Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 2 December 2017
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2017
excellent recording
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2017
present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2017
bought as a gift, the recipient loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2008
This CD is one of rare Hag compilations that covers full discography to date, and may say the best single-disc of his music.

SONGS #1-19 - "Capitol" period 1966-1975 RATING:5/5
There Are Masterpieces "The Legend Of Bonnie..., Today I Started Loving Yyou..., Mama Tried, I Take A Lot Of Pride...(Very similar To a classic "Gentle Oo My Mind), Hungry Eyes, Workin Man Blues, If We Make it Through..."
Capitol years ends with three great Honky-Tonks: "Honky Tonk Night Time...,Old Man From The Mountain ...& Living With The Shade".

SONGS #20-22 - year 1980-1983(MCA/EPIC YEARS) RATING:4/5
First two are very good songs but his famous duet with W. Nelson "Pancho & Lefty" simply don't fit here since it's polished production by Chips Moman (Nelson's producer in those days). Of cours it's a still great song.

SONGS #23-26 - year 2000-2005 RATING:5/5
Unbelievable but Hag in 2000's sounds like in his greatest days. All four songs are simply excellent.

After all, the sound in this disc is fantastic since all the songs are digitally remastered.(This especially coming to light in intimate songs from the 60'S and early 70'S).
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 7 April 2016
The Bottle Let Me Down, Branded Man, Sing Me Back Home, Today I Started Loving You Again, Mama Tried, Workin' Man Blues, Silver Wings, Hungry Eyes, Honky Tonk Night Time Man, I Take a Lot of Pride in What I Am, Living With the Shades Pulled Down, Okie From Muskogee...just a few of the 26 classics by legendary country singer and songwriter Merle Haggard {1937-2016 ~ died on his birthday, just as he'd predicted he would} gathered here on this wonderful compilation.
The aptly named Haggard had a voice midway between his friend George Jones and our contemporary Dwight Yoakam ~ who just happen to be my three favourite male country singers. He could sing with great delicacy, grace and sensitivity, and gently rock out with the best of them too.
There are a couple of good drinking songs, including the unequivocally titled I Think I'll Just Stay Here And Drink, and a few duets, such as I'm Leaving Now with old friend Johnny Cash, and Townes Van Zandt's much covered Pancho & Lefty with Willie Nelson.
The booklet is superb, with two sets of notes, photos, and full track listings.
There ain't a better single-disc compilation of this country legend available, so I'd go for this if you want a fine representative selection from his many albums and hits.

Sing us back home, Hag...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2011
If you're wondering why Merle Haggard is such a legendary name in country music just listen to this compilation and you'll see why.None of the tracks need introduction , they will be familiar to all country music fans.Buy this c.d and rejoice in the musical talent that is Merle Haggard.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2011
Fantastic value as an mp3 download, would suit country western followers of Merle as it gives a great cross section
of his hits , and for newcomers a great choice of Country superstar
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2009
i first heard merle haggard in 1970.i was in the b.a.o.r.a friend in the next room had an album ,which he played constantly.i liked him then and like him now.there is an honesty and passion in all merle's music.this album is no exception and is a fine example of what country music is about.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)