Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
14
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 October 2001
An excellent CD all round, from the swing of "It don't mean a thing" to the slow and melancholy "Solitude". This is a program of Duke Ellington tracks, brought to magnificent life by the great Satchmo, backed by members of his All Stars and Duke Elligton himself on Piano. Look out for an amazing rendition of "Mood Indigo" with an amazing vocal from Louis. A must for all fans of these two masters of Jazz.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
This CD issue is superior to the original LP issues as it made me change my mind about a couple of things,originally I thought that barney bigard on Clarinet sounded too weak behind the powerful Louis and Trummy young on trumpet and Trombone respectively,but here he is exactly right,although not quite at his best.Louis and Duke are magnificent and this is probably Danny barcelona's best session, to me he was the weakest of all the All Stars drummers.
All in all, a very worthwhile issue and the extras are interesting.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2005
In this CD, these two music giants have produced a wealth of music for us to enjoy for decades to come and probably for ever. The harmoney between them was natural and smooth. Remember, they recorded it in early sixties without a good deal of rehearsal, both were in New York after a long tours, especially Louis who has just ended an international tour to Europe and africa. It was a rare opportunity for them to meet and play together what I call super jazz like Dukes'place, cotton tail, mood indigo, Azelea. Louis most charming voice and trumpet and Dukes'piano were a perfect combination It is an endless enjoyment to listen to them playing together.I do recommend this CD for everyone who love jazz. Thanks to you Amazon for giving me the opportunity to buy a copy.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2011
'Oh the splendid remedy for the wintry period, those Sunday afternoons when the rain falls and the mind's a blank. Creates a certain mood for me, and it's the most splendid mood indigo I can possibly comprehend. They can take me down to Duke's place any day of the week come to that, and to be able to turn to these two beauts whenever the chips are down, 'Oh that's when I guess I'm just a lucky so and so.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 July 2013
Recorded over a two day session in April 1961 this album has a relaxed, good natured charm that is all but irresistible. Like the records that Armstrong put out duetting with Ella Fitzgerald, it sounds exactly as you might expect it to. The music of New Orleans meeting the urbanity of the Dukes up -town swing and poise.Ellington supplies piano and the tunes, Armstrong croons and trumpets as only he can whilst the All Stars, particularly the wonderful Barney Bigard on clarinet and Trummy Young on trombone provide suitably lively solos when required. It is quite amazing how the two legends mesh together. The result is a brilliantly swinging little affair whose focus is on entertainment. Nothing ground breaking or revelatory occurs but that was never the point. It is almost too easy to take for granted what a real pleasure this set is. Listen to the musical interplay on 'The Mooche', Armstrongs vocals on ' I Got it Bad (And That Ain't Good)' and the Dukes superbly understated pianism on 'In A Mellow Tone' just get a feel for how great this project is in everyway.

The remastering and sleeve notes help bring what is a great set even more to life,so all in all a very worthwhile project. Fave track? too many to mention, but 'Solitude' with a truly moving vocal and beautifully constructed trumpet solo from a disconsolate Armstrong is a beauty.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
I have always been a bit suspicious of recording sessions bringing two stylistically different jazz greats together - records with titles like Monk meets Fats ( not that this was ever done) and I never really thought that the Duke meets Mingus recordings really worked. As a result I was wary of buying these recording sessions when Louis Armstrong's All Star band, with Ellington on piano, played the Duke's compositions. But how wrong I was. These two grey entertainers and two great musicians obviously got along perfectly and the Armstrong band really does do justice to the Duke's music. Trummy Young is great on trombone and Pops sings beautifully and of course is sublime on the trumpet. A wonderful and enjoyable disc, pure heaven.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Dem Boys Deh Swing Yeah!!!..." The Great Summit ", what an apt title!!!... They take you to the top and don't EVER stop!!!...Two Maestro's showing you how to do it and having a blast doin' it!!! For my money, one of the Greatest pieces of music I've ever heard!!!...You can't learn this stuff, yer either "Is you Is or Is you Ain't"!!!...ENJOY!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought this album many years back principally because I am an Ellington fan. I didn't know the personnel other than the obvious inclusion of Armstrong, whose trumpet work, especially in his early years, i have long admired. As for his singing I can take it or leave it; I acknowledge that his phrasing is superb.
I have several Ellington collaborations e.g. with Hawkins or Coltrane. Interestingly Ellington always calls the tunes! Exactly the same here, all the compositions are by Ellington; it is for Armstrong to adapt to the Ellington songbook rather than conversely.
The Band is also Armstrong's All Stars (less a pianist): Trummy Young (tmb), Barney Bigard (clt and ex-Ellington), Mort Herbert (b) and Danny Barcelona (d).
Recorded in 1961 (about the same time as Ellington's other collarorations) there are 17 tunes, the majority the well known tunes from Ellington's vast repertoire. Just a couple of less well known tunes: "The Beautiful American" and "Azalea".
The whole album works extremely well credit for which must go in a large part to Armstrong and the All Stars who make the greater contribution, however Ellington plays well too, and the compositions ate sublime!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
this is a fantastic cd they sound like they really had fun recording it once you hear it the music gets inside your head
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
I have the original vinyl and this even better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.49
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)