Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 August 2006
Bowie collaborated with the innovative producer Brian Eno on his trilogy of 'Low', 'Heroes' and 'Lodger' (Eno later went on to produce David's 1995 album 'Outside').

I have always loved this little gem of a Bowie album and it's one that often gets overlooked by the critics and some fans. It may not be as ground breaking as 'Low' or 'Heroes' or even 'Scary Monsters' that followed a year later, but it is still chock full of tunes, plus in it's own way, it is experimental, influential and even ground breaking, what with it's blend of New Wave and World Music. Think about it, firstly it's the Eastern influences that may have inspired bands like The Clash and The Pogues, for example 'Straight To Hell' (The Clash) and 'Summer In Siam' (The Pogues), which are not too far removed from 'D.J.' and 'Yassassin' in origin. Also Bowie got in there first before Paul Simon's 'Graceland' with splicing African Music to Pop/Rock.

There are so many highlights to recommend here. My favourites are: 'Fantastic Voyage', 'Yassassin', 'Red Sails', 'D.J.', 'Look Back In Anger', 'Boys Keep Swinging' and 'Repetition'. There you go, that's 75% taken care of, and as for the other 25%, well that's also blooming marvellous. One to add to the record collection.
1313 comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
Possibly Bowie's most under-rated album, this is full of gems including Fantastic Voyage and DJ, one of his best ever singles. Bridging the gap between Heroes and Scary Monsters, every home should have a copy of this.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2011
Many people write about how this album follows 'Low' and 'Heroes', or the (slightly misleading) Berlin Trilogy tag. What this music makes me think about is finding Bowie. Having bought Changestwobowie as a teenager around 1981/2 I started to buy his previous albums, Lodger was one of the first and remains a favorite. I loved the variety, the feeling that I was somewhere exotic (I never knew where the exotic was). My vinyl copy was getting so scratched that I needed a replacement and listening again made me feel excited about the music Bowie was making, with his usual keen eye at this time for musicians to realize the sound in his head. Lodger doesn't seem to fit in with the previous two albums, again maybe it's the variety of songs rather than the similar sounding themes that spread over Low and Heroes. Putting songs like African Night Flight, Move On then Yassassin together might seem like clumsy song order to some, but to my ears added to the strange journey around Europe/Africa/Berlin (delete or add as necessary). You can't beat an album that has the words 'cricket menace' to describe the contribution of a (non) musician.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
I've just come from Bowie's Facebook page, where you can vote for your favourite. It was easy! Lodger. No hesitation. It's the one that does the most creative Bowie thing best, which is to create rocky music that kicks ass at the same time as taking you to a strange and different place, leaving each song's proposition forever open to interpretation and reinterpretation. You will never (CAN never) be done with this one! It will stay with you unless you totally walk away from it (and I defy you to do that if you ever took Lodger on board in the first place)!

Faves within the fave:

Red Sails
African Night Flight
Look Back in Anger
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
Bowie's previous two albums, Low and Heroes, had mixed conventional songs with avant-garde instrumental outings. Lodger is more of a full-on rock album, with the experimental elements still present but subsumed into the overall musical mix. My personal favourites are Move On and Look Back In Anger, two gloriously propulsive tracks that combine punk energy with supremely skilful songwriting and virtuoso playing. Carlos Alomar's guitar on Look Back.. will have flames shooting out of your speakers. Brian Eno's involvement as producer and collaborator is clearly evident, nowhere more than on the first track, African Night Flight, which is virtually a catalogue of his sonic obsessions at the time. This Bowie album slots right in between Talking Heads' second and third albums, More Songs About Buildings and Food, and Fear of Music - also produced by Eno. Listen to them all back to back and you'll find they share a lot of elements in common. Plus they all rock like bastards!
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
As many a reviewer has stated: the Bowie album that gets overlooked. Gone are the instrumentals of 77;though groundbreaking are a bit hard going. Album kicks off with apparently the same chords that later appear on Boys keep swinging; namely Fantastic Voyage - a soft almost ballad like song warning of impending possible doom. A nod to Heroes perhaps? African Night flight next. Graceland on speed. Classic blend of rock and Africa and some Eno vocal. Move on is perhaps a bit weak with Belew's fade out low rate flange guitar a highlight. Yassasin. Bowie meets reggae in an intriguing diversification. The side ends with pirate rocky Red Sails. Nice guitar from Adrian Belew. DJ next slated as a single why? Great opening line" I'm home lost my home. Incurably I'll you think this is easy realism". Look back in Anger keeps us going to the album grand slams. Boys keep swinging and Repetition. The former sees the band switch; that video a sardonic lyric and the racket Frippesque outro solo. Treatments violins a great hook and a nod to Scary monsters. A stunner that bombed in the charts after the Bowie drag video bit a masterpiece. Speaking of which after the fade out over some rudimentary drum fill by Carlos Alomar we have the slurred bass intro A to B of repetition and Bowie's dark but brilliant song about hatdvluck Johnny and his hard done by life and penchant for hitting his wife as she isn't Ann in the blue silk blouse. Bowie is detached: a helpless narrator who speaks Don't hit her. The guitars and instrument add ons make this a classic. Just ask the Au Pairs. If written by Dylan this would be raved over.
Finally sister moonlight sorry Red Money. Interesting remake with altered lyrics. Musically fits in with the last of the Berlin trilogy's overlooked last classic album. OK I've raved most about the 2 stand outs but musically this was a long way ahead of the competition in 79. Please don't ignore a Bowie gem even if the cover is yet another Man who fell to Earth shot!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 October 2003
This , the last of the Berlin albums ,takes a major departure from the electronic atmospherics of Low and Heroes and is an eclectic mixture of dance, funk and pop with african and oriental influences prevalent . It is definitely a "grower" - I didnt like it on the first few listens - but once you accept that it is not another Low , then you can enjoy Lodger in its own right. Lodger is full of great songs - Move On , Look Back in Anger and Boys Keep Swinging ,with its fantastic bass line, are probably the best. I guess at the time of its release this album would have been a disappointment to the fans and critics -it is not as good as Low and doesnt contain a song as startling as Heroes- but it has aged well , is very tuneful and I think it is a little gem.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2004
I am very pleased to confirm the general impression on these pages that Lodger is a much better album than is widely believed. The opener, 'Fantastic Voyage' is among Bowie's best ever, and will have you singing along merrily, and what true Bowie fan hasn't strutted around like a nutter to Boys Keep Swinging?' 'Repetition' is a grim but infectious view of Suburban America. A few of the tracks might grate abit, Yassassin', for example, though repeated listening brings rewards. A must for any committed Bowie fan.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2001
i told a friend of mine - a fellow musician and songwriter - that most bowie fans didn't like this album. i'd introduced him to bowie and this album some 6 months before. he replied; "but that's not real bowie fans". and i must agree. this is pure bowie. pure complex and daring lyrics as well as musically daring composition and innovative orchestrations.
this is an absolutely brilliant album, but also one of bowie's most challenging. none of the songs are as catchy as any on ziggy or as soulesque as stationtostation, and that may be hard for some fans to swallow. but when you let this liberating album grow on you, it proves to be a revelation more complex than most. and isn't that what bowie's all about, more than "let's dance"?
i still consider low to be the best berlin album, but this is surely one of the best albums of the 70s. incredibly demanding of it's listener, with no quick hook lines or flashy productions, this is post modernism at it's best.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
much prefer this over many bowie albums. end to end genius. you are the temporary lodger travelling hither and yon on red sails
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)