Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
271
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2008
The new guns album is good, i have all there albums, was there at the start of the guns , If u listen to the this new album have an open mind its a lot better than i thought it would be , i think it rocks 'IRS' and 'There Was a Time'o yeah and sorry especially rock,
So dont be old and moody and listen to the new guns and get over the old because they aint coming back anytime soon
Give it a chance - and dont get stuck up cos slash, Duff & Matt aint there anymore!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2008
If, like me, you think the greatest GnR album by a very long way was Appetite For Destruction then this album may very well prove the case that GnR were but a mere flash in the pan as this album is a continuation of where the Use Your Illusion albums left off - overproduced, over heavy on the ballads and lacking anything truly exciting.
Production wise it's brimming with ideas and just about everything, including the kitchen sink, has been rammed into the mix. But where it matters (i.e. the actual songs!) then it comes up very short and nothing really sticks in the mind. So my advice would be to listen to it on MySpace and save your money for an album of true class... like Appetite For Destruction.
By the by - I would've been far happier if this album had come out under Axl's name rather than dragging the GnR name further into the mud. GnR are dead and exhibiting it's rotting corpse just makes me want to chuck!
33 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2017
The best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2012
Listening to this album makes we want to hit things out of frustration and anger, yeah I hated it. I would describe it as mellow instrumental nu-metal. Almost theatrical. If you like nu-metal then okay, but not me. This is very much an expression of Axl's tastes.

To be critical; Axl's voice doesn't seem quite suited to the music in places. The guitar parts lacked soul. Often it was as if they were trying to be something they weren't. It all sounded a bit generic. The backing orchestra did add depth and impact at times, which was sometimes a good thing, sometimes not...

If your a fan of the original Guns'N'Roses, then you may not like this album at all. Its almost entirely a new sound.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
This is the BEST Guns N' Roses album in terms of the quality of sound recordings, and the vocals. Everything on this album is perfect, and some deep, perfect, brilliant songwriting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2016
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2009
As a Guns N' Roses fan I have been, along with many others waiting for this for a very long time. Well I am not disapointed. This Album is great.

Stand out tracks:
Better
This I love
Prostitute
Madigascar
Street of Dreams
IRS

One to aviod:
Catcher in the Rye
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2008
As a life long guns fan I genuinely wanted to love this album, however the reality is far from it. It feels like the next progression from Illusion - except Illusion is from 1991 not 2008. Some of the melodies are ok, but all of the songs suffer from over production (a decade of it in fact) and numerous changes in tempo and rythmn. In short the songs do not flow and although there are a few catchy tunes, it is not hard rock album. More of an orchestra of different sounds.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
i love this cd gnr back to the way it used to be really good to listen too on the way to or from anywhere in my van
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)