Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
30
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£5.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 8 December 2011
Heralding the future success of two new characters - Herbert Lom as his boss, Police Commissioner Charles Dreyfus and Burt Kwouk's Cato as his valet - who made their first appearances in this, the second of the "Pink Panther" series starred Peter Sellers again as the hapless Inspector Clouseau; they would continue as integral features of future films.

Clouseau bumbles his clueless way through a murder investigation this time leading to a successful and stunning solution meeting Elke Sommer along the way whose beauty, of course, sways him not an inch.

Completed and premiered less than a year after the first film and full of glorious gags with Sellers at his best, ably supported by Lom's unsuccessful attempts to control him and Cato's surprise attacks to keep him on his toes, it is an excellent example of cinema humour of all kinds. A laugh (or two) a minute.

The DVD was difficult to obtain for a while but now, at under £2.00 (a cup of cinema coffee), it will provide hours of laughter. A classic.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 April 2009
The Pink Panther franchise is on the whole a very funny series but until recently you could only buy 'The Return of the Pink Panther' individually on DVD. The remaining 5 films were only available together in a boxset but I have been on the look-out for them to be released on their own as I only really liked 3 of them ('The Pink Panther', 'A Shot In The Dark' and 'The Pink Panther Strikes Again').

'A Shot In The Dark' takes off from the first movie where Inspector Clouseau was a supporting character to David Niven's jewel-thief lead character. In this film, Sellers has the starring role as Clouseau and we are also introduced to his boss, Police Commissioner Dreyfus (played by Herbert Lom). There isn't a diamond in this movie - instead we have a murder case and Clouseau has to solve it. However, Clouseau hilariously bungles each and every avenue of investigation. This drives Dreyfus mad setting the tone for a story arc of Dreyfus trying to kill Clouseau, which continues into the next couple of films. Despite his sheer incompetence, Clouseau's luck never runs out and the case is solved!

This ranks as one of Peter Sellers best films and I highly recommend it to fans of classic comedies from the good old days.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 October 2009
What a joy to this in widescreen on DVD and on a big TV. I hadn't seen it for many many years and so previously it would have been panned and scanned on an old TV. This is the 2nd of the Pink Panther films and perhaps the best of the lot. Peter Sellers plays Clouseau. He is an incompentent French Police Inspector investigating a murder at a rich socialites mansion. A beautifully straight-faced performance by George Sanders - although if you have seen some of the out-takes!

The film is awash with brilliant sight gags, almost too many to list. Many involve Sellers, but frequently Herbert Lom. His is a marvellous performance. As the Police Commissioner, and Clouseau's boss he is slowly driven literally insane by Clouseau and probably steals the acting honours from Sellers in the process.

A special mention must also go to Henry Mancini. He wrote the famous original Pink Panther theme and here he is spot on with the music soundtrack. Many scenes are enhanced by his witty musical motifs that fit perfectly to the action on the screen.

...and I forgot to mention Cato!

8/10
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
Bought as a Christmas present for a relative. The only copies available were second-hand, but this one was in pristine condition sent in record time by the sellers. Back in 1964 I remember finding the film itself slightly disappointing after the original Pink Panther and I haven't changed my opinion, although it's still very funny and the transfer quality is excellent - much better than the ropey Deluxe Color prints we saw in the cinema.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2012
This together with the first Pink Panther film are my favourite Sellars movies and amongst my favourites of all time. They are much better than the later Pink Panther films which progressively ran out of steam and far better than the awful recent remakes. Enjoy! Elke Sommer is sublime.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2009
"A Shot in the Dark" is an unrecognised classic of comedy. There are those who prefer the later Pink Panther films, but to my mind, they are just silly, non-sensical, commercial rubbish. "The Pink Panther" and "A Shot in the Dark" are the definitive Sellers/Clouseu comedies. The element of innocent comedy, coupled with the familiar faux-pax that all of us encounter, makes these films far more personal than the later films. Comedy cannot be described in words. Watch this film and enjoy.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2009
Quite a slow film, particularly the first half hour. Great running gag with the police van taking away the arrested Clouseau, and the naked couple in the car caught in a traffic jam in Paris is such a classic scene that you just never forget.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2015
A huge improvement on the mediocre first film. Not quite a classic but pretty damn good. I grew up on Return of the Pink Panther which is still my favourite followed by this. The other films in the series are an embarrassment to all involved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
By far one of the funniest in the series of films, in my opinion. Peter Sellers was one of the most popular and one of the most famous British film stars around in the sixties and seventies. A much loved actor who will im sure be solely missed by his fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2011
The price for this DVD was excellent, really good value for money and it will give great pleasure to my daughter who loves Peter Sellers. It arrived quickly and undamaged and I am very happy with the service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)