Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 13 July 2014
After being charmed by the music of Fairport, String Band, Pentangle & Nick Drake, the next Brit Folk/Rock outfit to add to my Folk bucket list is of course Steeleye Span.
I did have initial reservations because of the naff Status Quo-ness of “All around my hat”, but thankfully the band only travel down that road twice more with “Thomas the Rhymer” & “Hard times of Old England”, which is within tolerable levels.
Containing songs from 72-75 (apart from “Dark eyed sailor”, which is taken from Spans 1970 album “Hark the village wait”), so not really a career spanning retrospective.
Mixing acoustic & electric, not a million miles from what Fairport were creating at the same time.
So if you are a fan of 1970’s British Folk, this record is a good intro to what for many folkies would consider a musical institution.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2017
The Disc was everything I hoped it would be! It contained all the old favorites, some I had n't heard for years, some I had n't heard before. It was in excellent working order considering it was a used disc, and excellent value for money considering it was only £5.50 from 'Music Magpie', plus postage. I hope anyone else who buys it will get as much pleasure out of it as I did?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2010
Having loved the two 70's hits and the should-have-been-a-hit Thomas The Rhymer (and proud owner of all three on vinyl singles), i have always meant to get around to obtaining these in a pristine digital format. The Best Of Steeleye Span does all that and much much more.
It has to be said that there is no filler on this album. While some of the other tracks aren't as immediate as the hits (as you would expect), after a couple of listenings you realise that this album is much much more than the obvious. this album fills that musical gap in my CD collection and ticks all the boxes and more. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2018
Best version of Gau de te. I have always been a Maddy Prior fan, particularly the Medievil feasts that Steeleye Span used to do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 July 2014
This compilation is excellent. It gives you a real flavour of this band and if like me you are old enough to remember the period it will take you back to those days. It's a nice recording too. So if you like folk/rock then you should have this.

Oh and of course you get Maddy Prior's wonderful singing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2015
Timeless music. Have been a big fan of Steeleye Span for many years. Would have preferred the longer version of Thomas the Rhymer and could have done without To Know Him Is To Love Him which I thought was a big mistake best forgotten. Other than that a very enjoyable listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2018
Super sounds
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2017
All of the classics here in the one CD, excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2016
excellent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2017
Very nice vocals most enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)