Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
13
4.8 out of 5 stars
Vive Le Rock
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 26 July 2016
Where do I start......It's ADAM ANT....hello?!
This is a great Rockabilly style crossed with T-Rex album it's great fun, no slow songs....which is brilliant and I just can't recommend it enough.
It has the classic APOLLO 9 on it, but also Vive Le Rock, human bondage den, rip down and lots more.
The fact that Adam Ant is touring again all over the UK, Europe and the USA....and he's amazing live, but it brings the albums to life especially since Adam is doing sold out tours of Dirk Wears White Sox and Kings of the Wild Frontier.
If you love Adam buy his CD's and go see him on tour if you get the chance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2017
I love Adam Ant and only had all the albums on vinyl so not playable since about 1990 (boo).
Saw Adam recently at the Clifffs Pav in Southend and fell in love wiht him all over again. I was 11 when he burst onto the scene.
He has still got IT and hearing the songs again (plus bonus demo tracks etc etc) after reading his autobiography and I can hear so much more meaning in the lyrics and spot his girlfriends in the videos ...... you tart Adam!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
Quite an underated album in Adam's back catalogue. I recall buying this on release (vinyl!) and being taken aback how powerful and rocking it was compared to the previous album (Strip). Tony Visconti, as usual, produces to perfection and creates a very full sound here. Some great tunes and well worth getting hold of if you are a fan of Adam's and not heard this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
Now this... THIS... is how you make an album! Stick your tongue in your cheek, crank it up to 11 and go nuts. That's Vive Le Rock in a nutshell!

Right from the off the title track with the immortal words, "Bang bang, you're dead! Did not! Did too! Stop diddy-bopping buddy, bouncing Betty on you!" grabs you by the proverbials and the album doesn't let go until the 'Rock' is well and truly 'Vived'.

Every song is a rocking foot-tapper and has the vibe that he's rekindling with his current 'The Good, The Mad and The Lovely Posse' tour. For me every song is a highlight but if I had to narrow the album down to 3 songs it would be Vive Le Rock, Apollo 9 and Miss Thing. I've had the album on vinyl since release but due to a broken player haven't heard it in a while. But after getting the cd on here I'm happy to note that it sounds as fresh, rocky and whacky as ever! :)

If you're dithering about whether to buy it then my advice is: Just buy it. :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
Fantastic cd album refreshing to hear really really loed it fantastic to listen to different from his days from the ants
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
thanks i have it on my ipod and i have played a couple of times, i got on time. the cd is great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
A gift loved by an Adam fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2010
This seems to be a derided album just because Adam's star was falling at the time and so didn't do so well in chart terms but take no notice of that. This is Ant/Marco/Chris De Niro/Count Wiczling with a very rock'n'roll album and sounding like they enjoyed every minute of it. Tony Visconti producing gives it a very T.Rex feel which may have been the goal and it works excellently. I would go as far as say this is Adam's most consistant album. The title track should have been a massive hit but wasn't (it has to be mentioned that the Live Aid version was far better still) so it was left with Apollo 9 as the only hit single from this release. The remaining tracks are all very catchy with Adam's multi layered vocals great and Marco's guitars outstanding. The remaster adds bonus remixes which are interesting if not essential. The only downside is the addition of demos. In those cases 'previously unissued' tracks should have stayed that way but thats what program button function on CD players are meant for. Thers still more than enough great music here to enjoy.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2000
Vive Le Rock is an album that can best be described as glam-punk. The title track is a straightforward catchy rocker, and the glam influences really kick in on Miss Thing, Apollo 9, and P.O.E. At just 36 minutes long this is an excellent album full of catchy tunes, which would probably have done a lot better commercially if it had been made in the mid-late 90s. However, lyrically its a stinker, with many nonsensical verses e.g. "well its a dopey mopey doop de boop civilian time its all mine"....what?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)