Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



VINE VOICEHALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 26 March 2018
For those of us who can't afford or won't pay the price for the now deleted and suddenly extortionate "40th Anniversary Edition" BOX SET from 6 Nov 2012 - there's now this simpler yet beautifully presented June 2015 single-CD reissue of Tull’s 1972 epic "Thick As A Brick". It comes resplendent with 'The 2012 Steven Wilson Stereo Remix' and a big old chunky 24-page booklet. And at under six quid – isn't a rip-off either.

Riding on the shirt tales of 1971's hugely popular "Aqualung" and although heavyweights like Lester Bangs mauled the new 1972 album - Tull's "Thick As A Brick" took the charts by storm on both sides of the Atlantic (especially America) – No. 5 in the UK and an astonishing No. 1 in the USA. Speaking of critically controversial yet commercially successful records - when you think that Yes then put a triple-live-set “Yessongs” and a double-studio album of four full-length sides "Tales From Topographic Oceans" ‘both’ at Number 1 in Blighty in May and December of 1973 – 1972 and 1973 really were the Progressive Rock years - whether the Press liked it or not. We (Joe Public) certainly did.

But in the cold light of 2018 – does a 44-minute piece of Rock Music from 1972 still stand up (if you’ll forgive the pun)? Well with this sparkly new sprinkle of remaster fairy dust from the Wilson Prog-meister – you'd have to say that Little Milton's Girl Pregnancy Row is in fine fettle. Let's unfold the newspaper and find out if an 'On-Form Eileen' really has 'pulled them out'...

UK released 29 June 2015 - "Thick As A Brick: The Steven Wilson 2012 Stereo Remix" by JETHRO TULL on Chrysalis 0825646146468 (Barcode 0825646146468) is a straightforward 2-Track Single CD Reissue of the 1973 album that plays out as follows (43:44 minutes):

1. Thick As A Brick (Part 1) [Side 1] – 22:39 minutes
2. Thick As A Brick (Part 2) [Side 2] – 21:05 minutes
Tracks 1 and 2 are their fifth studio album "Thick As A Brick" - released 10 March 1972 in the UK on Chrysalis CHR 1003 and 10 May 1972 in the USA on Reprise MS 2072. Written and Produced by IAN ANDERSON - the album peaked at No. 5 in the UK and No.1 in the USA.

JETHRO TULL was:
IAN ANDERSON - Lead Vocals. Flute, Acoustic Guitar, Violin, Saxophone and Trumpet
MARTIN BARRE - Electric Guitar and Lute
JOHN EVAN – Organ, Piano and Harpsichord
JEFFREY HAMMOND-HAMMOND - Bass and Vocals
BARRIMORE BARLOW - Drums, Timpani and Percussion
David Palmer arranged the String Section towards the End of Side 2

The 7 Jan 1972 foldout newspaper sleeve gimmick of the original vinyl album supposedly penned by an 8-year old child prodigy called Gerald Bostock (smug winner of a school poetry competition) is discussed in the booklet. The entire 12-page edition legendarily took longer to create than the album to record and came complete with a crossword, fake advertisements, bowling and fishing news etc - all written tongue-in-cheek by band members Ian Anderson, Jeffrey Hammond and John Evan (if you want the entire contents of the 'St. Cleve Chronicle & Linwell Advertiser' edition you can access it at jethrotull.com/taab-booklet). The 'Late Extra' square that was used to announce the contents of the new CD Remaster has rightly been replaced with the original 'UFO Sighting Sensation' paragraphs to the right of the album sleeve in the new booklet (although the JETHRO TULL Title is gone for some reason). Judges disqualify Little Milton In Last Minute Rumpus...it's all there.

DOM LAWSON has his ‘Full Story?’ liner notes for the 2012 '40th Anniversary Edition' Box set reproduced and original album Engineer ROBIN BLACK has Page 22 on the intricacies of the recording – speed mistakes on the tapes that had to be fixed and mentions GEORGE PECKHAM who mastered the album at Apple Studios in January 1972. The lads in trench-coats looking slightly seedy, then bare-chested in a hotel room with some semi-naked lassie on the phone (what was that about) and one of Ian giving it his one-legged pose as he plays live. It's comprehensive stuff - although funny enough this would be one occasion when I feel the booklet would have benefitted from the lyrics - but they're available online. The CD colouring reflects the original British Chrysalis Records label and there's a set of band-member photos from the period beneath the see-through CD tray.

But the big news over previous editions is the new 2012 STEVE WILSON Remix and Remaster which is beautifully clear and full of life (none of your 'Special Edition' edits on this reissue). The Clarity is obvious and like his work on 1971's "Aqualung" Wilson seems to have removed a haze from the original sound that was muddying up the listen. Around 10:55 when JT start that Organ vs. Saxophone passage - the kick is fantastic and it's like that throughout. To the music...

