Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
88
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 November 2008
People had been complaining about the 2004 release of 'The Pink Panther Film Collection' because it didn't contain Return of the Pink Panther and had to be bought seperately. Well, MGM have now released a box-set containing the essential Pink Panther material.

This boxset contains all 6 Peter Sellers films and all 124 cartoons (plus A Pink Christmas). However don't think that this is a complete re-packaging. All they've done is put the four previous releases together in one box(ie. The Film Collection, Return of the Pink Panther, A Pink Christmas & The Cartoon Collection). So if you already own these four releases then the only thing you gain by buying this release is a big box in which to put them all in - plus 'A Pink Christmas' thrown in with the Cartoon Collection ie. the disc is inside the Cartoon Collection box rather than in a seperate case. It's also perhaps worth mentioning that the box itself doesn't open sideways but opens up from the top and the spines are closed up which makes the box look better. In short, this box-set contains two box-sets (Film Collection and Cartoon Collection with Pink Christmas) and a single-case DVD (Return of the Pink Panther).

So for the Film & Cartoon Collection in one very good-looking box, buy this one! If you already own the film collection and cartoon collection, don't bother, and just buy Return and Pink Christmas separately
22 Comments| 112 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2010
I bought this for my Daughter (8) who has watched the two Steve Martin ones, which I took quite a while to get into, although now I do find them quite funny...

However, they pale into insignificance next to the Peter Sellers ones. I hadn't watch any of them for some time, but both my Daughter and I were crying with laughter, he had such comic timing, faultless.

The box set contains all his original films, documentaries and the like, haven't watched them all yet, but this is a great buy. It has loads of the Pink Panther cartoons too, we haven't watched those yet and this wasn't the reason I bought them, hopefully she will like them, but I can remember when I was younger, they were ok.

If you are a Peter Sellers fan, then this is an amazing buy, you won't be disappointed :)
11 Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2004
Although not to everyone's taste, this for me is the epitomy of Peter Sellers comic genius. This is the least 'slapstick' of the pink panther series and shows a young Peter Sellers in spectacular form. Some of the jokes are obvious now but only because they've been copied a thousand times.
I could watch this film over and over, and it's just as funny. A must see.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 March 2009
After watching 'The Pink Panther Strikes again' I couldn't wait to see the orginal. Initially I was a little disapointed as compared to the later films in the series but after watching the film again recently I have found it is much more funnier and clever than I ever remembered. Although David Niven's character is the centre of the story, Clouseau steals every scene he appears in. It shows Peter sellers at his very best as at every opportunity he has a clumsy accident, whether it is falling over or burning his hand.
The plot involving the Phantom (Niven), his nephew (Wagner) and Clouseau's wife is excellent, even though it can be confusing at times. One scene for example sees Clouseau's wife trying to hide Niven (who she is having an affair with) and Wagner (who wants an affair) in her bedroom, whilst Clouseau is there wanting a shower, this is classic comedy at it's best.
The film may appeared dated in places with a song sung in one stage and scenes that can be prolonged.
It may not be as funny as some films but the comedy is subtle and clever. It is very different from the following films but if you watch it with an open mind you'll love it.
This was the start of a great series!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2009
This, the first Pink Panther film is not one of the following laugh out loud films. Rather, it is a sophisticated and amusing caper movie. Starring the sauve David Niven and gorgeous Claudia Cardinale there is sizzling sexual tension a-go-go in a series of hilariously trendy 60s locations. And yes, it is quite funny, but more one for the classic film fan.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
Very good collection ... lots to look at. Good value for money. It would have been nice to know which disc you were choosing to watch as none of them is marked as to which film is on it. There is one disc per film, in sequence, so you have to just assume you've picked the right one. Other than that, it is extremely good value and I recommend it highly.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2011
This box set collection was very disappointing. Whilst the Pink Panther movies themselves are great, this collection is put together very poorly. It comes with 3 separate plastic containers inside a cardboard box. One contains the cartoon collection, another is The Return of the Pink Panther alone and the third is a collection of the other movies. The individual discs inside this 3rd set are not numbered and do not state what's on them. It's very frustrating when trying to work out which disc is which as there's no way to differentiate them. Some of the labelling is also not in English.
If you're a fan of the Pink Panther series as I am then I'd recommend you buy a different collection. I'm very disappointed I bought this one over others on offer.
33 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 September 2011
This is the first of what became Peter Sellers' long-running series of `Clouseau' films. It was intended to be a one-off vehicle for David Niven and Sellers role was secondary, which is why this film, in comparison to those later in the series, seems restrained.

Niven plays suave, genial Sir Charles Litton, a Raffles-type figure who relieves the well-heeled of their jewels and leaves behind a monogrammed glove to boast of his deed. He has his sights on the Pink Panther diamond owned by Princess Dala.

The lovely Capucine is his covert assistant who is also the wife of well-meaning, bumbling Inspector Clouseau and she runs elegant rings around him to protect the identity of her lover.

Sellers' portrayal of his character is different to his later interpretations, though the basics are there; clumsy, suspicious, naïve and slightly self-important, traits which he would build to immense proportions in later years.

A commentary is provided by the late Blake Edwards which is, to put it mildly, lacking in dynamism, but does impart a few interesting tit-bits, such as Brenda de Banzie's chastening experience after being rude to Italian rail attendants and the surprising info that Claudia Cardinale's voice was entirely dubbed.

This film is essentially a classy farce and very much of its time, but it has a chicness and charm which was about to disappear from movies and will be of interest to Sellers fans who want to see his Clouseau character in its earliest incarnation. Although a couple of scenes are overlong (an early Cardinale/Niven scene runs over 9 minutes) it's a pleasant, undemanding film punctuated with moments of slapstick and lunacy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 December 2011
This 1963 Blake Edward's film was originally intended to centre on Sir Charles Lyton, David Niven's character but, so popular did Sellers become, the producers re-thought the focus of all future films, centred on Clouseau. A young Seller's is positively stunning in this film, fresh, vital, original and very funny.

It is one of the best Panther films with so many jokes which seem to retain their humour, even after so long and so many imitators.

There is no point in my trying to explain this story. To be in at the birth, watch this film.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
Have always loved this film ever since I saw it as a kid, it has the essence of sixties cool mixed with those wonderfully funny scenes with Clouseau (Peter Sellers) and his wife (Capucine) in their hotel bedroom. Have owned the film first on vhs then on dvd and recently treated myself to the blu ray. While I agree with other reviewers that the picture quality is second to none, the same can't be said for the sound - I have to turn the volumn up to more than double I normally have it on. Do I have a dud disk or does anyone else have this problem?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)