Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
31
4.7 out of 5 stars
Reproduction
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99


on 1 March 2013
the first & best Human League cd - the original members still did the most interesting music in my opinion - the later cds were more pop than this cd & the second cd
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
Must-have for anyone interested in the development of 70s/80s electronic music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2007
amount of tracks:9
excellent:6
v.good:0
good:3
fair:0
poor:0

the period between late 79 and 82 saw the birth of what came to be known as the new romantic period. this featured bands (and they were REAL bands unlike the studio-created pretenders of today) like spandau ballet,visage,soft cell, depeche mode,joy division,simple minds, tubeway army etc. as 1983 kicked in all these bands moved into pop mainstream and embraced the horrendous production values that permeated all recorded music for the next 7 years. the human league were no different. they hired two girls and went mainstream pop. you cant blame these bands of course, they obviously smelt the £ and they all made very nice careers. but the music suffered as a result and consequently people forget about the earlier period when all the above named were making some very interesting music indeed and that particular couple of years saw pop at its very darkest.
the league were a prime example. two albums were released during this period, travelogue and this one, reproduction. bear in mind that this was real music, regardless of the fact it was made on synth. it was long before the days of sampling and pro-tools where any idiot who knows a couple of chords on the keyboard can make himself sound much better than he/they really are, as per 'groups' nowadays. this was still very organic and extremely clever and inventive stuff. taking their cues obviously from bands like kraftwerk, tangerine dream and bowie, the human league came up with a great little album here full of very intriging songs, including a truly weird version of 'youve lost that lovin feeling' preceded by 'morale', a kinda spoken word intro. when i first heard it i went 'what?!' but it actually works in a demented kind of way! the real highlights however, are the first three tracks plus the single 'empire state human'(havent heard the bonus tracks on the remaster so cant comment)'circus of death' and'path of least resistance' especially are simply little masterpeices and pop never really got any darker than this. even in their full on pop years(which still had some great moments), oakey still came up with some very deep and dark stuff, especially on the b-sides of singles which kinda showed where his true feelings still laid. all in all, this was a great little group and phil oakey is a very under-rated and talented writer. if you like substance in your pop music, look no further than this album
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
This album is sublime, pure genius. Buy it, and Travelogue. Then stop. Don't buy any other Human League albums. Oakey killed this band when he went all 'disco' with Dare - "Don't You Want Me Baby?" - no Phil, i don't.

The Human League's first two albums show just how great they could have been. If they'd been brave enough to follow this route and sound through to its natural conclusion they would have been the world's greatest ever band.

For me as a 'lost' youth having been reached by Gary Numan, this Human League era had everything, weird inaccessible lyrics, mad sci-fi synth's and was like nothing before. The Human League & Cabaret Voltaire should be ashamed at what they became. Sure, Numan had his lost funky period mid eighties but look at him today... NIN's father! Something these other two bands missed out on for disco music. I could weep.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2015
Classic early Human League, second only to Travelogue in my book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2011
I bought this and Travelogue at the same time it is hard to say which is better as they are both equally as good. My favourite track on the album is path of the least resistance and i also like zero as a limit. I think this is a relly good album and i would recommend this to anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2016
Great value for money and trustworthy seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2012
excellent cd from the human league before they became a wishy washy pop band - much darker and heavier sound - highly recommend this and their other early album travelogue - not too keen on the bonus tracks they've included though
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
As a Human League fan my husband loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2016
Good product and prompt delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Travelogue
£6.99
Dare!
£6.99
Hysteria
£3.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)