Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
26
4.5 out of 5 stars
This Was [2001 Digital Remaster]
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


on 18 October 2017
Essential!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
It was actually listening to the vinyl reissue of Aqualung as part of the 40th anniversary box set that got me back into listening to vinyl - the remix of this and new pressing had so much more presence and vibrancy than my old '80's Chrysalis blue label version. I've never actually owned This Was on vinyl before so it was a joy to be able to put the needle down and listen to this as it was intended. I can't comment on how it sounds compared to previous vinyl versions but considering the quality of the original recordings it comes over really well. The vinyl is a good heavy weight and comes in a vinyl lined paper sleeve with a replica green Chrysalis label - I'm not sure why they couldn't replicate the original pink eye Island label it was released on in 1968 rather than copy the 1973 reissue, but I grew up with the Chrysalis green labels so it still feels quite authentic to me. I didn't actually get this from Amazon but from my local HMV which was just as well as my first copy had an unfortunate deep scratch on Beggar's Farm but my second copy was perfect with no obvious surface noise, which unfortunately can't be said of many reissues these days.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 28 December 2015
This April 2008 40th Anniversary 2CD COLLECTOR'S EDITION of Jethro Tull's explosive 1968 debut album has been a long time coming - but the wait has been so worth it. Sound-wise this peach is simply off the charts good and as a reissue has breathed new life into a long forgotten and largely dismissed album. I suspect that even people who don't like Tull (and they are derided in certain circles) will enjoy this and be duly impressed. There's a lot on here, so here's a detailed breakdown first...

DISC 1 (71:28 minutes):
1. My Sunday Feeling
2. Someday The Sun Won’t Shine
3. Beggar’s Farm
4. Move On Alone
5. Serenade To A Cuckoo
6. Dharma For One [Side 2]
7. It’s Breaking Me Up
8. Cat’s Squirrel
9. A Song For Jeffrey
10. Round
Tracks 1 to 10 are the MONO VERSION of the album "This Was" released 25 October 1968 in the UK on Island ILP 985. February 1969 saw the album released in the USA on Reprise RS 6336 but in Stereo only - the Stereo mix is on Disc 2.
BONUS TRACKS:
11. So Much Trouble
12. My Sunday Feeling
13. Serenade To A Cuckoo
14. Cat’s Squirrel
15. A Song For Jeffrey
Tracks 11 to 15 are live-in-the-studio recordings made for John Peel's "Top Gear" Radio program on BBC 1, recorded 23 July 1968 in London (broadcast August & September 1968)
16. Love Story
17. Stormy Monday
18. Beggar’s Farm
19. Dharma For One
Tracks 16 to 19 are more live-in-the-studio recordings as per 11 to 15...recorded 5 November 1968 in London (broadcast December 1968)

DISC 2 (55:18 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 10 are the STEREO VERSION of the album "This Was" released 25 October 1968 on Island ILPS 9085 [credited here as a "New Stereo Mix"]

Tracks 11 and 12 are ADDITIONAL NEW STEREO MIXES of "Love Story" and "Christmas Song" [New to this set]

Tracks 13 to 16 are ORIGINAL MONO RECORDINGS (UK Singles)
13 is "Sunshine Day", their debut UK 7" single issued 16 February 1968 on MGM Records 1348 [miscredited as Jethro Toe]
14 is "One For John Gee", non-album B-side to "A Song For Jeffrey", 2nd UK 7" single issued September 1968 on Island WIP 6043
15 is "Love Story", November 1968, Non-Album Track, A-side of their 3rd UK 7" single on Island WIP 6048
16 is "Christmas Song", also a non-album track on release, B-side to 15

PETER MEW at Abbey Road has expertly remastered the 1st generation original masters tapes and the results are stupendous - the clarity is now unbelievable on both the old MONO MIX and the newly constructed STEREO MIX. Getting your hands on an original UK MONO vinyl copy of this album has always been an expensive and difficult affair - the STEREO version a little less so. So it's great to finally have both on a good CD. The 12-page booklet is a little crammed (pictures of 45's you can barely make out due to their tiny size), but it does features new notes from both Ian Anderson and Mick Abrahams.

Highlights - the opening track "My Sunday Feeling" (lyrics above) is classic Tull - rock with a flute jazz tint. Speaking of which - the track "Serenade To A Cuckoo" first appeared on Rahsaah Roland Kirk's 1964 album "I Talk With The Spirits". Kirk's flute technique of humming and mouthing as you play the instrument clearly blew away the young Ian Anderson, because he's been aping that style ever since (it's also the only time a cover version has appeared on a Jethro Tull album).

The bluesy "Beggar's Farm" is so clear now as are Clive Bunker's drums on "Dharma For One". The Stereo Mix of "Some Day The Sun Won't Shine" absolutely leaps out of the speakers, while the harmonica and guitar duo intro on "It's Breaking Me Up" perfectly compliments the slinky bass line by Glenn Cornick. "Cat's Squirrel" just rocks like a monster too.

The additional BBC stuff is very good (the band was still fresh) as are the properly remastered versions of the early Tull singles (most of which were non-album until the 2LP set "Living In The Past" in 1972).

I'd have preferred a far more expanded booklet, but it's the great remaster that makes me come back to this reissue time and time again... Onwards from here to Mick Abraham's Blodwyn Pig and their stunning 1969 debut "Ahead Rings Out" (see separate review).

EMI are to be praised for this - an absolute winner - recommended big time.

