Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
76
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 September 2000
"Sing When You're Winning" is a valiant effort at a follow up album to the brilliant, and probably faultless, "I've Been Expecting You". Along with Guy Chambers, Robbie Williams has provided us with an album filled with catchy songs; Rock DJ, Supreme(I Will Survive), Betterman, Let Love Be Your Energy, If It's Hurting You, Kids, and The Road To Mandalay are the strongest tracks and you can easily hum along on first listening. The other tracks take longer to grow on you, although none are weak 'fillers'. Robbie has chosen to play havoc with anyone using a multi-disc CD player in shuffle mode by repeating the inclusion of a surprise secret track after the last published track (The Road To Mandalay). On the previous album, those who waited were treated to a couple of hidden tracks after long periods of silence. This time around after 25 minutes of silence Robbie chirps up that "I'm not doing one on this album". If you want to make a comparison with Oasis, Robbie's "I've been expecting you" album is his "(What's The Story) Morning Glory?". However, unlike Oasis, he has not followed up with a disappointing over hyped collection of fillers on a droning album based around one good song. Here in "Sing While You're Winning" there is plenty of variety and it will no doubt produce several chart toppers. Good value and worth getting
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2000
No matter who the artist is, whenever you buy an album, the first couple of times you listen to it, there is one song which sticks in your mind, and becomes one of your preferred songs on the album. In the case of 'Sing When You're Winning', this song would have to be 'Supreme'. Whether its the use of Gloria Gaynors' 'I Will Survive', or just the true brilliance of the song I aren't sure, but either way, this song will make brilliant single material.
The album on the whole is very good, and definitely shows a more mature Robbie. This album is an improvement on the last, just as 'I've been expecting you' was an improvement on 'Life thru a lens' (all have been very good albums though!) The duet with Kylie is unexpected, but great.
The one downside to this otherwise brilliant album is its lack of tracklistings on the rear of the CD case, but with a bit of a creative mind, there are ways around this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2001
'Life Thru A Lens' and 'I've Been Expecting You' were brilliant, showing that Robbie has elements of an undiscovered genius about him - showmanship, songwriting ability, etc. and so does this - if for slightly different reasons.
The first album (LTAL) was his first stab at a solo career, branching out from the shackles and restrainsts of being a 'pop' star in Take That. It contained brilliant Oasis/Bon Jovi/Beatles/Kiss style songs and generated five hit singles. Robbie was here to stay!
The second album (IBEY) was more of the same, although Robbie had established himself as a 'rock' star and was already gaining 'rock star' fees for everything. That contained even better songs and, again, generated five hit singles.
This third album (SWYW) is, again, more of the same, but I got the impression that, although a slight change of direction is apparent, he now believes that because he is so huge and loved by most of the country, he can now palm us off with anything he likes.
"Rock DJ", although humourous, and achieving the No. 1 status in the British 'music' charts, is, well, come on - a bit rubbish!
"Kids" was hardly spectacular, despite the fact that pop princess Kylie M featured on it.
But that said, and aside from throwaways such as "Knutsford City Limits" (which does contain an outstanding Williams vocal) and the rock-and-roll, Rolling Stones-flavoured "Forever Texas", this is a very, very good album. It's the kind of album that you put on and sing-along to, whatever your mood. There are happy songs, sad songs, cheeky songs and depressed songs - in other words, (and I say this very loosely), something for everyone!
"Let Love Be Your Energy", (one of, wait for it, FIVE hit singles) is a brilliant rock opener, with an infectious chorus and pounding drums that make you just wanna jump up and down. "Better Man" is a beautiful, meaningful ballad, which, I think, almost surpasses "Angels" in classic-ness. They are the standout tracks. The rest is just pure Robbie - with the help of Guy Chambers, he darts from genre to genre ("The Road To Mandalay" is very French in style), and sings his heart out to the best of his extremely able ability!
Long may Robbie reign.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2001
When I first heard the album I thought Robbie had had his day. The attitude of Life Thru' A Lens and the lyrical excellence of I've Been Expecting You seemed to be lacking, making this release less engaging, less sing-alongable, and shocker of shcockers a tiny bit dull.
