Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 July 2010
It is only a couple of years after the Racoon City T-virus outbreak and the Umbrella Corporation has been bankrupted and taken over by WilPharma. WilPharma have opened a new research facility in the town of Harvardville, something which the local people don't want.

One of the few survivors of the Racoon City disaster, Claire Redfield, now works for the governments Anti-Bio-Terror programme "TerraSave" arrives at the Harvardville airport to be greeted by a protester dressed as a zombie, unfortunately the next zombie is the real thing and Claire is thrown back into survival mode.

Having only recently become acquainted with Resident Evil series of games, books, etc, I have to admit I was a little sceptical of a CGI movie, but I was willing to give it a chance. I'm glad I did, it's a lot of fun to see characters which I have come to know from the games come to CGI life.

I don't know if anyone else noticed but Senator Ron Davis seems to bear an uncanny resemblance to Penguin character in the Batman film and comics.

One of the strangest experiences while watching this film happened when Leon was hanging off the top of a platform and I found I had the urge to grab for the wii remote and shake it just to help him up.

There are a couple of small problems with the CGI. Leon goes through the entire film looking extremely grumpy with a permanent scowl, or maybe he'd had a bad session of botox; and most of the time Claire walks as if she needs her nappy changing urgently.

Aside from those little points the film was unexpectedly enjoyable.

I don't think you'd need to be a fan of the games to enjoy the film, especially as the background is explained in the form of news clips at the beginning. I'm glad I gave the film a try.
review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 December 2009
Perhaps you might read this thinking review: 'I quite fancy Degeneration. After all, I liked the Milla Jovavich films.' You might be in for a disappointment.

Much as I hate to acknowledge the Resident Evil critics (i.e. those who have never placed themselves in the direct path of one of the games for long enough for it to get it's hooks into you), there is some truth in the fact that Degeneration doesn't stand on it's own as a film particularly well. It skirts over too much, expects that the viewer already has a certain level of knowledge and brazenly tosses out cryptic references that only the fans will get.

Make no mistake, though this contains all the ingredients of a film: a story, a selection of set-pieces, a smattering of characters, this is

basically an informative insert in the lineage of the Resident Evil universe. It is a wedge between parts 4 and 5 that few who have not played them will appreciate.

The plot, such as it is, pertains to attempts by individuals to profiteer and exploit the dubious legacy of the, now destroyed Umbrella Corporation, punctuated by yet another unsuccessful attempt to use the G-Virus. Sadly, much of this is barely explained or fleshed out, serving only to introduce Umbrella's successor, Tricell ahead of their involvement in the events of Resident Evil 5. Lamentably the same lack of focus affects the characters and is particularly apparent in the case of the tragic anti-hero Curtis Miller as well as Albert Wesker-alike Frederic Downing.

While I cannot deny that I would struggle to see anything at all that a non RE fan would like about this film, to me, despite what I have just said, it still has it's charm. The CG animation is absolutely fantastic. As is the voice acting, despite one or two clunky RE moments (Jill Sandwich anyone?) and while the score is restrained in comparison to the games it contains the same portent piano motifs at suitable junctures. But first and foremost the events leading up to this film make it worth the bother in the first place. After all this where we get to see what Leon is up to after the events of RE4. This is where we get to see the reunion of Claire and Leon after the events of RE2 and revel once again in that gloriously wooden sexual tension. Perhaps most importantly of all, this is where the stage for RE5 is set.

And that really is where all it's beauty and all it's merit lies.

One for the fans? You bet.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2012
Degeneration is probably going to please most big RE fans; it's officially canon, it has T-Virus zombies, Leon and Claire kick lots of arse, it has the G-Virus, and it makes reference to at least 2 of the games.

That said, you shouldn't expect this to be a work of art, because it isn't. It takes itself slightly too seriously at times, for one thing, which isn't aided by the slightly inconsistent voice acting (although to be fair it's better than what Resident Evil players are normally used to). The CG can be great at some points, but dips a little too far into the Uncanny Valley when focusing on human characters, especially when they're meant to be showing an extreme emotion. The story isn't going to win any awards, either.

That said, it IS a lot of fun to watch. Even the slightly crap parts are fun, because it feels more like you're watching a high budget B-Movie, and you end up just laughing at how silly or cheesy it is. It's probably worth the asking price for the bit where Leon throws his gun to Claire, whereupon the SFX guys decided to open a big ol' can of Bullet Time and apply it VERY liberally. Great fun, and for under a tenner you can't complain at that.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 March 2012
It is only a couple of years after the Racoon City T-virus outbreak and the Umbrella Corporation has been bankrupted and taken over by WilPharma. WilPharma have opened a new research facility in the town of Harvardville, something which the local people don't want.

One of the few survivors of the Racoon City disaster, Claire Redfield, now works for the governments Anti-Bio-Terror programme "TerraSave" arrives at the Harvardville airport to be greeted by a protester dressed as a zombie, unfortunately the next zombie is the real thing and Claire is thrown back into survival mode.

Having only recently become acquainted with Resident Evil series of games, books, etc, I have to admit I was a little sceptical of a CGI movie, but I was willing to give it a chance. I'm glad I did, it's a lot of fun to see characters which I have come to know from the games come to CGI life.

