Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
35
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 July 2001
Refreshing, Ingenius, Simply amazing. Those are the only words that I can use to describe Deltron 3030. If you are sick and tired of the same old reused base lines that you find in most of todays rap songs then this is definetly the cd for you. Also track 2 on the cd, the 7 minute one, is quite possibly the greatest and most innovative rap song that I have ever heard in my entire life. The whole album is awe inspiring and is deifnetly worth the money.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2001
For everyone out there who has forgotten that hip-hop can be fun and inventive this may just make you remember; it did for me! There's no gangster-wannabe rappers here, just fresh ideas and clever production. Not every track is a killer (in my opinion), but overall the album is a worthy investment.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2000
"The year is 3030, and here, at the Corporate Institutional Bank of Time, we find ourselves reflecting..." And Sir Damien Thorn VII is correct, in a way. In an original and clever move on behalf of Dan 'the Automator' Nakamura and Del tha Funky Homosapien, they have set this album in the far future. This is perhaps to be free of the confines of contemporary hiphop, or maybe so that Deltron can discuss the planet's issues in retrospect, having witnessed another World War and Damon Albarn's ascension as a God of Rap. But for whatever reason, here there is an oddity; half concept album, half surreal sci-fi adventure, I am still unsure as to what Deltron wanted to accomplish. The tracks themselves are definitely up to scratch- '3030' provides a perfect start to the voyage of The Cantankerous Captain Aptos, with swelling orchestral pieces combined with Dan's musical talents and Del's MCing placed firmly in the sci-fi camp. Followed later by 'Positive Contact''s jumpy beat and that song that tells us that we upgrade our grey matter- good advice, surely. As the album continues, slightly more downbeat styles present themselves, such as 'Madness' and 'Mastermind'. Still, I cannot help feeling that it was a missed opportunity: It was such a good idea! But no matter how much skill Deltron lay onto this album it still seems as if it would not be too different if they had just set it in 2000: the ironic adverts of the future (track 3, for example) would just be replaced with ironic adverts for today's world. Nevertheless it is still a success, and deserves to receive rapturous applause from those that appreciate this music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2005
This is an amazing album, i never really thought an unbased concept album could be any fun, but with del's aggravated rhyming (very much reflecting our present state as well), dan's smooth as soap production and kid koalas scratching the trio bring to life the fantasticly dystopic future in their album. Basically if you like del, this is his best album, and you might even catch a glimpse of the gorillas crew when damon albon appears on a few tracks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2004
Wow, this is a true hi-hop album, no fake gun , just good rhymes and good beats. I tend to be very wary of concept albums but this one realy shines through, the production is stunning and the lyrical content is superb. the only thing letting it down is the number of interludes but it does give the album more structure. So if you are a REAL hip-hop fan go out and buy this NOW.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2001
I was getting a bit tired of similar hip-hop beats and generic rap stylings, until one fateful day I heard a tune by Gorillaz. Now I discovered that their album was not out for a while, so a little browsing discovered the unique and incredible world of the Automator. As is mentioned over and over, this album is set in the future, and, whether it is because of this or not, it is an excellent selection of tunes. Del is a grand rapper and lyrisist, he flows really well and shows creativity in his futuristic lyrics, while the Automator provides some superb production. It may not all sound incredibly striking or exciting, but upon listening to this album properly, I discovered it is a well-polished machine of music. It's a nice break from most of the generic tunes, and gives a glistening example of how talented these people are.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2004
it's not the year 3030, but who cares?? this is amazing, it's kinda like the Gorillaz before the gorillaz, but more hip-hop and better, so good in fact i even crashed my car to this album! really!! created by Daniel tha Automator, scatched by Kid Koala, occassionally sung by Damon Albon, & Beautifully rapped by Del tha Funkee Homosapien, definatley one for the heads (& people who like good music too!), so don't hesitate as long as i did, it's already been out a couple of years, buy & enjoy like a new toy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2010
This album introduced me to hip hop, and is definately in my top three favourite albums of this decade. A good hip hop track has good production, good mixing and arguably least important a good mc... but that's irrelevant because all the elements on this album are a master piece on their own. If you've ever heard Kid Koala scratching you will know he can write a song with two identical vinyl, in this he does not disappoint with some of the the most memorable scratchs in 3030, mastermind... Dan The Automator is a genius; his production is perfect and compliments the story as well as del's lyrics. As the one star reviewer says by all means by the instrumental it's enough to sweep you off your feet. But don't under estimate del as a lyricist, in terms of lyrical content and flow... he's never been better, suites the project better than anybody I can think of.

Hence why deltron event II has been the most highly anticipated rumour for as long as I've been listening to hip hop. I would put this album on par with Jaylib - Champion Sound and Dj Shadow - Endtroducing.

This will not disapoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2001
To the guy from York... Kid Koala is Canadian. But they're basically a colony anyway.
Track 2, 3030 is an awesome tune that begs to be played really loudly. And its a shame when the 7 minutes are over.
Actually the music is os good everyone should buy it. But the interludes are damn irritating
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2000
Well, to put it simply; this is one of the best produced HipHop albums of all time. Dan is the man, and goes along way to prove that Dr. Octagon's classic status was not just down to Kool Keith.
The theme on the cd is quite loose, believe me you will not buy the cd for the storyline. Del, is very much on point throughout the cd with that unique style of his and does very well laying down the story behind 3030. Though, the star of the show is Dan the Automater, the beats on the cd are just brilliant. The main difference between him and other producers is that he knows how to build tracks and flip them half way through e.g Madness.
Beatwise this cd is untouchable and overall is at least 4.5/5. One of the best of albums of the year, buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)