Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
99
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 January 2011
Robin Trower took a lot of stick in the 70s as a so called Hendrix clone - I even remember getting a dozy letter published in the hallowed(?) Melody Maker in 1975, fighting his corner, bless - but he was always much better than that. After a 40 year plus career - he first made his mark with Procol Harum - this album remains his high water mark. Blasting off with Day of the Eagle (still a staple he plays in his live sets to this day), it moves through the moody title track to the wistful In This Place, where RT duels with bassist Jim Dewar's outstanding bluesy vocals (what an underrated and classy singer he was). Too Rolling Stoned (another perennial live classic) is the worthy centrepiece of the album, leading into a sensational finish with Lady Love (melodic, almost singles material, perish the thought!) and Little Bit of Sympathy, a suitably raucous album closer. Trower's fretwork is about feel, not flash, and his solos are from the heart. There's no risk in buying this one - and make sure you catch him live whilst you can. Essential listening.
33 Comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
The best album Robin Trower has made to date. Great remastered production. And the Bonus tracks are a real bonus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2009
This album is a classic. Trower's keening and exhuberant guitar work defines the proceedings. There are powerful vocals and relentless driving bass and drums. Stand out track is Too Rolling Stoned". The opening section is full tilt raunch with big skirling chords. This segues into a long blues-drenched closing sequence dominated by field holler guitar phrases. All of the remaining tracks motor along to good effect with some great rock playing. This release is augmented by an interesting selection of recordings made for the John Peel radio show.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I`ll keep it short,this is one of the best albums that has ever been recorded(Twice Removed from Yesterday being a close second). I'm writing this review for those who have not discovered the wonders of ' MR TROWER ', and to shake a fist at the doubters out there[and there are many], that call him a "poor man`s Hendrix", listen without prejudice, and learn.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2007
Bridge of Sighs is probably Robin Trower's most consistent album originally released in '74. Blues, funk and a heavy Hendrix influence featuring James Dewars rich vocals. The bonus tracks are from BBC sessions from John Peel and have livened the studio versions from this album and the later release For Earth Below. Well worth updating previous CD releases and a good place to start for the uninitiated.
0Comment| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
Great album but noise on record between tracks is the worst I've ever heard on a new album. Not expected from an audiophile quality pressing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2009
Not only a great album thats consistantly good but even the bonus tracks (which are often fairly duff) are excellent.
Really tastefull chilled bluesy stuff.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
Certainly the best Robin Trower album in every respect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2011
I heard this album when it first came out and never bought it! I have now downloaded the MP3 version and will never tire of Robin Trower`s superb guitar playing. I loved Hendrix and this man just seemed to take a version of Hendrix a stage further. His songs are melodic, not too brash and easy to listen to. I shall be adding to my collection most of his other albums as this is one sound I can`t get enough of! This album in particular does not have one bad track on it in my opinion and I can`t resist playing it over and over again. This was and is true musicianship taking control. Excellent album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
Some good tracks.
Had it on vinyl and liked it enough to repalce it with a CD eventually (after about ten years).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)