Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
160
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 May 2001
Blurs "best of" was always going to be good. A wide selection of tunes ranging from the Britpop of "Country House" to the sublime yet bizarre art-rock of "Music Is My Radar" offers a reasonable history of Blurs music. All of which is excellent (unless you listen to "There's No Other Way" too often). Annoyingly, "Popscene" and "Sunday Sunday" aren't included, but you can't blame the band for this as the fans were polled on what to include - so you can hardly say Blur are "ashamed of their early work".
Tracks you'd forgotten were so good: "On Your Own", "For Tomorrow", "She's So High"
An ace CD, charting the change in the bands career. A must for fans and casual observers alike.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2001
Over the past decade, Blur have evolved from a run-of-the-mill indie-dance act to bastions of Brit pop and, ultimately, to that rare band whose best songs owe more to art than to the hit parade. Eschewing chronological presentation, and wisely shortchanging the early years, this well-sequenced program will hammer home to casual fans what diehards have known for years: Damon Albarn and company craft concise gems that are thought-provoking without inducing head-scratching. In this context, cuts that were never obvious chart fare -- the sweeping ballad "To the End," the gospel-inflected "Tender," and the desolate "No Distance Left to Run" -- sound better than ever. The new song, "Music Is My Radar," a clutch of quirky, disparate sounds (harmonium, rickety percussion, fuzz guitar) in need of a melodic hook to anchor them, can't match the polish of the band's best, but otherwise, this is a greatest-hits package with an emphasis on the greatest.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2000
How would any person go about picking the 18 best Blur songs. Its almost impossible. Six albums ranging from the good to the brilliant. Where do you start. Well unfortunately they started with Blur's most successful hits to date. It really was a missed opportunity to show those not yet educated in the ways of Blur that there is more to them than 'Country House', 'Song 2' and 'Parklife'. OK so these are all good songs, but there are so many more good songs. What about 'Sing'? What about 'She's So High'? What about 'Death Of A Party'? All great Blur songs that get overlooked by those who don't posses their albums.
This album is also a missed opportunity to telly the story of Blur. Laid out in Chronological order this album could have taken the listener through the many incarnations and reinvention's of one of Britains finest bands. Instead the songs seem to have been slapped together in no partcular order.
But moaning aside, this album as a selection of songs is brilliant. Songs like 'There's No Other Way' and 'Tomorrow' remind you of why you first fell in love with Blur. 'Parklife' and 'Girls and Boys' bring back memories of the most exciting band of the brit-pop era. And even 'Country House' - which was played to death upon its original release seems uncannily refreshing. Oh! That was the good old days. When Blur and Oasis were fighting it out for chart domination. And perhaps it was no bad thing that Blur lost this battle. Oasis may have gone on to dominate British guitar music and sell millions of records, but there music following the war with blur became so stale and unoriginal. Blur matured and realised that the chart battles had no place for the big boys of music. Following 1995's disappointing 'The Great Escape' they made a great escape from the whole Britpop thing and reinvented themselves.
What they came back with were songs like 'Beetlebum', 'Song 2' and the brilliant 'On Your Own' all represented on this album. This was the beginning of Graham Coxon's reign as the creative force of the band. Suddenly the guitar had become more important to Blur than a catchy chorus and it did wonders for their credibility.
And all this was of course followed by the incredible 'Tender', 'Coffee and TV' and 'No Distance Left To Run', - all on the album '13', which saw Blur advance their sound even further.
There is one glaring emission from the album. That is 'Pop Scene' a single that never made it onto any of Blur's albums and is no longer available to buy. This is a great shame because it has always remained one the fans favourites at their live performances. The only non-single on the album is 'This Is A Low' and no best of Blur album would have been complete without what is arguably Blur's greatest moment. The only new song on the album is the new single 'Music Is My Radar', which sees Blur reinventing themselves yet again, with a fresh new sound and a dance-like beat to go with it.
