. (50 cent actually admitted that the first 3 of his 5 favourite songs of all time were 3 of his own songs) Thats hip-hop modesty at its finest.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2001
Very interesting c.d. I spent alot of time just trying to find a label to fit the music...eventually I gave up and just sat back and listened. If you liked Clint Eastwood , their debut track from the album you will like the rest of the cd. but don't expect to find the same sound repeated over and over again. This is definatley one of the most interesting album's i have listened to since Radiohead released O.K. Computer.....I would recommened it to anyone who doesn't like fluffy music!!! ( By the way check out the re-mix of Clint Eastwood at the end of the disc....you probably already heard this on the radio by now , but just incase its worth a listen too. Unlike most remix's I've heard I actually like it better than the orginial track - and i bought the c.d on the strenght of the original , so I guess thats saying something!!)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)