Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
32
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 October 2006
Been waiting in eager anticipation for the next creation from KT and she's done it again, a second great album. If you liked 'Eye to the Telescope' then you'll love this, some great tracks especially the opening 'Ashes' making harmony out of discord, and the soulful 'Gone to the Dogs'. The clear acousics and KT's special flair coupled with great songwriting and singing make this another inspirational album. Whey Kool KT! There's some nice footage of the making of the album in someone's living room and a couple of live songs on the DVD.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 November 2006
This is a great CD/ DVD combination. Incidentally, I think that you'll have to order this "Digi Pack" version to get the DVD. The CD is a mixture of songs off KT's "Eye to the Telescope" and other songs from her back catalogue, but recorded in live unplugged session style. The DVD includes a making off documentary, which gives background to why the recording sounds so fresh - they basically set up and rehersed one day, and recorded the whole album the next. All is someone's front room. This gives versions of songs that are much better than on "Eye to the T", which always felt a bit forced and over-cooked to me.

Interesting historical note - "Acousic Extravaganza" was the name that KT gave to the music nights she used to run in Edinburgh, when she was on her way up. And this recording is a return to a more natural, intimate style. And it lets her real tallent with a softer guitar playing style and voice come through.

One final note - the "parental advisory" only applies (as far as I can tell) to the first track, where one should indeed be advised. From track two on this is my five year old son's favourite bedtime music of the moment.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 October 2006
I found this CD quite by accident as I was browsing in a local store, and from the very first bar of the very first track I have enjoyed the whole album.

The songs have an almost jazzy feel to them, crossed with a bit of country and a bit of rock. And they all have plenty of feel... You know that KT means what she sings! There is a fantastic atmosphere to the album too - recorded as it was in someone's front room - which if you close your eyes makes you feel as if you are in a small smoky club and the artists are with you. This also gives the instruments just enough of a raw edge so that you know that they are actually being played as opposed to a machine doing the hard work. But the record does not sound under-produced because of this.

My only slight gripe is that at the start of a couple of songs they have left the sounds of the musicians chatting and getting ready to start the song. It is only for a couple of seconds on one or two of the tracks, and I suppose it was supposed to make the album sound even more acoustic. It was not necessary and comes across to me as a little pretentious.

The DVD is OK - it gives you a 20 minute insight into how the album was recorded. Quite interesting, but I would have liked to see a little more of the actual recording in progress.

But I can recommend this album to any true music enthusiast and anyone who enjoys quality music recorded by real artists.

Buy it, you will not be dissapointed.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
I've always been a fan of KT but was always a bit relunctant about buying cds etc for my own silly weird personal reasons. I started trying to find anything I could listen from KT and fell in love with this when I heard it. I watched the dvd of their recording sessions in Scotland, which while looked like a awful quality on my computer, was really nice and helps you feel a part of her music. The cd has a some new songs and acoustic versions of songs form her earlier music such as minature disasters and universe and u. Really worth a listen for any KT Tunstall fan. I have to admit the more I listen to this and her other albums the more I fall in love with her music but this is really my favourite cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2006
Having been very impressed with KT Tunstall's debut album, Eye to the Telescope, I had high hopes for Acoustic Extravaganza - which were well easily surpassed.

You'll notice that "Miniature Disasters" and "Universe & U" also feature on this album, despite being on the first. The reason for this, according to the included DVD, is that it was originally only meant to be a recording session (as a filler between Eye to the Telescope and her next album - due Q2 2007) for some early before-she-was-famous songs and acoustic re-recordings, which was only to be available from the website. However, it quickly became an album due to the popularity and online demand. The only true new song is Ashes, with all others being B-sides and older songs, all re-done with an acoustic feel.

I've given a quick run-down of the 10 tracks:

01 - Ashes: My favourite track of the album with a fantastic melody and a relaxed but up-beat feel.

02 - Girl and the Ghost: Similar feel to Ashes and One Day. It's quite repetitive but very catchy.

03 - One Day: A moody and powerful track with strong double bass and vocals.

04 - Golden Age - Quite a slow and relaxed piece, which is a nice contrast to the first few more up-beat tracks.

05 - Boo Hoo: Get it free from the KT Tunstall official website and see what you think.

06 - Gone to the Dogs: Another slow track, quite similar to Heal Over from ETTT

07 - Change: A nice melody and typically acoustic track - very relaxing.

08 - Miniature Disasters: Although this was on her first album, the acoustic version is so much better with more percussion and a stronger beat.

09 - Universe & U: Virtually identical to the original `Eye to the Telescope' recording, just with less backing and stronger vocals.

10 - Throw me a Rope: A bit more Katie Melua than KT Tunstall unfortunately. A nice tune, but a bit bland for the final track.

It's unfortunate that Ashes includes 2 instances of swearing, which doesn't really add anything to the song, and also leads to the album being branded with "explicit lyrics."

Altogether, it's a fantastic album with plenty for everyone. It has a unique style and is definitely one of the best CDs I've heard for a long time!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2016
A fine album, and enjoyed the DVD, too. Warning fro those easily offended that the F word appears twice in the first track. Probably not first on everyone's Kt shopping list, but a decent addition nonetheless
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2007
Since I bought Acoustic Extravaganza, I must have listened to it a million times. It's absolutely wonderful. I can sing along while driving, dance to it doing the housework and cry listening to Boo Hoo and Golden Age. And the acoustic version of Universe and You deserves another million listenings.

If you liked "Eye to the telescope" you'll love "acoustic extravaganza".
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
This is a great album that I should have bought ages ago. I also really enjoyed the DVD story of how the album was made and a few other great clips.

If you haven't got this one in your collection - buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2007
This is a remarkable album; and also a good DVD. Wonderfully creative and sensitive writing - KT has got to be one of the best contemporary musicians and song writers around. You hear something new everytime you listen to this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
As per usual KT has produced yet another fantastic album. Well worth getting if you're into her stuff. I do think its so childish that it has a parental advisory label on it because of ONE swearword though. I strongly believe it's not the word you use, its the meaning you put behind it that makes it offensive. If any one is offended by a word in the English language that's their own strange little problem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here