Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
129
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2001
Massive Attack have famously evolved their style throughout their career, from the lush soul/hip-hop notes of Blue Lines to the dubbed-out smoked-out lope of Protection (getting further dubbier on the Mad Professor remix album). This time however, they have really turned things about.
I must admit I was a little apprehensive when I'd heard that they'd gone all "rock" but my first listen to the album in its entirety after hearing the chilling tones of the first single "Rising Son" took all of my (mis)preconceptions, chewed them up and spat them a very long way away. The darker, deeper vibes, briefly visited on Protection's Eurochild are prevelant throughout, with 3D and Daddy G working somber menacing tones, presumably exorcising demons of some kind (the majority of the lyrics being typically cryptic).
Horace Andy, always welcome, is on his usual fine form, his spine-tingling falsetto providing a sublime, haunting edge to "Angel" and "Man Next Door", with new girl Sara Jay showing her rather fine vocal skills on the out and out rocker "Dissolved Girl". Grant (Daddy G) makes a more noticeable appearance than previously, his deep, gruff voice suiting the new vibe perfectly, and it is only after a couple of listens that you notice the absence of Tricky (presumably a result of him having gone "a bit wierd"), though this is no bad thing here.
It is the appearance of Liz Fraser (Cocteau Twins) that truly wins this album though, particularly on the astonishingly beautiful "Teardrop", a true tear inducing masterpiece (despite the lyrics being more or less incoherent!), with its lush strings and heart-beat imitating drum loops. Fraser continues to astound on "Black Milk" and again on her duet with Del Naja, on the apocalyptic penultimate track "Group 4", which is one to be listened to alone, whilst lying down, in the dark, with your stereo volume as loud as it will go.
The whole album, is must be said is rather an introspective one, to be most appreciated whilst alone, and will not appeal to everyone. Even confirmed Massive Attack fans may find its industrial leanings all a little heavy going, although it is all ultimately strangely uplifting, despite the dark, paranoid undertones throughout. One thing this is not, is a party album, but if you do dare to take it on, you will find yourself very well rewarded.
22 comments| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2003
If ever there was an album to which superlatives apply then this is it. Less soulful and playful then earlier outings this is nonetheless Massive Attack's finest album. From the low throb of opener angel to the last clatter of exchange this is an album to love. Dark, bruising and fractured certainly yet still swelling with a subsumed emotion that is worth a million Will Youngs.
This is an album that can aptly be described as 'difficult' without actually being difficult to listen to. Massive Attack's strange and threatening audio world is so artfully arranged that it never strikes as discordant or awkward. If a first listen beguiles, and I assure you that it will, then repeated attempts will reveal new wonders and finally will render the darkness warm and cozy and the only sane response to life.
Played at a low volume the sounds that ooze from the speakers sit sulkily lurking at the corners of the room, ripe with menace. Played loud the heavy metal thunder of Angel or Dissolved Girl will work its corrosive magic in a way that the nu-metal fraternity can only dream of. The vocalist most associated with this album is Elizabeth Frazer and its easy to see why. The distinctive style of her vocals perfectly offsets the sullen and richly textured sounds in which they are set, like diamonds in black velvet. However personally I find Sarah Jay's only track, Dissolved Girl far more effecting. Her low voice is both sexy and, like Beth Gibbons of Portishead, conveys volumes of stark emotion just veering off desperation. Horace Andy's caramelised voice adds sweetness to every track that he sings on.
Despite the various different styles and plethora of vocalists, five in total, this album still manages more coherence then more straightforwardly structured bands seem capable. There isn't a duff track here and while no two tracks are the same they all share a certain indefinable quality that's unique to Massive Attack.
All in all a massive achievement and if, as seems likely, its their last album then a worthy swansong for one of the finest bands of the nineties. Oh yeah and its quite dark too.
11 comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2002
Get hold of this album. Wait until about 11 in the evening. Sit in your favourite armchair in a room lit sparsely. A couple of candles, perhaps. Turn up your hi fi so the sound fills the room, but doesn't deafen. Press play. Evaporate.
This album can be seen as a logical progression from Blue Lines and Protection as the textures get more complex and the sounds more original. It's certainly my favourite of the three. With some beautiful vocals on tracks like Teardrop, and some amazing energy on tracks such as as Angel this album offers a spectrum of atmospheres to experience. Some great laid back rapping and beats to make you kneel on the floor and thank god you've got a pulse. The addition of crunching guitar in the backgorund alongside organic synths works brilliantly.
This is music you can have as background whilst doing other things, but that's missing the point. Mezzanine is music to breathe to.
22 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2013
The vinyl on this is dead quiet, it did have a lot of factory dust from the paper inner sleeves but a quick clean on the VPI fixed that. I'd recommend putting them back in polylined inner sleeves. The jacket is a bit flimsy and should have been higher quality. I have an original and it was a much nicer gatefold.

