Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2014
Every music library should have this classic disc. It is still one of the best ever albums and I love it
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2016
Well, what can you say this is the best of Spandex Ballet, put it on as soon as it arrived, have now (the next day) lost my voice singing at full volume to their classics, good job the neighbours were away, took me back to the new romantic era in a flash even dug out the leather trousers still in my wardrobe (sad I know) now way i will ever get into them now, maybe they will come back in for one of me children, you must get this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2016
An almost complete best of - it omits How many lies, Raw, and Be free with your love. That said, this recording covers all of the hits you will remember, and indeed is a more comprehensive collection than newer releases on the market.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
I've always liked Spandau Ballet, the first group I ever really listened to, unfortunately all my other SB albums were on tape and have been lost or damaged through the passage of to lime. So when gold the best of Spandau ballet came out I was thrilled as some of the songs, apart from Gold and True, I hadn't heard since the 80's. All my fave SB songs on one disc. A step back into my childhood, teen years. You can't get better than that
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2016
How people perceive a band varies and for me Spandau Ballet were one of my favourite bands of the Eighties with Diamond being the last album i bought until they became more mainstream and now everyone thinks of Gold and True.

The more diverse era of The Spands for me saw them step towards the peak where perhaps one of the finest collabarations of two bands reached the nadir of perfection and was celebrated on a BBC 4 documentary. South London soul funksters Beggar and Company had quickly slipped in and out of our attentions as there Somebody Help Me Out single whizzed in and out of the Top 40.

Were the Kemp brothers going to miss this? Not a chance. Fushioning Beggar and Co and The Spands the ominous masterpiece Chant No.1 (I don't need this pressure on) smashed in to No.4 with it's haunting rhythm and brass section seranaded by the eerie cover art. Now i loved Too Cut a Long Story, The Freeze (still trying to work that one out 32 years on) etc but this was the pinnacle.

It got better and more of the same yet Paint Me Down was disrespected and fell out at No.35. It is one of the greatest songs Spandau did and they knew it and so did i and a few other people too yet it remains one of musics great injustices.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2001
This CD contains the best tracks that Spandau Ballet recorded.It starts with one of the most well known tracks "Gold", and finished with what i would call,the best track of them all, "Through the Barricades"."Gold" is a very strong, lively song to begin the album with."Through the Barricades" has such a strong feeling to it, which touches the heart, and soul.An absolutely beautiful song,to end such a fantastic album with.All in all this is the best CD I own.Well worth buying!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
Superb collection of 17 hits from 1980-1986. All the fan favourites are there : 'True', 'Gold' and the gorgeous 'Through The Barricades' as well as the classy 'Only When You Leave' and 'Round And Round'. This is a great nostalgia trip, proving that Gary Kemp was one of the best songwriters of the 1980s and Tony Hadley was a cracking vocalist in his prime. This is definitely well worth adding to your collection of 'guilty pleasures'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2000
Obviously I can't fault the songs on this album coz they've chosen their best but..... if you do a Search for Spandau albums you'll see at least two other collections of Greatest Hits, I'm off to buy up one of these instead (quids cheaper with the same songs on!)
See ya
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2002
Like Duran Duran, Spandau Ballet recorded an inovative New Wave debut album, which successfuly blended guitars and synths in a manor which made Ultravox a household name and has rarely been done since. Both bands soon eschewed this sound for something altogether more commercial. However, while Duran wisely choose to spend the rest of the early eighties as a fun bubblegum pop/rock group, Spandau reinvented themselves as slightly dull stadium-filling balladeers, the turning point being when Norman switched from guitar/miscellanious to saxophone).
The analogue synth-driven sound of "Journey's to Glory" does slap a "79-81" date on it, but seeing as it was the newest most exciting thing around at the time it remains enjoyable. In twenty years nothing has come along which sounds like "Reformation" or hit single "The Freeze" (included here). The other singles TCALSS and "Musclebound" are raw but catchy and brilliant: "Virginia Plain" and "Pyjamarama" for new romantics.
Second album "Diamond" was a bit more funky (and slightly dirgey!), with less synths and guitars and more bass/precussion but overall caried on from the first album in a satisfactory manor for 1982. Included here is the famous "Chant No. 1" and the near flops "Paint Me Down" and "She Loved Like Diamond"
The Trevor Horn Remix/Overdub of "Instinction" is brilliant: Roxy Music meets Haircut 100. The single mixes an ingeneous presenter with an already decent song and is one of Spandau's best moments.
Good as it was, "Instinction" pointed towards the pure pop of most of Spandau's future career. "True" the album is best represented by the title track; it consists mostly of lovesongs, and though the writting is undoubtbly a step up from before, it wont be enjoyed by fans of the earlier stuff. The "Instinction" rewrite "Lifeline" is fun though, as is (though I hate to admit it) "Gold"(except the bloody sax solo!)
"Parade" may as well have been called "Mediocre". My favourite single is the least well-known, "Round and Round" has a nice synth sound and would be the kind of ballad they would have written for the 1st album (musically not lyrically). The other singles are trite though some love "Only when you leave"
"Through the Baricades" was a brave, but ultimately unsatisfying album, though the right tracks were choosen as singles. "Fight for Ourselves" is standad stad-rock fare, the title track is too twee and air(brushed/headed) for my tastes but has obvious mass appeal. Third single "How Many Lies" is not included to the dissapointment of no one.
Last album (to date) "Heart Like a Sky" (1989) couldn't break even the top thirty, is not represented here, and is truly worth skipping over.
Overall this album handily charts the decline of a once creative band. Of course many will be looking for "True", "Gold", "Only When You Leave" and "Through The Barricades". If you are get this or a similar compilation, it will give you all you want. If your looking for music in the style of "To Cut A Long Story Short" or "Chant No. 1" get the first two albums. In all honesty I can probably recommend waiting for the tripple CD "Retrospective" "Reformation" out September 2002 which promises to be more ballanced and interesting.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
A classic of the era, before the manufactured boy bands moved in! Must-have additon to anyone's 1980s music.
Merchant very good, no problems in time of delivery or quality of product
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)