When that keyboard Prog March starts at about 11:50 – I'm transported back to Genesis and all things Charisma. I keep expecting Peter Gabriel to start singing about Giant Hogweeds or Cuckoo Cocoons. There’s no doubting the wallop of the Remaster. And as they get towards your comic-book idols bending the rules (about 18:10) – the Audio is gorgeous and the music returned to a variant of that lovely Acoustic Guitar melody that opens the Side (cut as a 7" single edit in the USA). Huge keyboard notes and guitar chops fade out Side 1 and again wonderfully clear as they echo those notes and heartbeats see the Side out. Side 2 opens with the 'teach him to be a wise man' portion - rapid Prog Rock at its most expressive - stunning drumming from Barlow as he lets rip. The 'overwhelming response' and 'all fluffy' voices flit from speaker to speaker as Tull go all King Crimson on us before returning to that fabulous Anderson Acoustic guitar. I take my place with the lord of the hills - he sings - the music returning in some ways to "Aqualung" and its most melodic moments. And again the Audio is storming as the Electric Guitar gives way to Acoustic at 5:35 minutes. By the time we get to 6:45 (light the sun) - we're into a full-on acoustic instrument exploration complete with Harpsichord flourishes. The pavements are empty, the gutters are full - Tull tell us as they do March of the Lemmings come 14:30. Where the hell is Biggles when you need him lyrics bring the wild Prog flourishes to an end with a few David Palmer string moments and that Acoustic melody - wise men don't know how it feels - well they do now.

For sure the whole shebang requires some serious commitment on the part of a listener - especially the denser parts of Side 2 - but "Thick As A Brick" is also musically adventurous in a way that much new music isn't.

Taking our bow and quoting the witticisms of the rear sleeve - do you want to be part of the 'Chrysalis and Bostock Firm Foundation Deal' for pre-teen enlightenment and listen to forty-four minutes of complicated Rock (all royalties go to this cause you know and not Ian’s pocket or his wife's Maserati). Well of course you do...
review imagereview imagereview image
33 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 July 2010
Well everyone else was doing concept albums so JT decided they should too. According to the interview provided with the CD, IA made this up as they recorded it which just goes to show what he could do under pressure. In the latter years of JT it took five years between CDs to produce bland garbage. Ian Anderson's perception of an album often seems coloured by how hard he worked on it so he probably doesn't like this as much as his fans but for many of us this is surreal genius. Despite the music being produced on the hoof it also sounds very cohesive.

As for what the lyrics are all about I would venture that the opening verses describe the state of society and IA's inability to do much about it "my word's but a whisper, your deafness a shout". There is a lot of imagery of the ongoing battles and class divisions summed up by "And your wise man don't know how it feels, to be thick as a brick". The song then goes off into the past to let history tell the story of why things are as they are: basically we're conditioned to fight for everything from an early age and when we do achieve some status we use it to impose our rules on people we don't understand (much as adults do to us when we're children). The flights of fantasy in the latter stages of parts 1 and 2 deal with the romantic view people have of their own actions and the reality of the lack of support that they'll really get from others "so where the hell was Biggles when you needed him last Saturday". People aren't heroes, they are mainly greedy, lazy and selfish.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2012
Having recently been to see Ian Anderson live, performing T A A B and T A A B 2 it made me realise that I had not listened to Thick as a Brick since I stopped using my record player 10 years ago. I bought both Thick as a Brick albums together and on listening to the original one, discovered that the entire album came back to mind immediately and had me singing along embarrassingly in my living room! Although I do not consider it to be one of Jethro Tull's absolute classics, it is however a cracking album. Those of you who had the original vinyl album, may remember the fantastic larger than LP size foldout newspaper which formed the sleeve, this is faithfully replicated in the CD sleeve, but my ageing eyes find it almost impossible to read the minute print.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2014
Jethro Tull's 5th studio album is an ambitious project; a 1 piece suite that was originally split over 2 sides on the vinyl LP of 1972 and lasting nearly 44 minutes long. This is full-blooded progressive rock and not for the faint-hearted with long instrumental passages (furious guitar, keyboard and flute solos) and rapid-fire (often humorous) lyrics delivered by the masterful Ian Anderson. The follow-up album 'A Passion Play' enters the same territory as 'Brick' in that both are very long and have a central theme running through them i.e if you like one you'll probably like the other. This is a classic that all Tull fans need to purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2018
I have been intending getting this for ages but every time I was ordering CD's kept forgetting about it, just like Minstrel in the Gallery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2013
I had this album on vinyl and never got round to replacing it with a CD. Thick As A Brick is of course a classic album from Jethro Tull, progressive music at it's best. I loved this album when it first came out and I still do today. Jethro Tull are a unique band and the music on Thick As A Brick is no less unique. Brilliantly written and played,this is a musical masterpiece from 1972.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2018
This remaster has brought this classic album to life, this is how it should always have sounded.
I have the original vinyl and a 30th Anniversary CD, but this is far superior.
If you love Tull you must buy this, you will not be disappointed.
Thank you Mr Wilson.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Always loved this album... you have to listen to it several times to appreciate the musical skill and complexity behind the tongue-in-cheek lyrical concept.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2017
I owned this on vinyl, don't really know why I have waited so long to reacquaint myself with such an excellent album
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2016
I LOVE THIS ALBUM,I STILL HAVE MY VINYL VERSION OF THIS WHICH I BOUGHT IN THE 1980S..BOUGHT IT AGAIN TO LISTEN IN THE CAR AT FULL VOLUME...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)