Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
15
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 October 2002
The Dubliners formed in 1962 and this double cd-set features the first 4 albums that the band recorded for EMI between 1966 and 1969. All in all 56 essential tracks - digitally remastered - that brought Irish folk music to the masses and helped the band to establish themselves as THE Irish band. This is the original line-up - featuring Ronnie Drew and Luke Kelly - and the digital sound helps to appreciate the virtuosity of the playing and the charisma of the singing. "Whisky in the jar", "Nancy whiskey", "Roddy McCorley", "Galway races" and "The auld triangle" are only a few of the timeless classics featured here... timeless classics known to most people in their latest versions played by the Pogues, Thin Lizzy, Metallica, Shane MacGowan & the Popes... Well, that's how everything started. An absolute must have.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2017
What more can be said. This cd is fab. All the early stuff in one dose. Can't get better than this. Really all anyone could hope for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2017
fantastic bought this one to replace an old record
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2003
I had only previously listened to some pogues cds when i decided to seek out the real thing.
I was not disappointed. Well, there is a lot to take in here, with so many tracks but slowly i realised what an amazing set of songs there are on this cd.
Where do i start? Well, apart from the more obvious titles (to the non -fan anyway), there's Peggy Gordon, with a great vocal from Luke Kelly (I think..), there's Drink It Up Men, a tribute to "the black liquidation with the froth on the top", and The Parting Glass is a popular (to say the least) end of the night tune in Ireland, the version here is Ronny Drew typically craggy style.
Open your ears, open a bottle of the Ginger Lady (or Nancy Whiskey!) and enjoy.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2005
This is truly the Real Deal for Folk Music. Listen out for the late (and great)Luke Kelly's soaring voice on the amazing Ewan MaColl's "Bonnie Shoals of Herring" and also "I wish I was back in Liverpool". And, unless I am very much mistaken does Luke not lapse into Scouse brogue for part of the song? Invest in this now and crack open a pint bottle of the dark stuff!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2016
This compilation of Dubliners songs is a real gem. The two discs include all tracks from the first four albums the group recorded back in the 1960, all of them beautifully remastered. The sound quality is superb, doing full justice to the magnificent voices of these lads and making it a joy to listen especially to the less known songs, each and every word of the lyrics is crystal clear. And yet, the atmosphere of a 60s recording is not lost. Listening to these CDs felt like going back in time. Wonderful job! And a great value product - four albums in one box set. Highly recommended for any fan of the Dubliners or of Irish folk music in general.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2017
The Dubliners are in my BLOOD,i have listened to them everyday for 54 years and still never get fed up, there are some classic tunes and reels when the times were hard and the TROUBLES were raging.IRELAND will always belong to the IRISH no matter how hard the the TEDDY BEARS head try.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2012
This is such a fantastic bargain. Forget the soft core Irish folk rubbish, of which there is much. This is proper folk, properly sung and properly played by proper artists who meant what they sung. Luke Kelly's Working Class Hero is also wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
Most of the songs on this CD I had on some battered LP's that have not been played for years.Had almost forgotten how good this group were in their prime. Shoals of herring is the stand out for me. Musically fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
This is the Dubliners at their raw best,takes me back to when I used to watch them at the Starlight Club in Blackburn,great music at a great price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)