Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
56
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 February 2004
This collection pulls together all the Animals recordings made with producer Mickie Most, and with keyboardist Alan Price on-board. It shows the breadth of the Animals repetoire and, because it includes just about everything they recorded, it's limits too. Highlights are the ever-wonderful songs like House of the Rising Son, Bring it on Home to Me, Worried Life Blues et al. This collection also includes some fine rarities like the extended version of Talking About You, where Price really wigs out in his long organ solo. The poorer tracks like F.E.E.L. and I'm in Love Again are only poor because they sound so much like other songs on the collection (Talking About You and Take it Easy, respectively). But how far can you take a basic 12 bar blues or r'n'b song? In this *classic* 41 track collection, the Animals certainly show us!
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Excellent, overview of the Mickie Most involvement era. Easy to forget Eric Burdons searing, intensive vocal style allied with Alan Prices occasionally weedy organ sound. Burdon gave me the creeps when I first saw him doing, House of the Rising Sun waaaayyy back then. The hits n copious stuff are present and Mostly correct! A must buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
i thought this was a great buy love all the songs so far been listening to this all the time love it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
After nearly 25 years of CD reissues The Animals back catalogue still frustrates - especially when it comes to price and sound. There are other reissues that offer more for sure (and man do some of them cost), but none that do the job so thoroughly as this early 2CD retrospective from EMI. It covers the Newcastle R'n'B band's rocking beginnings with EMI's Columbia Records (MGM in the USA) between 1964 and 1965 - Production by Mickie Most. It used the NoNoise Sonic Solutions process for remasters and achieved great results too. Here is a detailed show of what's on offer (with a Discography)...

UK released July 1990 - "The Complete Animals" is a 2CD set on EMI Records CD EM 1367 (Barcode 0077779461325) breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 (65:36 minutes):
1. Boom Boom
2. Talkin' 'Bout You (Full Version - see Singles No.2 below)
3. Blue Feeling (Previously Unreleased In The UK)
4. Dimples
5. Baby Let Me Take You Home
6. Gonna Send You Back To Walker
7. Baby What's Wrong (Previously Unreleased)
8. The House Of The Rising Sun
9. F-E-E-L (Previously Unreleased)
10. I'm Mad Again
11. The Right Time
12. Around And Around
13. I'm In Love Again
14. Bury My Body
15. She Said Yeah
16. I'm Crying
17. Take It Easy
18. The Story Of Bo Diddley
19. The Girl Can't Help It
20. I've Been Around

Disc 2 (60:14 minutes):
1. Memphis Tennessee
2. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
3. Club-A-Gogo
4. Roadrunner
5. Hallelujah I Love Her So
6. Don't Want Much (Previously Unreleased)
7. I Believe To My Soul
8. Let The Good Times Roll
9. Mess Around
10. How You've Changed
11. I Ain't Got You
12. Roberta
13. Bright Lights Big City
14. Worried Life Blues
15. Bring It On Home To Me
16. For Miss Caulker
17. I Can't Believe It
18. We've Gotta Get Out Of This Place
19. It's My Life
20. I'm Going To Change The World

Outside of the FOUR tracks noted in the lists above as being 'Previously Unreleased' - the remainder of the 36 songs on this 2CD set will allow fans to digitally line up THE ANIMALS years with Columbia Records in the UK and MGM Records in the USA between 1964 and 1965 - non-album singles and both of their UK albums complete. You can sequence them as follows [17/1 = Track 17 on Disc 1, 2/2 = Track 2 on Disc 2 etc]:

SINGLES:
1. Baby Let Me Take You Home [4/1] b/w Gonna Send You Back To Walker [6/1] - April 1964 UK 7" on Columbia DB 7247 and September 1964 USA 7" on MGM K 13242.
Note: USA had "Gonna Send You Back To Walker" as the A with "Baby..." on the B.

2. The House Of The Rising Sun [8/1] b/w Talkin' 'Bout You [2/1] - June 1964 UK 7" on Columbia DB 7301 and July 1964 USA 7" on MGM K 13264.
Note: the single mix of "Talkin' 'Bout You" runs to less than 2 minutes; this CD provides the 'Full Version' at over seven minutes.

3. I'm Crying [16/1] b/w Take It Easy [17/1] - September 1964 UK 7" on Columbia DB 7354 and October 1964 USA 7" on MGM K 13274.

