Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
48
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Jamie T's edgy debut album 'Panic Prevention', named after of the panic attacks he suffered when he was younger (now I am able to relate to this), has to ability to relive some of the 'panic' for me every time I play it, so the title is most apt in at least two ways. Jamie is a talented guy who sure knows how to make fun indie-rock music, in the same style of the Arctic Monkeys, the Libertines, and newer bands such as Peace, and Catfish and the Bottlemen.

I bought 'Panic Prevention' at the time, in early 2007, on the strength of the hit singles 'Sheila', 'If You've Got the Money' and 'Calm Down Dearest', all great tunes, but the rest of the album didn't let me down either. 'Brand New Bass Guitar' is the perfect opener, and 'Back in the Game' is my hands down favourite Jamie T song here.

With witty lyrics, consistent 'street' slang, and quirky yet serious songs about normal life experiences that are so relatable to the listener, not to mention the way this lad sings them in such a down-to-earth way, this is music that I can play over again, and it still sounds fresh and exciting. It's a unique sound certainly, and a brilliant, accomplished album from a true musician. Jamie T's strong South London accent on each of these tracks, laddish charm, as well as the short, witty, expletive comments he makes afterwards, only helps to make 'Panic Prevention' sound even better.

Well done Jamie, who clearly hasn't let his illness grain him down, and prevent him from making such good music.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2007
Its not often that an album comes along that you can listen to over and over again. Arctic monkeys done it with whatever you say i am and now jamie t has done it with panic prevention. His voice, lyrics and beats tie together all that we know from being young and in London. Every song is great and can be listened to over and over again, my personal favourites being dry off your cheeks and so lonely was the ballad.

Panic prevention is a must buy for 2007, can't imagine another album being any better, the album leaves you begging for more. jamie is amazing live and panic prevention seems to capture this spirit, seems like it has just been put together by jamie in his bedroom but sound so so so good that you can tell its a master at work. Will become a classic!!!! Snap one up now and lets make this 21 yr old huge!!!!

*** dont think it is right to keep comparing him to mike skinner there are a few similarities but not many, jamie has tied together all types of music, and should be congratulated for this.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
I didn't get this CD! I received a placebo CD!
review image
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2007
The highly-anticipated debut album from one Jamie Treays lives up to the hype as he produces a style that is entirely unique to him. This album is bound to draw comparisons to The Streets but Jamie manages to sound similar but also expand and experiment with music more than Mike Skinner was able to do on his first album. To pigeon hole Jamie into a category with The Streets would be wrong as his style of music is extraordinary: a mix of ska-punk, hip-hop and a little drum n bass, throw in his lyrics and you get a hugely successful album. However there is so much more to come from Jamie and I am disappointed that some songs didn't make it onto the album such as 'Livin With Betty' and 'New England'.

This album is fantastic and includes a huge variety of songs like the instantly catchy 'If You Got The Money' and 'Sheila. The key to Jamie's style is his ability to sing about real life in a way that is becoming quite common, but he does it in such a way that you think you know exactly what he is talkin about, but on second listen you discover it means something else as well. I think Jamie can be proud of this CD as he has produced one of the most original albums in recent years and although this album may not appeal to the masses, Jamie will continue to produce music his way and gain cult-status and hopefully he will achieve the respect of the masses. This album will be one of the best of 2007 and is an absolute must-have.

P.S. He is fantastic live!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2007
This is an excellent album, which doesn't fit into a genré. They call him the one man artic monkey. But in truth hes a mixture of arctic monkeys and the streets, but a bit more upbeat. his songs are superb all the way through, my favourite is 'if you've got the money', which is great. One slight problem is the language, he does have a habit of swearing a little too much and unneccesarily but to be honest it really doesnt matter too much.

His songs are about modern day society in London and the UK in general and for a youngster he has a good head on him for realising smoking, drugs and binge drinking are not that clever.

I listen to it walking to work everyday and its brilliant. Its also good for listening in your car, all round a great album, and it will appeal to all as there is a little bit of everything on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2007
i bought this album based on the 3 great singles. but listening to the album i was amazed that they weren't even the best tracks. song like "salvador" and "so lonely was the ballad" could easily have been released as singles and would have been huge. well worth buying if you are a fan of any type of music
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
This boy is just amazing and hits the tracks in such a way that I dont. Think anynbody could ( soooooo street. :-P
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2007
Really loving this album, some great tunes on it, very much a homegrown bedroom sound as opposed to a finely polished studio 'plastic' sounding album. You can almost imagine a live gig in your very house, maybe listening to it through a wall.

Great album, must buy! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2007
To start with lets stop the comparison to The Streets, its an insult to Jamie T! This is no novelty act comprising of lyrics no more complex than those found in the back of school boys text books like the streets and neither are the beats.

This album is far more acomplished than that, and would better be described as post-Libertines SKA, or a south-urban Arctic Monkeys. Witty story telling lyrics a la Monkeys, Pete Dohertyesc lazy vocals, London twang nothing like Skinner and some fantastic Hip-Hop and Ska beats with sublime Punk and Indie guitars layered over the top make this album a must have for any UK Hip-Hop or Indie fan, something in itself a major rareity.

A few have played with this format over the past few years but none have succeeded as much as Jamie T or as consistantly through the entire playlist. Without doubt the most complete album since Whatever I say I am... and everything the streets wasn't!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2012
Downloaded Jamie T's album from Amazon MP3 to my phone. Great service with a quick download and no hassle. Downloads in the background whilst you can get on with other stuff and its ready to listen to when you come back to your phone. Love this album, Jamie T is a hero.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)