Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 5 August 2017
Very happy with item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2017
what you expect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2017
Great tracks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2013
This was a gift for my husband. It arrived in time, he loved it, made him smile, so i am very happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2017
Bought as a Christmas gift thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2017
Wicked cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2006
In order for Capitol to allow the Beasties to press forward with their soon to be released (in the UK) concert movie, Awesome; I Shot That, they requested the bands MCA to compile a 15-track greatest hits collection in the run up to Xmas 2005.

But never mind the fact that this is a blatent record company idea. And never mind the fact that 1999's excellent Anthology (with most the hits, rarities, b-sides, and other songs the Beasties themsleves like and chose) already exists...if you're new to the boys or just a casual fan, this is absolutely perfect.

Every track really is solid gold, and each album is represented fairly, albeit obviously. So there's the early frat boy rocker anthems of Fight For Your Right and No Sleep Til Brooklyn, still sounding gloriously mega 20 years on, to the recent offerings including 98's Intergalactic (a UK best single chart-wise for the boys) and even more recently the Beasties comeback single Ch-Check It Out.

For a band who, in all honesty, offer so much on the individual records, taking the biggest singles over 20 years is always going to result in a decent collection. Sure Shot, perhaps a career highlight, is just absolutely perfect hip hop, as is 95's old school Jimmy Smith sampling Root Down. See Brass Monkey, a hip hop classic, slide along side later works such as the excellent Pass the Mic, or 2004's heavier toned An Open Letter to NYC.

The whole 15 track collection is littered with classic, classic Beastie Boys, old and new. It's no fair representation of all their work over the years, and the various styles they've incorporated in their music, but it's a collection of singles any rap group would die for. And I say rap, I use it in the credible sense. Today's artists at the top of the pile, say the Eminems or 50 Cents of this world, could never match the work here.

Superb.
11 Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2008
Here we have the definative collection of the best (white) hip-hop band ever and probably in the top 5 of any race along with Wu, Public Enemy and Run DMC.

This is what I would say is probably the coolest best-of I've heard in years, that is chock full of songs that you would instanly recognise and some you probably didn't know were by the Beasties'!

It starts off with 'So What You Want' a rocky rap tune that is one of my favourate songs by this group that instantly shows them as innovators of the game with no fear as they tear through any beat.

The interesting thing I found about this album is you could listen to most of it and not be able to tell when it was recorded because they all still sound fresh as they did when they were first released.

From the 20 songs my fave songs that I would particularly recommend are -

So What You Want
Shake Your Rump
Intergalactic
Sabotage
An Open Letter To NYC

So all in all I would highly recommend if you are a fan of any genre of music because when something is this diverse and innovative, it is hard to not like + ITS THE BEASTIES!

Buy it now, love it forever.

Hope this has been helpful for you, have a good 1!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2005
This is an absolute must for any Beastie Boys fan, one disc documenting their music over the last two decades or so, from Fight For Your Right to Ch-check It Out, with only one important omission in my opinion (3 Mc's and 1 DJ). Listen out for the very political, but also excellent "An open Letter To NYC". These guys have truly stood the test of time...Outstanding
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2007
fantastic albulm, pure solid gold as the title suggests..

a must for all beastie & old school hip hop fans.

best track has to be the awesome "an open letter letter to new york"...this is one of the beastie's newer contempory stuff and is about post 9/11.....as i say AWESOME.

the only minus bit is that they could of included more cuts from their best selling albulm to date, from 1986: licensed to ill.

other than that though a top drawer classic hip hop greatest hits albulm from one of the early new york pioneers...

respect.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse