Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
105
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 October 2005
Celtic music has roots deep in the oral and musical traditions of the British Isles, Ireland most significantly. For centuries, it has thrived at gatherings, celebrations, and in pubs, preserving local legend and history through lyrical story-telling. This music has strong traditions in short, lyrical songs, accompanied by fiddle, tin whistle, guitar, Ulieann pipes, and the Celtic drum, the bodhran.
Vocalists Chloë Agnew, Lisa Kelly, Méav Ni Mhatolchatha, and Órla Fallon, (vocals, harp), along with violinist Máiréad Nesbitt, are the Celtic women of this extraordinary album's title. Each of them have recorded individually. They give enchanting, romantic, old Irish ballads and airs a mystical New Age spin, with influences from the classical, and come up with a unique sound, performing solo and together in ensemble pieces. "Celtic Woman" clearly portrays the individual delivery and style of each performer. Their pure, clear voices also meld hauntingly, evoking another time and place, now gone forever except in their songs.
I love the entire CD, great music selections - but some of my favorite cuts are the classic "Danny Boy," "Harry's Game," (Orla sings this - extraordinary), made famous by the Clannad, and "Last Rose of Summer/Walking in the Air," performed by Chloe, which is simply ethereal - gorgeous. If you don't get up to dance with "Si Do Mhaimeo," (The Wealthy Widow) a spirited, playful tune, then you surely will when the fiddler plays "The Butterfly." You'll want your feet to fly.
Accompanying the Celtic Women are musicians Desi Moore (guitar), Martin Johnston (cello), David Downes (whistle, harpsichord, keyboards), John O`Brien (Uilleann pipe), Eoghan O`Neill (bass guitar), Robbie Casserly (percussion).
"Celtic Woman" was created by Sharon Browne, Dave Kavanaugh (founders of Ireland's successful Celtic Collections label), and music producer/composer/conductor David Downes. The successful launching of the group is the realization of their collective dream. Downes, who was heavily involved with the American production of "Riverdance, wanted to bring these five extremely talented women to the public's notice. This hour long compilation of modern and classic Irish songs is the group's first album and one that showcases the glorious Irish musical heritage. Bravo!
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
Thiis an earlier cd of Celtic Woman, the beauty of the voices of these women takes your breath away and releases a sense of peace and relaxation. I would recommend this cd and any of their cds to anyone who appreciates beautiful voices and good music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
Good buy and quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
beautiful misic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2005
What Lord of the Dance was to Irish dancing, Celtic Woman is to Irish singing! A wonderful show to see live, this CD brings the rich and vibrant music into your car, and will keep you enthralled. The show brings together the talent of five very talented Irish women - four vocalists and one violinist. The music ranges from what I would call traditional, such as Danny Boy and Ave Maria, through ethnic Irish songs, and on to modern pop music. For me, the best track is Isle of Inisfree, sung hauntingly by Órla Fallon - it carries with it the longing for home that has always been a theme of the Irish American, and is enough to bring tears to your eyes!
Yes, this is a great album, with lots of great music and excellent singing. My hat's off to the many talented people who made this show and this album possible. If you are a fan of Irish music, or just a fan of good music, then you will love this album. I give it my highest recommendations!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2009
This is the first of the Celtic Woman DVDs and I am absolutely delighted that I purchased it. Firstly, I didn't want to be branded an idiot but more importantly, the four singers who are classically trained sang with great clarity. Maire Nesbitt on the fiddle was a pleasure to watch because she just enjoyed performing to the audience. My favourite artist is Lisa Kelly - she is the one who attracted me to Celtic Woman with her clear and pure voice. I have two other of their DVDs - Slane Castle and the Christmas one. I am continually checking Amazon for the availability of their next one.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2009
This is an absolutely brilliant album! Anyone with the slightest interest in Irish music will love it. The compilation is a good balance, the music is wonderful, very atmospheric, and the artists are fantastic! I love it, and would recommend it to anyone.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2005
Celtic Woman is a group of five Irish women who each is a well known solo artist in their native homeland of Ireland. Mairead, Lisa, Meav, Chloe, and Orla were brought together by composer/producer David Downes. Mairead is the only woman who does not sing and instead plays an instrument (the fiddle) but her contributions to the music is equally as wonderful as the singers.
I first discovered Celtic Woman via a televised performance on my local public broadcasting station. I was quite taken by their beautiful voices and enchanting melodies. The music was a mix of celtic and classical. Imagine Sarah Brightman singing celtic music or Enya going more into classical/pop instead of new age. What really stood out with me about this group of Irish lasses were the clarity of their voices. Their singing was not bogged down by vocal gymnastics (ala Celine Dion and Mariah Carey). They did not try to over enunciate each note to a point where your ears feels like bleeding. You can actually understand what the women are singing. There were times when I felt like I was listening to Enya namely when they were singing her songs "Orinoco Flow" and "May It Be" (which isn't a bad thing by all means). Lisa and Meav clearly have the standout voices in the group but that does not mean that Chloe and Orla are not as talented. On the contrary they do a marvelous job on songs such as "Someday" (from Disney's "The Hunchback of Notre Dame") and "Harry's Game". While I enjoyed Josh Groban's version of "You Raise Me Up", I found Celtic Woman's interpretation much more moving. It is not loud and bombastic as Josh Groban's version is.
Celtic Woman is easily one of my favorite releases from 2005 so far. I look forward to hearing more from them in the near future.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2010
117 minutes of heaven, 23 songs to satisfy most clasical taste buds plus live interviews. I listened to these ladies on YouTube and took the chance that my DVD would play region 1 when I ordered. Now knowing how good this DVD is I would have happily bought a new muli-region DVD player. It is worth it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2010
The music is so beautiful! If you have a special interest in Irish music then you'll love this CD!
It's sung by women with the most beautiful voices and it's deffinetly a must have CD if you like calm and serene music!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)