Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
52
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 December 2013
I thought this album was quite fantastic!! Despite being familiar with several Canned Heat songs, this is the first album of theirs I have bought and I was not let down.

Despite only being in my early thirties, I have very little time for the modern "bands" you see in the charts these days, and I use the term "bands" very sparingly, as the days of proper bands such as The Rolling Stones, The Who, The Kinks, Led Zeppelin to name but a few who write and perform their own music are long gone. Mostly we see talent-less engineered catalog models with funny haircuts (1D) selling millions of records worldwide leaving us rock music purists wondering why?!?!

Anyway, rant over and back to Canned Heat and if you like the type of bands I have already mentioned (no not 1D) then this album is for you. These tunes are heavily influenced by Mississippi style blues, with that raw 60's rock sound you just don't get anymore, I put this album on and found it extremely likeable and one of the best acquisitions I have made to my collection in many years.

If I could sum up the type of song on the album, it's kind of an early Stones meets the Doors type sound, but as a "very best of" album these tunes really are the cream of the crop. Buy it, you'll leave it on repeat I'm sure!!!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2017
got this cd for my friends birthday last year...catchy..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Great band all the hits here
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
What else can you say- superb value, great sound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Canned Heat were unusual in the flower-scented hippie-drippy sixties, a down-the-line blues band with a healthy respect for the music and a raunchy way of playing it, particularly when Bob "The Bear" Hite was singing. When Al "Blind Owl" Wilson was singing (an all too rare occurence) the band sounded more ethereal, less harsh.
This is probably the best Heat compilation on the market, with an exemplary booklet with full track listings and excellent notes by Steve Roeser. One anomaly though is the total omission of Al Wilson from the two photos included. Very strange.
Most of the music here is rough-edged blues boogie, with their few hits present and correct, all in superb sound.
The disc opens with their two signature hits On The Road Again and the wonderful Goin` Up The Country, both sung by Wilson in that high falsetto he adopted as a tribute to his main hero Skip James.
Some of the other tracks are rather dated blues workouts, though none the worse for that. Bob Hite`s vocal style can sound charmless at times, an unlovely, unsubtle bark, but there are moments when he comes across as the embodiment of a rough-hewn blues style of singing, especially on their big hit Let`s Work Together (also covered well by Dylan and Bryan Ferry - it`s a hard song to mess up).
For me, apart from Goin` Up The Country, the finest track is Wilson`s funky Time Was, a minor hit single, with a killer vocal and some magnificent drumming courtesy of Fito de al Parra, self-styled keeper of the Heat flame, Wilson, Hite and Henry Vestine having died, Al Wilson in very sad circumstances only a few months before the deaths of Janis and Jimi in that annus horibilis for rock musicians 1970.
There`s an effective duet with John Lee Hooker, Whiskey And Wimmen, from the Hooker `n Heat LP, and a surprising duet with Little Richard - with the Georgia Peach in pretty good voice - called Rockin` With The King.
The other track worth noting is Wilson`s quirky ecological single Poor Moon. Was I the only person back in `69 who loved it the moment they heard it? It flopped, needless to say.
Canned Heat had a cool name, and played some hot blues. Not all of the tracks on this well-stocked compilation are essential listening, but enough of them are, and it`s good to have the Heat in their prime collected in one place.

I`m goin` up the country
Got to get away...
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
A little unsure of this album. I expected Walter to be at the fore ! The guitars sound great for that era but things have moved on since. It was probably a tremendous album in its day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
I never took pot, but this gets me a nice clean foot tapping high.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
If you're looking for a good Canned Heat collection - I'd highly recommend this
CD as an excellent starting point.
Remastered in superb sound quality and contains lots (but not all) of their best tracks.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
You know what its like sometimes when you purchase a "best of " or "Greatest hits " album. Really good tracks with others making up the numbers, this is not. the case here.This is a really good representation of what this band was all about.Theres also a really good little write up in the inlay sleeve about the bands history going back to 1966,with all the ups and downs of what was to come, a good informative guide.Theres 19 tracks, I really liked the 3 lives ones from " Monterey pop festival" in 1967...The announcer introduces them "Heres a band from San Francisco " The canned heat" he says, rolling and tumbling, dust my broom, and bullfrog blues,a great little taster to show how big over the next couple years the band would become. Just go by it ,a nostalgia trip back in time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2015
Very quick service arrived ahead of time. Most of their best songs on the c.d. Good value for the money
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)