Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 1 July 2015
Some very useful reviews on here with which I tend to agree - should have The Selecter on it ( quite a hard to get track) and not everything has aged well. Pauline Black has been quite vocal about the poor efforts made by their producers of the time and the sounds are thin here. However, the hits remain quite brilliant ( in several bands I haven't found a drummer who can get Too Much Pressure right, this is cleverer stuff than straight 8ths ska)and some of the lesser known ones are too - Murder is a 12 bar based burst of energy.
Their new album has been picking up some interest and this is a nearly perfect companion to get with it to see where it all came from.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2015
A good slice of nostalgia from what I think, for my tastes, was the best British based Ska revival band from the 1980's. Because Pauline was in the band it made their sound less overtly masculinised than the rest of their contemporaries. they're still going, in a slightly different form, at the time of submitting this review and still sound good.

Eamonn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 2012
The two tracks that I know best - '3 minute hero' and 'on my radio' stand out. 'Celebrate the bullet' was a new track to me and its a corker - not what I expected from this band. 'James Bond' skanks along in a predictable but fun style and 'too much pressure' bounces along quite reasonably. But in terms of impact, I am hard pressed to bring the specifics of any other tracks to mind. It's not that they're poor but to get 4 or even 5 stars they just need to be better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2016
pauline black still going strong this collection is a good starting point before going to see the band live near you soon enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2013
love the band,these were one of the pioneers of the fundemental movements of the 80,s music scene.well worth a listen,would recommend it to anyone who loves the early eighties.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2016
Love everything two tone,and Pauline black and her selector really hit the spot,cheers..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2017
Brought as a present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2016
good product at a fair price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2015
they had more hits than I thought,takes me back to when music was good and times were better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2017
Not as good as other ska cds i have
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Daylight
£7.99
Ska Madness!
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)