However, once you're past the initial sense of disapointment more subtle gems begin to appear. Supreme has just the right mix of sarcasm and hope to touch a nerve. Rock DJ and Kids stick in your mind more resolutely than the first listening might suggest, and the album as a whole improves with repeat play.
Lacks the WOW factor of previous releases, but still delivers the goods.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2000
Robbie Williams latest CD belonings in the CD racks of those who don't truly love music. Robbie does have talent. He is a great entertainer. But his music is run of mill. The first single Rock DJ is truly awful. I think he is trying to be Ian Dury. The slower numbers such as Better man lack an sort of true passion or imagination and at times on this CD he reminds me of Elton John. Boring ballads just like Angels which lets face it is not one of the great love songs of all time but not bad for Robbie the checky chappie from Take That. Robbie isn't a great musician he isn't a great singer and he isn't a great song writer like he would like you to believe. He is the great pretender and im afraid to say my copy of sing when your winning will be taken to my 2nd hand Cd shop at the weekend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2000
So third time round and the ego has arrived again. This time round we have about 4 of the sentimental ballads with the rest of the album being the more up tempo and the funked up songs, plus the duet with Kylie. Lyrically speaking a lot of the songs seem to focus on love & relationships and specifically Robbie's failing in the love department, not great but not dismal either. As you'd come to expect some of the lyrics are also fairly self congratulatory, but hey who can blame him. The highlight of the ballads appears to be Better Man, his attempt to create another Angels. The album really shines when the ballads are laid to rest, tracks like Texas Forever, Let Love be Your Energy and Knutsford City Limits are Robbie at his best, the first single Rock DJ shines and Supreme with the blatant overtones of Gloria Gaynor's I Will Survive is a definite highlight. In short whilst maybe lacking somewhat in the lyric department from time to time musically another gem. Oh yeah and those looking for the hidden track this time round may not quite find what they were expecting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2001
What can I say? Quite a lot actually. One reason Robbie has always been a success is that he's such a versatile artiste. He does some loud and rocking songs (Rock Dj, Kids), some quiet and mellow (Singing for the Lonely, Love calling Earth). Cheeky, thoughtful, moving, fun... you name it, it's on the album, which means that there's something to please everyone on this album. If you remotely liked his last two albums, you'll love this. Robbie shows no sign of fading with a classic third album, and at any price, it's a bargain. One word of warning. If you own his last album ('I've Been Expecting You'), you will have noticed that there were two secret songs hidden in track 12 if you left it running. Well, there is something hidden 30 min after the end of track 12 on this album too. It's not what I expected though. Buy the Album and find out!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2000
Clearly I was expecting quality and variety from Mr Williams, and I was not dissapointed. The album is superb, especially the rivetting'Kids' duet with Kylie Minogue. The songs are ones that you listen to before leaving the house and carry on humming throughout the day. Before the albums' release I listened to samples on Robbies web site, and I did not think there could possibly be a song musically and lyrically equal to 'Singing for the lonely', how WRONG I was.The album shows what a talented and accomplished performer Robbie is. The album is an absolute pleasure to listen to, and I have played it non stop. If you only buy one CD this year, it HAS to be this one!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2001
A rather average offering from Robbie, especially if you compare it to his first album. I think Rock DJ and Kids are the best tracks, and the rest feel like fillers. Too many ballads for my liking. It seems as if this album was made just for the sake of it. No doubt it will be huge. It's lacking both lyrically and melodically and sounds like he is bored with the whole project. It can't even compare to the likes of Millennium and Jesus In A Camper Van from the last album, and Let Me Entertain You and Karma Killer from the first. Don't get me wrong, I love Robbie Williams, but I am deeply dissapointed with this offering.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2001
All I have to say is that Robbie has released yet another great album, to which i am very pleased to own.
Out of all i love 'Angel' which will always be the biggest hit for me, on his first album and 'Kids' on this album, his duet is excellent.
I also like the added buzz you get at the end of the album, when you have just bought it abd you sit there waiting to hear his hidden track.
He must be so proud of where he has got in his career, he has got places where in my opinion even he didnt think he would accomplish and also people that knew him, BUT HE DID.
So well done and keep making those wonderfull songs we love so much.
love Sarah
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)