Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
51
Boys And Girls
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.19


on 1 September 2017
boys and girls by bryan ferry i had it before on tape many years a go and i have to say anything that bryan ferry does is fantastic and the good thing about this album its remastered started lisening to roxy music first after that i started lisening to so stuff bryan ferry released as a solo stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2017
Brilliant and just as I recall it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2014
everything's fine, thanks a lot! A
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2014
Whilst this album is worthy of 5 stars I both love it and hate it in equal measure. I love it due to the sheer quality and class that you expect from Mr Ferry. I hate it for the same reason as it was obvious that Roxy had met their death-nell, never to return as far as album releases were concerned. I only have one gripe though - sometimes it is not easy to hear what is being sung with Mr Ferry occasionally sounding as if he is in great pain. It's not down to the mix, merely Mr Ferry's vocal delivery style. 'Windswept' and 'Valentine' are personal favourites closely followed by 'Don't Stop The Dance'.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2011
I had, at least to a certain extent, until I bought this remastered edition. The album itself is one of my absolute favourites, if you should in any way consider discovering Bryan Ferry this is a must. If you are a fan and want to enjoy the excessively well-produced music without the original technical limitations don't hesitate to buy it. I will probably have to exchange most of my BF and Roxy albums now, so if you are not willing to do that, then hesitate......
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2013
This is one of the best cd's I have listened to for years.if only the music of today was of the same class has what the old guys do.great service and quick delivery.thanks
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2005
When Bryan Ferry's sixth studio album was released in the June of 1985 as a long-standing fan of "Bryan's" music and that of "Roxy Music", I bought it with out hearing a single track apart from the single "Slave to Love" (which was featured extensively on the soundtrack to the movie "9 ½ weeks" and reached number 10 in the U.K. charts, the album itself gave Bryan his first solo number 1 album.
What we the listening public where treated to was basically the continuation of the ideas and themes on the last "Roxy Music" album "Avalon" which is full of soundscapes and sonic textures.

But for this version of Bryan's vision it looks like he created a wish list of musicians for the project and everyone he asked came to the party, the list reads like a who's who of the music world at that time, David Gilmour (from "Pink Floyd"), Nile Rodgers (from "Chic"), Tony Levin (from Peter Gabriel's recording sessions), Mark Knopler of "Dire Straits" fame and David Sanborn from the jazz world, to name but a few of the 30 musicians that Mr Ferry used in recording "Boys and Girls" various recording studios round the world from "Air studios" in London to "Power Station" in New York, in total there was 7 studios used.

The album as before opens with what sounds like an orchestra tuning up and then the sound of a kick drum can be heard being the track "Sensation" to life, this track has many layers of textures that can be best described as a soundscape, with David Gilmour's guitar at the forefront of the track, his distinctive playing bringing real sense of drama to the song.
The following song "Slave to Love" with the sounds of rolling thunder and hooting of an owl in the background, now have these effects panning from left to right as they did before, but now even more so, a real audio treat.

The second single from the album "Don't stop the Dance" has David Sanborn as the featured solo artist and with the higher resolution of this version you the listener are treated to clearer sounding saxaphone playing from Mr Sanborn you can now really feel what he playing now as well as hearing it. The next track "A Wasteland" is very short and feels like an introduction to the next song "Windswept".

Now with this version of the album the listener can hear the stellar cast of players and musicians that Mr Bryan Ferry has assembled with greater clarity across all 9 tracks that this album contains.

This version was re-mastered to HDCD standard in September 1999 by one of the masters of the process one Bob Ludwig of "Gateway studios", a couple of weeks earlier to this release the mini-LP version came out, which is the same sonically the only difference is the packaging re-creates the vinyl sleeve in miniature.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2010
The CD arrived within three days, securely packaged and clean both inside and out. A new purchase and still in its cellophane wrapping which was reassuring. It's difficult to rate Bryan Ferry because everything he has produced both as a solo artist and in Roxy Music is always of such a high standard but, if push came to shove, I would have to place 'Boys & Girls' as Ferry's finest solo hour to date. This 1985 album stands the test of time beautifully, as does the majority of his work, sounding fresh and relevent with standout production values and top-notch musicians, including many 'names' dropping by for guest cameo performances on individual tracks (Dave Gilmour, Nile Rodgers, Mark Knopfler - to name but a few). 'Boys and Girls' is pure sensuality encapsulated in song: perfect for seduction and highly recommended as music to get her/him in the mood for those 'Barry White' moments...! Even smoother and sexier than the Walrus of Love, if that isn't a blasphemy. Not a single duff track on the whole album; standout songs (for me) are the more up-tempo 'Don't Stop the Dance', the atmospheric 'The Chosen One' and the sultry eponymous track 'Boys and Girls'. The best known track is 'Slave to Love', one of his chart hits in the 80s, which remains as another high entry in Ferry's bulging arsenal of love songs. Ferry is a musical genius and style icon who makes gorgeous modern pop/rock. So far, no-one has come along even remotely close to becoming the new Bryan Ferry and this demonstrates why. It's going to take someone very special to fill his shoes. Let's hope that, at 65, he doesn't decide to close his piano lid just yet.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2010
Listening to this 25 years later it stands up well above other artists around this time.The production and sound is stunning and captures Ferry at the top of his game.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 September 2008
After the success of roxy musics "avalon" this bryan ferry solo album followed in the same laid back way...stunning enough on vinyl and cd but for the true experience of surround sound this is a must!

the two huge hits "slave to love" and don't stop the dance" are brilliant works but every track on the album is brilliant...

if you are into sacd's or a roxy music/ferry fan this is a must!!! the sound quality is superb (which cant be said for a lot of sacd releases...unfortunately)

crisp and clear...filling the room...stunning!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)