PS: for Peter Mew's work see also Dr. Feelgood's "Down By The Jetty" DELUXE EDITION and Kevin Ayers' "The Confessions Of Dr. Dream And Other Stories" – both reviewed in my download book SOUNDS GOOD: 1970’s Rock and Pop…
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
This was the first Tull album and it is not bad (despite the fact that several state it as being their worst). Hints of what was to come can be heard on songs like "My Sunday Feeling", and "Cat's Squirrel" was the highlight of their set in the earliest days. However, the mix of blues based and more straight ahead rock numbers is a little uneasy (and there were plenty of better blues bands around) giving the album a certain lack of coherence. A reasonable first step, however.

This is the only album not to feature guitarist Martin Barre (it has original guitarist Mick Abrahams).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
Please indulge me as I don't have this. I have the original vinyl and it's one of my favourites. I won't buy this as I'm waiting for the 5.1 edition. One can but dream, eh?
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2001
So here it is, the place where the 30 year+andstill going journey began, and if the group decided to re shoot the album cover today, it'd look much the same without the make up! 'This Was' is Jethro Tulls first album, but even here their distinctive sound is apparent. The album is note-worthy also for being the only one in Tulls' vast back catalogue not featuring Martin Barre on guitar, he only joined for the second album,(Stand Up), and here his space is filled by Mick Abrahams, who left the band shortly after this album to form Blodwyn Pig and has seldom been seen since! The album is more Blues tinged than any Tull album since,(Abrahams influence?), Tracks like 'Someday the sun won't shine for you' and 'my sunday feeling' being the more obvious cases. Also missing from most tracks is Andersons trademark flute playing, here largely replaced by the more blues appropriate harmonica. The most 'Tull-like' track here is 'Song for Jeffrey', which still remains a Tull classic, and was the shape of things to come.Anderson also shares song writing duties on this album, which he has seldom done since. All in all a good album, which launched my favourite band into world before I was born, but 33 years on they're still at it, so something must be right eh?
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 3 September 2015
'This Was' was the evergreen J Tull's debut album, from back in 1968, when the world was much different to today. It's unlike anything that the band would go on to record, it being more Bluesy in feel and content. No doubt some of this was down to the presence of guitarist Mick Abrahams, who was replaced by Martin Barre for 'Stand Up', the next album, and has been the band's guitar incumbent ever since. I'm reviewing the album from the reissued vinyl edition, and it must be said that Universal have done the record proud. It sounds refreshed, vivid and engaging, much as it did way back when. Ian Anderson is in great musical form, offering up a cool take on his hero Rahsaan Roland Kirk's 'Serenade To A Cuckoo', and Abrahams own 'Move On Alone', with his jangling nine-string guitar is an unexpected treat. He gets to stretch out on the mighty rave-up Cat's Squirrel, but it's Anderson who ultimately shines, with his breathy flute interludes and his jazzy vocal phrasing - 'My Sunday Feeling' fairly springs from the speakers, and in this newly-tooled / remixed mode sounds as gutsy as ever. As I said, it isn't like anything else they'd do, but it is a wonderful, unique record. And I Love it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2001
Everybody knows that Tull started off as a blues band. This wasn't exactly an original thing to be in 1968 and, indeed, by the time of the album's release the band's sound had moved on, hence the title 'This Was'. As a blues band, Jethro Tull were OK - a sight better than the dreary likes of Chicken Shack, Ten Years After or Savoy Brown. 'Beggar's Farm' is a most effective song and the opening track 'My Sunday Feeling' even had a spate as a Northern Soul dance floor filler after I played it to a DJ friend. Despite the incomprehensible lyrics, 'Song For Jeffrey' is also excellent and notable for some tasty slide work by Mick Abrahams. Other songs are standard blues fare or overlong instrumentals; not bad overall but far from great. The additional tracks are welcome. 'One For John Gee' isn't very good but sure is hard to come by. 'Love Story', the band's last recording with Mick Abrahams, is already in a very different style to 'This Was' while 'Christmas Song', a more-or-less solo performance from Ian Anderson was indicative of a new folkier direction.
I have to say something about the packaging of these new remasters: 4/10 to Chrysalis for a total lack of effort. Sure, they're not as bad as the old CDs (which were simply shabby beyond belief) but they're still not good - indifferent front artwork, no photos, press cuttings or lyrics and only skeletal notes (though penned by Ian Anderson which is good).
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2010
Yeah, well I just love this record. It's been one of my favourite vinyls since it came out - and I still love the sheer raw grit of "It's Breaking Me Up," and "Beggars Farm." In fact, these two tracks are for me the benchmark of deep 'n' dirty blues for their sheer SOUND - and worth buying the album for alone, in my view - without the bonus of the others.

For me, Jethro went off after this, as they became more progressive and bloody pretentious. Anderson's an interesting character - but he should never have been allowed to get away with all that pompous nonsense that followed: "Passion Play" for example. Dear me! What a frightful load of old hogwash!

No, for me, "This Was" was the best. It was downhill from here. "This Was" is a great record of what was....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Excellent remastered pair of CD's, demonstrating the foresight of this band. They must have had a good idea that they were going to progress from this blues / rock influenced part of their evolution to have used 'This Was ...' as the title. There is though elements of what we would expect from Tull over the years and this sounds as good as it did when these tracks were first released.

Interesting sleeve notes included which is always a bonus!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Stand Up
£7.99
Benefit
£8.19

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)