Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
17
The Buster Keaton Chronicles [Repackaged] [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£13.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 27 April 2016
Good value, arrived on time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2017
Still laughing just thinking about these films .......and the superb value!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2014
A complete collection of the master Buster Keaton at a great price. For me he's still funny unlike Chaplin who I admire, but feel has suffered over time. Buster Keaton however is still hysterical.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2014
the very thing for Keaton fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2008
Do not let word get out you've got this boxset if you know more people than will fit in front of your telly. It could lead to arguments, violence, or trampling among your friends + relations. Also, you could end up feeling that they only want you for you DVDs, which is a bit depressing.
Seriously - As a few other reveiws have said, some of the films are in quite bad condition; but none are unwatchable, + most are very clear. Other than that, there's really nothing not to love about this collection. No endless mazes of menu screens, no superfluous commentaries + cutting-room sweepings that you'll never get round to watching taking up valuable disc space, even the scene select function has been put to good use.
Oh yes, + all those films are worth a look, as well. As you're probably aware. + Buster Keaton himself was a very talented, creative, + (dare I say it) pretty individual who I could write a whole essay on, but for this 1000 character limit. + there's lots of funny little old cars + hats + telephones + things, which I also find facinating. But perhaps it's just me, no-one else has mentioned it.
+ £18 for 6 discs of historically informative entertainment is... fantastic.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2011
This dvd set is just fine. To be honest, the copies are not the best. I have already bought the complete collection of Buster's short films and I have to say that those copies do not look very well. Anyways, the feature films have not published in another dvd (at least in Europe) so that is a good reason to buy that dvd. In my opinion, the music score is not very nice. I just do not like it (it is a personal matter - you might like it), I think it is very depressive. Buster Keaton's films are not depressive at all, but this score makes them a little bit depressive. The price is very good for what you get.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2013
Just read the Buster Keaton biography-Had to see all the films mentioned and here they were in one great package.
.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2014
great collection, great price but not original music, featuring electric guitars at some point...... it says performed by some orchestra but really doesnt work for me and changes the picture too much
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 March 2009
Network's 6-disc set The Buster Keaton Chronicles is pretty much the closest thing available in the UK to The Art of Buster Keaton boxed set from the US. It offers an excellent selection of Keaton's silent features and shorts in one package, but the quality is highly inconsistent from film to film. Some of the shorts aren't complete - The Boat runs 22 minutes as opposed to the 27-minute version on Eureka's Steamboat Bill Jr. - and some, like College, are very poor prints from the Rohauer Collection, complete with new titles and replacement captions (often with different text, which enabled him to renew the copyright). The features aren't immune from this problem either: the transfer of College is the worst on the market. In many cases the transfers from Eureka and Stonevision are better even when taken from the same master material. But on the plus side it does include The Navigator, which currently isn't widely available, as well as the lovingly restored Thames Silents version of The General and Keaton's funniest feature Our Hospitality. So, while it's far from a definitive edition, there's still enough here to warrant picking up but don't be surprised if you find yourself seeking out better transfers of some of the films.

As for the films themselves, most of Keaton's greatest moments are here: the house stuck on the railway track in One Week, the vintage train ride in Our Hospitality where he's followed the whole way by a trotting dog, the breathless montage that sees him jump from one location to another as the film he's found himself trapped in constantly changes scene in Sherlock Jr, being chased by dozens of brides - and boulders - in Seven Chances, the accidental decathlon he completes trying to save his sweetheart from a fate worse than death in College, and the still amazing stunt where the side of a house falls down around him in a storm in Steamboat Bill Jr. There are unexpected moments too, such as the scene where he discovers his wife cheating on him in The Frozen North, which has a payoff you'd never expect from Keaton. Of the 11 features - The Three Ages, Our Hospitality, Sherlock Jr., The Navigator, Seven Chances, Go West, The General, College and Steamboat Bill Jr. - only The Saphead and Battling Butler disappoint, but even they have just enough moments in the last reel to make them worth a watch.

Sadly, unlike the Art of Buster Keaton set, there are only a couple of extras - a booklet and the 1968 feature-length documentary The Great Stoneface, so it's worth picking up Network's DVD of the three-part documentary Buster Keaton: A Hard Act to Follow as well.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2006
I bought this Keaton set expecting the prints too be poor, because f the very low price. I was very wrong. About half of the films in this collection appear to be from "The Art of Buster Keaton" that costs $200 in America.

This 6-DVD set includes almost all of Keatons finest films (it misses the High Sign and Hard Luck) including the Saphead. The best features in this set are the General, College, Our Hospitality, the Navigator and the Saphead. The two best shorts are probably Neighbours and the Love Nest.

Most of the features in the collection are in excellent condition, apart from College and the Tree Ages, both of which are from the Rohauer Collection and suffer from focus and contrast problems. The General and Our Hospitality are the Thames Silent versions that are beginning to look dated (but still have the brilliant Carl Davis scores).

Most of the music is very good especially the jazzy Sherlock Jr. score.

The shorts in this collection generally look OK, but many of the films do not fill the screen or are not really restored. Once again the prints from the Rohauer collection are quite poor.

The only extra is a 1968 documentary, "The Great Stone Face" which does not offer much but contains most of Fatty at Coney island. Overall a very good set.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)