Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
202
4.6 out of 5 stars
Station To Station
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.69


on 31 January 2016
Gotta have this in your collection. Simply superb fun! Oh Yea & the musicality is most excellent!
review image
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2017
This is brilliant, Bowie was right on form here!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2017
Sounds like it could have sounded as good as Young Americans, but compared to better, less processed versions it sounds congested and too boosted up to me, during busiest parts of the album. They should have reused the previous mastering, the 2010 EMI transfer found in the two Station to Station box sets released that year, which was a superb CD and received universal acclaim from many long term Bowie-loving nerds like me.

Ironically regarding the above, Parlophone have reissued the 2010 version of the live Nassau 1976 album from those same 2010 boxes, which is horrific: teeth-grindingly bright EQ and brickwalled sound. It’s also edited: check out Bowie’s vocal in wild abandon during the final minutes of the electrifying Stay from Nassau as first released on the Ryko / EMI 1991 CD. On this later version you can hear the fader on the vocal track go down before the abandon starts... and it’s gone. The legendary Nassau recording deserves better, and EMI’s useless 2010 job on it should have been consigned to the trash, not re-released by Parlophone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2017
Excellent!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
Good fantastic and marvellous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
love this album would recommend good value for money 10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2017
Bowie's greatest album. No complaints about the quality of music but pathetic vinyl reprint. Skips during title track. Will update when I receive a working version
33 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
As a huge David Bowie fan, I was saddened by his untimely demise. He was a unique artist whose music has captivated me for many years and, I feel certain, will endure well beyond all our lives. As a tribute to the man, I have decided to review my favourite album, - a record I've possessed, in various formats, for more than twenty years - 'Station To Station.'

It was recorded at a time when Bowie was living in a house in L.A., the curtains drawn to shut out the world & the light of reason and in this self-imposed darkness he became fascinated with esoteric tomes & fascist ideologies, while his numerous addictions fuelled an increasing paranoia & left him teetering on the brink of self-annihilation. All this was distilled in his newest creation... the aloof, aristocratic, golden-haired figure of the Thin White Duke. Together, they somehow created this masterpiece; an album Bowie can barely recall making...

1. Station To Station - A stunning opener! Clocking in at ten minutes, it begins, appropriately enough, with the sound of a train, before some feedback heralds the music, which slowly builds before Bowie intones one of the greatest opening lines to any album!.. "The return of the Thin White Duke, throwing darts in lovers eyes..." The remainder of the song touches on his interest in the Kaballah, his cocaine addiction, his restless searching & a plea for a return to Europe. He would return a year later, where he'd slowly begin to rebuild his life but here the Thin White Duke reigns supreme.
2. Golden Years - The big single from the album, rumoured to have been offered to Elvis Presley but whether the King of Rock 'n' Roll would have made whistling on a record as cool as Bowie manages to do, is open to debate. Whatever, it's a great song!
3. Word On A Wing - IMHO, hugely underrated. Here, Bowie is prostrate before God, not knowing his purpose but searching for answers. It also contains a beautiful opening line... "In this age of grand delusion, you walked into my life out of my dreams..." This man could write! The accompanying music is also glorious!
4. TVC15 - What's it about? An unhealthy obsession with technology? Who cares? It's clearly bonkers but brilliant too & I can't ever stop singing along to the chorus!
5. Stay - Perhaps the funkiest track, with a great riff from Carlos Alomar. As the title suggests, Bowie is wanting more than just another one-night stand but he can't quite say it.
6. Wild Is The Wind - I've never heard the original Nina Simone version but I can say that Bowie's interpretation is excellent, as the Thin White Duke's glacial veneer finally fractures & Bowie emerges to sing with passion & conviction. Has his voice ever sounded better? I doubt it.

So, there you have it! Only six songs but what songs! And clocking in at 38 minutes, it never outstays its welcome. Bowie would go on to create more wonderful albums over the next few years but this will always remain my favourite. So, if you're interested in David Bowie's music, buy this album!.. You'll not regret it.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
There are some fans who say Bowie was at his best between 1971 - 1976. Others cite the Berlin Trilogy. And there are those that love Bowie's 80s commercialism. For me, 'Station to Station' is the perfect antidote to the drug infested years spent stateside that covered the Diamond Dogs tour ('David Live'); Young Americans; The Man Who Fell To Earth (film) and this album sub-titled by many as 'The Return of the Thin White Duke.'

This particular box set remaster contains the analogue remaster of the original album mix, and the live show that was for several years only available as a bootleg. Bowie has often commented that he rarely remembers even recording 'Station to Station.' The fact that the album contained incredible songs is absolutely amazing if his true state of mind is anything to go by. At the same time as the recording sessions, Bowie appeared on 'Soul Train' singing the hit single from 'Station to Station' - the brilliant 'Golden Years.'

'Golden Years' was very much a last ditched attempt at getting Bowie a combined UK / US smash following the success in the states of 'Fame.' The problem was that the Young American sessions still yielded a possible follow-up in 'Can You Hear Me' (considered by many Bowie aficionados as his very best vocal performance). In the states, all eyes centred on 'Can You Hear Me' and I know that back at Bedford Place, London, the UK HQ of RCA Records, the green light was given for the release as the third and final single from the Young American sessions. Suddenly, news filtered through that Bowie was back in the studio and 'Golden Years' had been demoed as a potential dance-floor soul classic. The dilemma was real. Two hits on their hands - the solution... to place them back to back as a single in both the US and UK!!!!

The sessions continued for 'Station to Station' haunted by the film Bowie was involved with at the time (The Man Who Fell To Earth) and his cocaine addition. The result is truly reflected on this box set edition - the full remastered studio album and the best live show Bowie ever put together.

Each track stands up - for me, personal favourites are 'Stay', 'Word on a Wing' and 'Wild Is The Wind.' need I say more?

This really is vintage "Bowie" - blazing away from the excesses of the states and off to Berlin via France to save his own skin. In the meantime, under the headphones, us fans listened to 'Station to Station' and cried!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2003
The already established 'thin white duke' continued his 'fame' with the single release of "Golden Years", a warm, but tepid dance song that introduced the fantastic "Station To Station". The title track clocks in the lengthiest of his songs and provides a series of bridges and chorus changes that surpassed anything he had done to date. The entire sound is more bluesy with the power-ballads "Word On A Wing" and "Wild Is The Wind". "Stay" is is the funkiest and most 'blue-eyed' of the set, while "TVC15" simply delivers a well written novelty tune. This set was more of a second version of "Young Americans" rather than a new direction, but if it's not broke - don't fix it. That's pretty hard for soemone like Bowie to do, considering how many 'costume changes' he goes through each year.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)