For those who own all the Blur album there is little reason to buy this apart from maybe reliving Blur's past glories. For those who are missing a couple of Blur albums then there is no excuse for not owning this album. It might not be the best of Blur, but its certainly bloody good.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2000
Having read the previous reviews, I can understand why they may not like the CD, but I've never been a huge Blur fan. I liked all their hits but never really bothered buying any albums, cause at the time, I'd only listen to the songs I knew. This Double CD has all the well known hits, but precious little music heard only on albums and not in the charts. Having said that, there are no real weak tracks in my opinion. Perhaps it should have been entitled 'blur: the best sellers' instead of 'best of' as I get the impression their albums contain many hidden treasures. For me though, this CD satisfies all my Blur needs, with all the well known hits present. So, while all true Blur fans may slate this as the 'hits' and not the 'best of', to newcomers this will appeal, and as I fit in the latter category, I think this CD is great. The live CD is great and the new song 'Music is my Radar' is top. Blur at their best? Perhaps not. Must-have CD if you don't have all the old ones? Definately.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2005
As a big radiohead fan, i previously never took the time to really consider any of Blur's music which i now realise was a mistake... seeing some of their filmclips recently, i was curious to see and hear more. After buying their best of DVD, i saw what a very creative and interesting band they have been for quite a few years-their filmclips are top-notch and their music at it's best i think even surpasses some of radiohead's best...What i have admired about them is their sense of fun but at the same time their pride in their 'englishness'...i esecially like 'Coffee and TV', 'To the end' and 'This is a low'...Blur strike me as a band that have always progressed their music which is always good to see. My advice to new Blur fans would be to buy their best of DVD first...in this way you can get a taste for the personality of the band and their music. If you like it, then i'd suggest to buy their best of cd (of course!) because it has 'This is a low' which isn't avaliable on the dvd and then to purchase 'Parklife'...if you like your beats as well, i highly recommend 'Think Tank'-i think you'd be surprised with the depth of the songs despite the absence of graham coxon! All in all i highly recommend the best of cd but i'm more in favour of buying the DVD first if you are a new fan
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2001
This album contains the best work by this creative band. There is a good combination of old and new but Blur never fail to disapoint. This album enabled me to notice that their songs vary and all this years they have produced alto of good stuff. The only song missing is Sunday but all the other top tunes are all in this fantastic collection. Its is the Best of Blur and if you can only buy one Blur album, it has to be this one.
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2007
This is a truly comprehensive CD, containing all the band's hits, from the
electronic-sounding "She's So High" to brand-new indie-ish song "Music Is My Radar", this album contains some classic stuff. "Girls And Boys" and "Parklife" are both sparkling gems of Brit-pop, as is "Country House".
"Charmless Man" is an insanely catchy tune and the four tunes taken from
their eponymous 1997 effort are all present and correct. There is also some obscure stuff, like the ballad-like "To The End", the country-ish "Tender", and the lounge ballad "The Universal". The only negative note I can make about this album is that the new song isn't really that good and there is the unexplainable abscence of two classics from Modern Life Is Rubbish, "Sunday Sunday" and "Chemical World". That aside, this is a great disc to pick up for true-blue Blur fans.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2000
ok, most of you think this album bites because these aren't the songs you would have expected..... well i like almost everyone one of these songs, and i think they picked some good ones to put on this album. i am going to buy for a few reason. 1] i love blur and i like to say i have all there albums. 2] the line up is great for me, if i am in the car and want to listen to my fave blur songs i don't have to keep switching cd's i just pop this one in.
so all in all i really like this album and i think its gonna be great, even thouhg i am guessing it won't sell to big, but i could be wrong you never know!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2000
There are a lot of things that could have benn better about this album. The track list should have been about quality, not sales (ie. what is country house doing here), and it should have been in order of realese, giving the listener an impression of how there sound has developed. Having said that Blur are a great band, and the bulk of material that makes up this album is great. With Blurs strong back material this should have been better, but this is worthwhile for a Blur newcomer. Best of's are never meant for hardcore fans.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2000
This CD really does contrast how good Blur are. They have jumped back on to the scene with the new song, but its the old ones that relive the memories of the best of Blur. Song 2, Coffee & TV to name just a few are the highlight of the CD. It also shows why in the old days they were such a thret to Oasis. If your not a BIG Blur fan but you do think that thewre pretty cool then this is the CD for you as it contains some of the best stuff around, from one of the best bands around, ladies and gents i present: Blur
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)