I don't know if anyone else noticed but Senator Ron Davis seems to bear an uncanny resemblance to Penguin character in the Batman film and comics.

One of the strangest experiences while watching this film happened when Leon was hanging off the top of a platform and I found I had the urge to grab for the wii remote and shake it just to help him up.

There are a couple of small problems with the CGI. Leon goes through the entire film looking extremely grumpy with a permanent scowl, or maybe he'd had a bad session of botox; and most of the time Claire walks as if she needs her nappy changing urgently.

Aside from those little points the film was unexpectedly enjoyable.

I don't think you'd need to be a fan of the games to enjoy the film, especially as the background is explained in the form of news clips at the beginning. I'm glad I gave the film a try.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
brill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 January 2009
I like the Resident Evil films, and like a good well made zombie film but was unsure what to expect of this animated/CGI film.
I need not have worried though, I was very impressed and really enjoyed the film.

The storyline is not bad, ok its not overly complex but bear in mind this is not meant to be a high browed thriller. The story builds up nicely and develops to a pretty good finish.
I wont say anymore on the story as I do not want to spoil it for anyone.

As for the Blu-ray copy, what can I say but WOW! The animation and CGI really stand out with superb detail and vivid colours. The detail of flesh tones, hair and pretty much all other items is just excellent.
In fact in a few scenes I had to remind myself this was not live action, with the rendering of glass and water looking fantastic.
Sound was also good, and the voice actors have done a fine job.

I hope this leads to further animated/CGI films as its really delivered a quality product to the franchise. Maybe the original story animated woud be good?

Overall if you are a fan of Resident Evil in any of its guises I think you'll enjoy this. If you are a fan of horror type genres generally then give it a go, I think you'll enjoy it too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2009
Resident evil degeneration very much proves to be a resi game translated into a 90 minute scene. Arriving at the airport Claire Redfield finds herself in the middle of an viral outbreak of the T-virus, turning the dead into zombies. Trapped within the compound, with other survivors, a rescue team is dispatched headed by government agent Leon S Kennedy. As the story progresses it becomes apparent the outbreak was a terrorist attack tied to a shady pharmaceuticals firm; as Leon and Claire investigate they find themselves yet again pulled into a world of unimaginable horror.

T virus, G virus, Claire and Leon's reunion an homage to their original meeting, Claire wielding a specifically designed umbrella, just when you think the boss is dead it comes back, shady corporations, endless computer voiced countdowns to certain doom, mutants pursuing blood relations, heavy falling footsteps and of course spectacularly hokey dialogue. All staples of resident evil back in the day and ever present here. Less of a continuation of resident evil 4 and more of a sequel to resident evil 2, chances are if you never played Capcom's first sequel much of the movies charm will be lost on you but if you did you will more than likely lap it up.

Though the movie itself operates as both a sequel and a standalone affair, offering a new story with few links to previous instalments, other than names and off hand comments, and as such its a lot more accessible to newbies as opposed to say Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children (2 Disc Special Edition) was. It's good to see Claire and Leon together again, though as the movie progresses they don't share that much screen time together sadly, but their interaction is great fun and the movie keeps up a quick pace.

The voice acting is what you would expect from your typical resident evil game. The dialogue likewise follows suit, sounding especially silly when delivered with serious hammy conviction, but then again its all part of resident evils charm ( Jill sandwich anyone?). The animation is fast and fluid, facial detail is particularity good and the action sequences are of course OTT and highly entertaining.

All in all it's not likely to convert anyone who didn't like resident evil before and probably wont gain too many new fans, but for those of us who remember our zombie blasting days on the PS1 it's a guilty pleasure. Not a ground breaking move forward in animation films nor is the dialogue very well written but its definitely a movie for the fans, especially those who didn't enjoy the Anderson films,and as such proves to be a blast seeing a true to form resident evil movie on the screen.
11 Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
I really like this animated outing of the Residential Evil story, for someone more familiar with the earlier games surrounding Raccoon City this is the movie's "jumping off" point, where it begins, but it can be enjoyed as more than simply an animated actioner.

For anyone who wants to see zombis and monsters galour there's enough here, its not too bloody but could be frightening for younger viewers, there is some swearing but what the real selling point is to me is the plot, which is unlikely to be interesting to younger viewers who're primarily acquainted with the game.

The plot is pretty involved, focusing upon corporate corruption and terrorism, biological weapons and cover ups. Things have come a long way from the very earliest biohazard/resident evil story in which heroic protagonists battle hoards of zombis created by containment issues and out breaks. If you arent interested in this kind of thing it is possible to enjoy the movie besides but I loved this dimension of the movie, with shifts and turns involving corporate profiteering and theft and two other mega-corp actors entering the story line to compete with Umbrella.

I felt this was a better feature than any of the actual live action Resident Evil movies, which are pretty poor by comparison, either cerebrally challenge wise or action wise. Its also better than a lot of the zombi films which are produced like junk food for the viewing public.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
Good film even though it's animated ,still a good quality film if you like zombie apocalypse with the odds stacked against the living type stuff. I still prefer the other films with Milla Jovovich,but that's just my preference.this one still worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
I accidently purchased this item and returned it although i have seen it before, i would highly recommend it to Resident Evil Gamers. It's nothing like the Live Action films though. It's totally different and based on the games. I did like this film though :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse