Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
64
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2003
Anyone who believes Gary Moore to be a rocker should listen to this album. The bitter sweet blend of ballads and blues are brought together masterfully by this consumate guitarist. The beauty of " Still Got The Blues For You" introduces us to the possibly, undiscovered talent of this guy. The version of "Parisian Walkways" on this album is the best I have ever heard. No wife walking out, no lost dog, but pure, pure blues. This album delivers it all, great ballads, great blues. Buy it.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2000
This serves as a superb introduction to the music of Gary Moore, one of Britain's best blues musicians, for those unfamiliar with his work. Not only is he a superb guitarist but so often overlooked is the quality of his songwriting; the lyrics to these songs are as good as those by any other writers of love songs that you will find. If you like this, check out his definitive albums: Out in the Fields and After Hours.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2000
I have had this cd for years and listen to it regularly. If you have ever heard Gary Moore and think him a good guitarist then buy this cd. It contains THE definitive version of Parisienne Walkways as well as some nice mood music and will leave you wondering how close to the top of the list of guitar greats this guy should be. A must for the collection of lovers of guitar music
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 February 2015
I purchased this CD album to replace a worn out and badly
scratched 33rpm recording, so I was already familiar with
the content, most of which have always been favourites of
mine.

What we have here is Gary Moore the consummate blues artist
playing 14 tracks mostly compiled from the singles and his
albums from the early 80's to 1994. An excellent version of
his previously unreleased "One Day" appears on this CD and
the short but excellent "Johnny Boy".

Most people will be aware of his time with Thin Lizzy, but
less aware of Gary's influence on greats like Brian May,
Henry Rollins and Bryan Adams.
Sadly Gary passed away following a heart attack in 2011 aged
only 58. Much missed by his fans and those whom he mentored.
Had he lived longer his constant experimentation in the jazz,
blues, and hard rock genres would no doubt have brought forth
more gems from this great virtuoso guitarist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
In my opinion Gary Moore is one of the best rock blues guitarists that every
plucked a string and is sadly often underrated by those who should know better.
The tones he achieved and the feeling he put into every note was awe inspiring.
However, I have to admit that this is not one of the best offerings.
It is ok but not great.
As is often the case, there is a lot of repitition of tracks that are on other albums.
It is still worth adding to your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
This is my very favourite Gary Moore album. On here you will find a really good mix of the older and the newer, ballads and blues, just as it says, but in this case there are NO FILLERS whatsoever. Gary Moore did not write bad songs and his ballads were and always will be absolutely superb. There are plenty of them here. The classic Parisianne Walkways is of course also included. Blues tracks come in the form of Jumping at Shadows, Still Got the Blues, Story of the Blues, Midnight Blues and a blues instrumental, the latter previously unreleased, the others mainly from Still got the Blues. Separate Ways, Crying in the Shadows and Falling in Love with you are really lovely tracks and With Love Remember add the real class to the love song. The album ends with Johnny Boy another ballad but from an early album. This is a lovely present to give to those you love speaking more volumes than you can words. I'd like to give it 10 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2011
A very good price for this album. Wish i'd bought it years ago. If you like Gary Moore, you've probably got it already. Miles better than the modern pop stuff. An album to cherish.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2011
I heard this album years ago, bought it, wore it out and bought it again recently. It has to be my favourite album of all time. Gary Moore was an extremely talented guitarist, and this is a must for any music collection. Definately a classic
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
The name really says it all, classic ballads and blues hits from one of the best periods in the career of a brillant artist who sadly is no longer with us. Excellent choice for anyone just looking to chill out to an array powerful songs from a truly wonderful singer/guitarist
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2016
Very happy with the selections on this album. Gary will primarily be remembered as a Rock singer/guitarist but this collection is definitive proof he was right up among the best blues singer/guitarists of his day also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here