Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
15
4.7 out of 5 stars
United
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99


on 27 August 2017
Everything is oke
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2004
What can I say? What an album! I'm not even going to bother avoiding cliches. This album is the ultimate life-confirming, good feeling album. There is nothing comparable to this band. It's the best kind of uplifting. It isn't shove it in your face hapiness a good feeling just eminates from every song. "If i ever feel better" has saved my life on several occasions. Lead singer Thomas Mars is a genius lyric crafter especially considering english isn't his first language. There isn't a bad song on this album. Every song is in a genre of its own but always with a keen sense of a beautiful melody and never at the cost of genius lyrics. If you are not a genre-facist this album is for you. If you are anybody this album is for you! BUY IT!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2000
another cd that i bought (albeit thru another site that stocked it earlier) after hearing half of a track on T4 on a hung-over sunday morning. very difficult to describe as this is as eclectic as anything i've ever heard. the track i'd heard "too young" is (i cringe at my first ever use of this word) funky and summery and very melodic. this is preceded by what can only be described as an extended metal riff (school's rules)band followed by lilting, reggae-ish "honeymoon" and the bouncy "if i ever feel better". you know by now that no british or american band could be this unselfconscious, indeed after one listen i wondered whether this could possiby be an album that i could have enjoyed listening to. whether its a sign that i'm getting old or this group really does write songs that should fail but don't, i'm not sure. the album veers from lovely delicate arrangements to brash guitar driven songs that sound more eighties than the eighties ever did ("party time") "On Fire" is a fantastic seventies american pastiche that makes your mouth curl up at the edges and the rest of the album takes in more influences than the soace i've got left. unmistakeably european in flavour, this is an album that may well become a favourite for this summer and beyond, if you can open your mind and listen to it more than once. i very nearly relegated it to the bottom of the stack, but the tunes worked their way in and stayed there. give it a go and tell me what you think.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2001
this is the first album in ages to have me completely hooked. i saw phoenix play in london this week and as a consequence must have listened to the album about 15 times over the last couple of days. it is so what i needed, an album that makes me want to smile, an album that i have now told all my friends they HAVE to buy, an album that i could happily listen to a trillion times more. even my uk-garage-loving sister asked me to turn up 'funky squaredance'... they must be doing something right! all is right with the world once more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2006
Been meaning to write a review of this for ages, and finally got round to it.

A mate of mine that used to play in a band, saw these guys live (about 5 years ago) and promptly bought this CD and encouraged all his mates to do the same....I am now one of the converted.

It difficult to define the music or directly compare them to another band, so I'll just say that its toe-tapping, singing along in your car(or in my case when I do the house work) music, and you should definately give it a listen
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2005
I can only add to the breathless excitement of earlier reviews. First heard of Phoenix by their inclusion on the 'Lost in Translation' soundtrack, with 'Too Young', which is the second track on this outstanding album. If you've ever wondered what Daft Punk or Air might have sounded like if they'd fallen in love with guitars rather than keyboards and synths, then this is for you. Mellow, funky guitar based tunes, tinged with Gallic lyricism and not a little passion for Seventies soft rock, this album asks only three or four listens before invoking a lifelong devotion to all things Phoenix. 'Too Young', 'If I Ever Feel Better', and 'Funky Squaredance' stand out as the strongest tracks, but the entire album, on repeated listening, reveals itself as a a work of intricate brilliance. The last track, 'Definitive Breaks', may sound like incidental music from a 1980s Mel Gibson movie at first run through, but listen to it in the context of the album, and try not to be moved. An essential purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2000
I can't recommend this album highly enough - it has taken over my life to a somewhat worrying extent, surely a good sign - and the first CD to have done so in years - if you are a fan of melodic, adventurous and uncatagorisable music get this now !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2011
I wouldn't dare to call this album a classic, but it's certainly a must-have if you like Phoenix and a great start if you don't know their music yet. At this price it's a real bargain and I suggest you don't leave it on the shelf, it's an old album but it still so fresh! It contains the hit single 'If I ever feel better', a tune I won't ever get tired of. As usual the cd was delivered quickly and safely, thanks Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2006
If you are thinking of buying this cd based on Phoenix's inclusion in the soundtrack to The Edukators then you definately should! Other reviewers give thoughtful and measured reviews, I just encourage Edukators fans to take a chance on this, as other reviewers have said, it is definately worth it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2004
One of the greatest most definitive albums in my collection. I first saw this band as an unknown support act and they completely blew away the headline act. Fantastic feelgood music - melodic and funky. You need this album at any cost!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)