Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
34
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Our favourite psychopathic trucker with a vengeance returns in Road Kill 2: Dead Ahead. Two couples are driving to Vegas (one of them to get married), when their car breaks down. The four make the sorry mistake of breaking into a house in the desert to steal a car - only what they don't realise is that they've just broken into the house of Rusty Nails, a psychotic truck driver who likes to play games with his victims in somewhat imaginative ways before he offs them.

It has all the makings of a good sequel except that of course, Ted Levine didn't make a re-appearance as the voice of Rusty which was somewhat disappointing. None of the other characters are from the first movie, but perhaps this is why the sequel works somewhat better most tend to do. Not quite as suspenseful and thrilling as the first movie "Road Kill", but still is highly enjoyable and has a better entertainment value than some of the ratings it was given upon it's general release.

Four out of five for effort - good movie, a must for fans of the first movie.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2009
First of all, why the hell did they change the title? The title of the original film was Joy-ride but they changed it to roadkill when they sold it in the UK. Now the sequel's case says roadkill 2, whereas the disk, special features and even the title in the film are joy-ride 2: dead ahead. So that is extremely weird.

Anyway. Roadkill 2 isn't as bad as it may seem. Nice cover art, disc art and some cool special features. The film itself isn't amazingly bad though the plot just lacked that special something that the first one had. All of the acting i saw in this film was reasonable and the characters are quite sympathetic except the goth guy who is a total
A-hole. It is also good to hear Rusty Nail's oh so creepy voice make a return in this film and he is just as nasty as ever! Many people complain that this film is a complete gore-fest unlike its predecessor but frankly... roadkill 2 is no wrong turn. There is allot of bloodless voilence and much is done offscreen with the exception of one jaw-dropping kill that I enjoyed heartily. In short, this film isn't that bad when it comes to gore and i have seen worse that are rated 15! cube zero, anyone?

Roadkill 2 is not a bad sequel but it fails to deliver in terms of plot and suspense. Definately recommended for fans of the first who want to see more of Rusty's antic on the freeway but possibly not what you were hoping for.
Hey, at least it's better than jeepers creepers 2! Ugh!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
Not bad at all! It has the ability to make You guess just what is going on, but that is the way this film gets to you-you never know just what will happen next!
If you are driving in the future, just prey that "Rusty Nail" is that truck driving behind You!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 March 2009
`Roadkill' was one of the best and under-rated horror thrillers of recent years, re-creating Spielberg's classic `Duel' so when I heard that there was a sequel I couldn't wait to see it. Just minutes into the film though I knew it was going to be nothing near the quality of the first film. The story begins when two young couple's car breaks down in the desert. They walk until they find a house which they break into, not knowing that it belongs to "Rusty Nail". They then take his car so that they can get to a town to use the phone but "Rusty Nail" finds out about them and starts to terrorise them.

For a start, the characters are possibly the most unlikeable that I can remember seeing in a film in a long time - I was actually rooting for "Rusty Nail" to hurry up and kill them as they were that annoying. Next the story was so unoriginal and dull with literally no excitement at all for the whole duration of the film. I know this is a straight-to-DVD release but with such a fantastic film before this I was expecting something at least mildly entertaining. Unfortunately, this is not.

I honestly wouldn't recommend this to anyone, even if you are a big fan of the original like myself. This film is just terrible.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
I loved Joy ride, and was hoping this was going to be good as well. It was good, but the first films are always best. Very similar story to the first one, but if you like the first one then you will like this one too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
An excellent sequel to the original roadkill film and a must for fans of the original or this genre. Sequels can often fall short of the original and I was a little sceptical with the absence of Steve Zahn...but in fairness this film was good (even without him!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 July 2011
I quite liked the first 'Roadkill' it was quite watchable. This is a steaming turd of a sequel and not worthy of the supermarket bargain bin from whence it was snatched. If I had watched the 'making of' beforehand I wouldn't have bothered watching the film itself. To hear one of the inarticulate cast members share her remarkable insight into this film and genre as "it's modern because it has mental torture as well as physical torture in it" provided a large clue as to the quality of cast and directional merits.
The socially inadequate simplistic killer 'Rusty Nail' of the first 'Roadkill' is now a cross between Dr Hannibal Lector (in psychological not cannibalistic terms) and Jigsaw from 'Saw' playing out a series of tedious tasks for the 3 'kids' who have offended him to complete for fear of him killing his hostage, the 4th member of their party. The tasks were designed to humiliate and expose the trio to risk in a half baked 'look how evil and clever I am' exercise before throwing in the obligatory torture bit before the lame finale.
In the end the surviving female drives off in Mr Nails truck leaving her hobbled boyfriend behind with Mr Nail sporadically attacking her whilst hanging on. The director had given up by this point as the excitement starts at night-time before switching to bright daytime. She continues driving randomly through the desert when Nail finally wrests control of truck just in time for her to jump out before it goes over a handy cliff. Boyfriend then instantly hops up to comfort poor missy. Err how did you just turn up like that mate in the middle of the desert, miles from where you were left ? Did you teleport there? Just cash-in pointless rubbish.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2016
Great fun, particularly if you enjoyed the first film. A little more violent and not quite as suspenseful as the first one, but some superb scary moments with many references back. In general, sequels are seldom as good – but this one does pretty well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
Really good film but not as good as the first film hope there's a third film and it been better then the first two
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2010
I've already watched JOYRIDE and found that to be quite a good film but now it comes to Joyride 2 and RoadKill and RoadKill 2 I find THEY are the same movie as Joyride 1 and 2 albeit there is also ANOTHER FILM PREVIOUSLY MADE CALLED "ROADKILL"?? Is it any wonder film fans really don't know what they are buying or perhaps I should say have little confidence in the manufacturers of the DVD's? There are 2 sets of reviews for these movies and ALSO they are being sold at DIFFERENT PRICES? Now that really isn't on is it?!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)