Mastering-wise, this sounds really close to the original I own but without the pops on my original which grades VG at best. I'm not sure if this is from the CD master or the original tapes. Being a 90s release it might have been all digital from hard drives or DAT so it may not matter anyway. Even if it is analog tape, all the samples that make up most of the music are 16 bit 44.1khz digital anyway. So in short, buy this because you like vinyl and don't expect the sound to be better than the CD, which I think already sounds fantastic.

My biggest complaint is the mailer. I don't know why so many things I order from the UK and Europe have the thinnest cardboard but because of it one of the corners got bent. I've read on forums that this is a common problem with this release. They need to use real LP mailers like the ones made by Bags Unlimited.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2006
To label this 'another great chillout album' would be to underestimate the depths of this album and the music within. Its not a an album I would label 'chillout' by any stretch of the imagination. More a soundtrack for nightmares then sweet dreams. Its dark, moody, and atmospheric, certainly not music to chill too.
Its one of those rare albums where every track is good and each stands out from the other. Each is telling its own story even when there are no words. It also dismisses any previous bench mark set for what defines trip-hop and crushes it like a bug.
On some tracks your ears a wooed with almost angelic vocals and moved on to more darker, masculine tones, hypnotizing, beautiful and menacing all in one package.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2004
I had heard of Massive Attack before I bought this album, but had never actually heard their music; and was it worth it? Definitely! The opening track 'Angel' is great and really sets the mood for the rest of the album. Some other favourites of mine include 'Teardrop' which is so relaxing and stunning at the same time; and 'Dissolved Girl' which is also sung by the female singer. I really recommend this album to anybody who likes Royksopp, Moby and other electronic/chill artists. In fact, I think you should desperately consider adding this to your music collection as it simply is beautiful in every single way!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2000
This is my most played CD in my collection, its brilliant! From the moment the CD is played and you hear the gradually louder beats of Angel you know its going to be good. Then we move to Teardrop easily the best single Massive Attack have released since Unfinished Sympathy (my all time fave song). Ahh it gets better towards the end though, with the fantastic, couldn't-be-any-better, Group Four. And to end, we have (Exchange) with the (fantastic) singing of Horace Andy. Ohmygod I love this album. Buy it! And hurry up with the next album!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
beautiful vinyl pressing, double vinyl, heavy, flat, surface noise free. 'man next door' on loud practically rumbles the foundations with the bass lines.

Many miles ahead of the original CD.

Great cover art too of course.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2015
Massive Attack are one of my favourite groups and this IMO is their best album and sits at the top of my top ten albums of all time. I have wanted this on vinyl for a long time and have struggled to get a copy for a few years now. This is good quality and plays brilliantly. It was expensive for a double album and I would not normally pay this price but now I have it I feel it was worth it. This will be played and played.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2005
An excellent album, full of tricky melodys and little beats that make you wonder... Slightly darker album, but this adds to what makes the album excellent. What can i say? Massive Attack, one of the greatest bands of my generation!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£5.99
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)