Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 9 August 2017
Fantastic album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
Brilliant Album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 July 2003
I heard a snippet of a song from Robbie Williams new CD on the radio while driving- "who is that?" I thought- wowser!! Through some clever work I found his name and CD. I am enchanted with this CD- His voice is sublime with such deflections that shivers run down my spine. The first cut is so-so- skip right away to the second and move right on through. "Me and My Monkey" is a brilliant rendition lyrics and music- he has been there - he tells the story so well. I listen daily to this CD and find myself dancing around the living room and stopping to listen intently to the lyrics- marvelous, studpendous, brilliant CD-
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2002
Anybody who has seen the Robbie Williams Bare-all documentary 'Nobody Someday' should realise the significance of this album. After the tear jerking confessions that Mr Williams hates every part of being a popstar, you begin to realise why he took that wonderful year off for "Swing When you're Winning" and why he appeared so very happy at the Albert Hall.
Escapology, then, is his first coming of age album, from mild (but brilliant) pop to serious soft rock...but labels are misleading. This is still very much Robbie, even if some songs are a little misguided (the apparently deliberate non-commercial nature of opener 'How Peculiar' for example).
'Love Somebody' and 'Monsoon' are a relatively new era in RW history, bringing much more of his beloved rock sound into the scheme of things. Much of the album, for me, has the reminiscence of Chris Cornell's first solo effort Euphoria Morning, especially in the catchy 'Something Beautiful'.
The experimenting with different genres and sounds is typical of an album such as this which is more of a statement of freedom than a true attempt at art. It makes the prospect of the next Robbie Williams album all the more exciting. Whether you love or hate this album, one must commend Mr. Williams for having the strength to do something not everyone will like, and may even alienate his audience a little. That said, it is well worth a listen; a few rotations will have you humming along in no time.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2003
Right, lets just set things straight, i'm not a music critic or expert, but i am a music fan, and what an album this is. Robbies best album by far. Still a bit of cheese here an there but hey it's Robbie. I've listened to this album for 6 months now and it's never been out of my hi-fi. Ignore all the negative reviews. Track one is a bit weak but from then onwards it's just sheer bliss. I can't pick a favourite cause i love them all (track 1 excluded!) There's everything you need here, ballards, soft rock, rock, pop, and of coarse robbies fantastic sarcasm and attitude, also his ever growing humbleness!! ha. I own over 200 albums from the likes of oasis to mettalica, from david gray to eminem, and never has my music been so neglected since December when i purchased this album. Might sound like i'm kissing his ass,trust me i'm not, some of his earlier work was a little passe for my liking but Escapology is an incredible achievment. The best i have heard? So far yes. Will i be listening to it in 5 years? I hope so. Is any artist worth 80 million you might think? This one is!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2002
For a couple of years now I have read about this guy in the tabloids and consequently didnt take the time to listen to his music. Escapology is brilliant. How can the same 'awful' guy in the tabloids have written 'Feel', 'Monsoon' and the best song of all 'Come Undone'? The songs are emotive and ironical and the music reminds me of English pop of old, (before such mediocrity as Spice Girls etc.) Here is a guy with much talent who takes his music seriously. He will be around for many more years. I for one will be buying his previous releases and hope they are as good as this one.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 December 2002
all i can say its a great album. and its one to listen to. there are some really great tracks on it. like "feel" and some others which i hope robbie will realease into the charts some day. my best is well i have a few great ones which i enjoy to listen to, like "hot fudge","something beautiful",and a rather naughty one "how peculiar" all in all its a great album. he does go for different concepts in music quite a few angles but they mix well and they do sound great. robbie has done well. and i hope his next album will live upto this. its got some bad lanugage in it.so beware but it wont put you off the album i was a bit unsure but the music is better than that. and there is a hidden track after track number 14 which is funny. he mensions gary barlow. so that one will be good to listen to. you get a sence of robbies emotions in this album. you also get this sence in "sing when your winning". go get this album you will be rocked and rolled and cry at some of his songs as they are emotional. you will even try to line dance well i hope not. as there is a hint of country and western. all in all go get the album. you won't be unhappy... great album robbie.. can't wait for your next one you have the greatest voice and greatest vocals/lyrics.. see yah..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2002
Robbie Williams has demonstrated a far deeper and creative side to his music now that he has become mainstream. Sure, his earlier three albums were great, and catchy, but following his Swing When You're Winning album, and to maintain his new legion of adult fans, Robbie has written a far more mature album, which is not so simplistic and shallow as his earlier efforts.
The heart-wrenching 'Feel', is deep and emotive, the clever use of phrases like i dont want to die/ but am not keen on living either/ portrays the new Robbie William's in a new light. This was the first single.
Other noticeable tracks include Come Undone, which deals with society's inadequacies- /"they're selling razor blades and mirrors in the streets"/.
'Me and My Monkey' is humorous, and similar to his Swing When You're Winning effort, trumpets, strings and all. It is long, however sustains the listener well.
'Revolution' is soulful and raw, combining the talents of Rose Stone and Robbie himself into an enjoyable duet.
'Hot Fudge' deals with the plastic and fakeness that is LA. Robbie obviously soaked up some of the atmosphere when he lived there and recorded this album, and it deals with the attitudes of the people, in lines like 'cant find me a virgin/ but i'll get you a surgeon, 24 hours a day/'
The record demonstrates Robbie William's remarkable talents, and also shows that he will continue to improve as the albums go by. This album however is a breakthrough for him as a songwriter, it is new, fresh, cutting edge (for himself that is), and above all mature. Gone are the days of 'Rock DJ' and 'Let Me Entertain You', think 'Supreme', 'Let Love Be Your Energy' and 'No Regrets'. One thing is for sure however with this album, if you like Robbie, you wont regret buying it, not one little bit.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
Bought this when it was released, but someone borrowed it and never returned it. One of RW's best albums ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2017
The wrong cd was inside the cover. It was a disc by the fratellis not the robbie williams one ordered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)