4. Boom Boom [1/1] b/w Blue Feeling [3/1] - November 1964 USA 7" MGM Records K 13298 [No UK release]

5. Don't Let Me Misunderstood [2/2] b/w Club A-Gogo [3/2] - January 1965 UK 7" single on Columbia DB 7445 and February 1965 USA 7" on MGM K 13311

6. Bring It On Home To Me [15/2] b/w For Miss Caulker [16/2] - April 1965 UK 7" on Columbia DB 7539 and May 1965 USA 7" on MGM K 13339

7. We've Gotta Get Out Of This Place [18/2] b/w I Can't Believe It [17/2] - July 1965 UK 7" on Columbia DB 7741 and August 1965 USA 7" on MGM K 13382

8. It's My Life [19/2] b/w I'm Gonna Change The World [20/2] - October 1965 UK 7" on Columbia DB 7741 and November 1965 USA 7" on MGM K 13414

ALBUMS:
"The Animals", October 1964 UK LP on Columbia 33SX 1669
Side 1.
1. Story Of Bo Diddley [18/1]
2. Bury My Body [14/1]
3. Dimples [4/1]
4. I've Been Around [20/1]
5. I'm In Love Again [13/1]
6. The Girl Can't Help It [19/1]
Side 2:
1. I'm Mad Again [10/1]
2. She Said Yeah [15/1]
3. The Right Time [11/1]
4. Memphis [1/2]
5. Boom Boom [1/1]
6. Around And Around [12/1]

"Animal Tracks", May 1965 UK LP on Columbia 33SX 1708
Side 1:
1. Mess Around [9/2]
2. How You've Changed [10/2]
3. Hallelujah I Love Her So [5/2]
4. I Believe To My Soul [7/2]
5. Worried Life Blues [14/2]
6. Roberta [12/2]
Side 2:
1. I Ain't Got You [11/2]
2. Bright Lights Big City [13/2]
3. Let The Good Times Roll [8/2]
4. For Miss Caulker [16/2]
5. Roadrunner [4/2]

The piddly 8-page inlay is a strangely disorganised affair even by today's standards. The tracks are listed across two pages with no discography info (you can't work out what track is on what) - Disc 2 is typed over Disc 1 in error and worse there's a Track 21 listed on the rear sleeve for Disc 2 (not in the booklet) called "New Year Radio Spot" but it never turns up! But it has to be said that Brian Hogg's densely packed essay (a deep appraisal of the band) is great - as are the three colour photos depicting sheet music and magazine covers with a broody Eric Burdon giving his best cowboy stare. Outside of the NoNoise Logo and explanation on the rear of the double jewel case as to the process (removing hiss from tapes) - it doesn't say who did what or where -but the sonic results are great - packing real punch and clarity. What's missing of course is the natural air surrounding the recordings - breathing like they did on those original vinyl records - so some might find the cleanliness a little 'too' sterile in places.

Musically the Blues, R'n'B and Rock 'n' Roll Heroes of John Lee Hooker, Ray Charles and Chuck Berry loom large over every tune with a smattering of Jimmy Reed and even Louis Jordan. The American only B-side of "Blue Feeling" is a welcome inclusion as is the hopping R'n'B of the shockingly good Previously Unreleased "F-E-E-L" and "Don't Want Much". Great album tracks include "Bury My Body" and the very Stones Blues of "I'm Mad Again" where Alan Price's wicked organ runs sound like the Doors a year before they happened. "Roberta" is great Sixties Rock 'n' Roll and I still get a kick out of that bass intro to "We've Gotta Get Out Of This Place". Another nugget is their take on Chet Attkins "It's My Life" which they instill with a kicking Kinks guitar-vibe (lyrics above).

Their stay at Decca for "Animalisms" and "Animalization" in 1966 is the subject of other CD reissues. But if you want to know why Them and The Animals elicited such homegrown excitement in the UK - then this is a sonically cool/slightly flawed place to start...
22 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
It's a good record of what the Animals brought into the musical arena
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
great item and on vinyl cant get much better than the complete 3 lp set
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2016
Loadsa fun listening to this - brought back many memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2016
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2003
Although now eclipsed by the likes of The Rolling Stones, Cream and The Yardbirds, there is a case to be made for the Animals as the best of the Sixties British Power Blues bands. Like those other groups, the Animals took originals by the likes of John Lee Hooker and Chuck Berry and amped them up to deliver songs of a strong, raw emotional content backed by deep bass chords and a fervent lead guitar/vocal combination.
Where The Animals score over many British groups of the Sixties, however, is in the dual strength of Eric Burden’s powerful yet soulful voice and Alan Price’s flourishing keyboard playing. The former is heard to great effect on songs like Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood, in which Burden expounds an anguish that hits you at gut level, and the truly magnificent I Believe To My Soul which shows that he was really one of our greatest Blues voices; he screams and pleads as if, as the title suggests, it’s from his very soul. Price’s contribution, especially on the organ, makes songs like House of the Rising Sun and Worried Life Blues near masterpieces of British sixties soul/blues.
Where The Animals failed was in their inability to go the next step from a group referencing Blues classics to one able to put their own spin on the genre and create original work. The Rolling Stones did it, Cream did it and The Yardbirds did it in the form of Led Zeppelin. It’s a pity that The Animals couldn’t produce many self-penned songs because they had the credentials to be as good as anything else out there.
If you want an introduction to The Animals, this is probably the best you can get. It contains all their best tracks as well as some previously unreleased ones. The fact that they were a group who never quite managed to head in their own direction is evident in the sameness of much of the two CDs, but it’s still excellent value for money. If you love Blues, try this; it’s a part of blues history.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)