Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 30 August 2017
Happy with the product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2017
One of my favourite albums of all time . Love it .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2017
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2017
I'm not really a Hip Hop fan and this album hasn't converted me.
A few tracks are listenable, but I find the vocals hard to understand, which for me is always a sign of poor quality either in the recording or the delivery.
Not one of my favourites, but each to their own these guys have a big fan base.
I will not be joining it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2003
From start to finish this is one of the greatest albums ever released and the Bestie's finest hour.
1994 was a great year for music and this was the best of the pile. It has perhaps the greatest start ever in "sureshot" and includes several moments of genius.
It covers so many styles its unture, from punk rock ("tough guy", "heart-attack man") to mellow musical interludes "transition"). Then of course there is also there trademark break-neck beats and hip-hop rhymes that make them unique as a group.
If this album isn't in your musical collection then you have got a large hole there. To think I have managed to review the album and not even needed to mention "sabotage", yup, thats how good it is.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2005
When I first stumbled across this album, back when I was about 10, I took it back to the shops a week later. I had heard 'Sabotage' and thought I'd try it, but it sounded like a mess.

About two years later, after slowly purchasing other Beastie Boys releases and beginning to appreciate different syles of music as a whole, I picked it up again. I began to get it a little bit more with each listen, until it became arguably my favorite album of all time up to this present day.

I wrote a review in 2003, but thought I'd right another one as that particular one doesn't do this amazing record justice. So to the record...'Sure Shot' IS hip-hop personified. You will not find a more straight up hip-hop cut on anywhere, especially not in todays rap society. It's a perfect opener.

From then on you'll probably be surprised, but stick with this record. Distortion effects on the vocals can be heard throughout, something which may or may not take awhile to get your around. But it helps make Ill Communication into a sort of dirty sounding record, a pure old school street jamming album, with throbbing, pumping basslines and some wonderfully enthusiatic rapping by the 3 MC's.

'Alright Hear This', 'B-Boy's Makin' Wit' The Freak Freak', 'The Scoop', 'Root Down' and 'Get It Together' is hip hop at a wonderfully loose and cutting level. It's rap, but it doesn't sound like the clear, slickly produced so called hip-hop of today, or in some cases even back then. They're raw and jazzy, and simply performed to stunning effect. That early 90's vibe between the Beasties, A Tribe Called Quest and Cypress Hill and the like represents a golden age for the genre.

But Ill Communication crosses several musical boundaries. For instance, the Beasties as musicians shine in the chilled, funked-out instrumentals in the face of 'Sabrosa,' or the blissful album closer 'Transistions', while the hardcore stab of 'Tough Guy' and the near-metallic jam of 'Sabotage' add to this dense, sprawling masterpiece perfectly.

It may take awhile to get your head around, but when you do, Ill Communication is an album you can live inside. And you want to know the best thing? There are 5 other classic, varied albums by these talented men across 20 years, and this is just one. And the other best thing? Ill Communication-wise I haven't even mentioned the various references, solo spots, instruments, collaborations (see Q-Tip on 'Get It Together') and the sheer cool style and vibe present on this record.

The Beasties have always done their own thing, and it's always had a marvellous result, and Ill Communication is a wonderful example of how effective they were, are and always will be.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2011
Bought as a replacement to an older copy that I had worn out! This is, in my eyes, one of the Beastie's best albums and disproves a lot of the stereotypes about their music. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2001
A lot better than the overrated Licenced to Ill, Ill Communication is an epic hip hop masterpiece, with a nicely varied sound, including a couple of old-style thrashing guitars ones (eg. Heart attack man), mixed with a few chilled out instrumental numbers, and plenty of others. This is a must for any fans of the Beastie Boys, whether you like their Fight for your right style songs, or the more sample based Paul's Boutique stuff.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2001
I've never listened to a greater CD, Amazing Lyrics, style of Music, and Instrumental Use, Sure shot is amazing and keep a look out for Sabotage both amazing tracks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2016
being a sucker for the beastie boys and a collector of vinyl this was a "must buy" purchase, classic album and a slight return to their hardcore punk crossover roots with Sabotage & Heart Attack Man.

this is the gatefold double album which came swiftly from the supplier and was well packaged, fully recommended purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)