Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
105
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2002
With "Missundaztood" P!nk has become the voice of every insecure teenager in the world. Here's a track review:
1. Get The Party Started - The first single. A kind of deceptive track that makes you expect some R&B, but watch out. 8/10
2. 18 Wheeler - I played this track over and over when I first got the album. It's one of those take no shit songs. 9/10
3. M!ssundaztood - I love the lyrics to this feelgood song about being proud of who you are and what you do. This is one of P!nk's "have a laugh" songs, although she still sounds stunning. 9/10
4. Dear Diary - To get into this song, you need to listen to the lyrics as this is one of the songs about her life. 7/10
5. Eventually - Another lyric-heavy song. What seems like a lovey dovey ballad at first becomes a message to everyone who's ever done Miss Moore wrong in the past. 9/10
6. Numb - The most rocky song P!nk has ever made! She goes kind of punky in this song, which is another take no shit one. 9/10
7. Just Like A Pill - Another "listen carefully to the lyrics" song. One of the best P!nk songs ever! (The third single) 10/10
8. Family Portrait - A heart-wrenching song about P!nk's family when she grew up. This song is very sad, and she obviously put a lot of effort into it. 10/10
9. Misery - Steve Tyler from Aerosmith duets with P!nk on this song. Their vocals are amazing! 9/10
10. Respect - Another of the R&B songs. The funniest part is "Mirror, mirror on the wall, damn I sure look fine, I can't blame those horny boys, I would make me mine!" LOL 9/10
11. Don't Let Me Get Me - The song that made P!nk my favourite artist. Don't Let Me Get Me has catchy tune and cool lyrics. It's about disliking who you are and wanting to be someone else. Fantastic. 10/10
12. Gone To California - This song is slow and lyric heavy, but I still like it. 7/10
13. Lonely Girl - Ex-4 Non Blonde member Linda Perry questions P!nk in this song. Good lyrics and vocals. 9/10
14. My Vietnam - Another song about her life. I especially like the "mama was a lunatic" bit. 8/10
15. Catch-22 - Another R&B track. This one is really funny when P!nk does the air-hostess impressions. 7/10
This album is definitely worth buying! I love every song. Get it now!
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2002
On the strength of her previous singles I'd never been tempted to buy a Pink album before, but after hearing 'Don't Let Me Get Me' on the radio, I realised that this one might be something special. Boy, was I right! The album visits pretty much every musical genre you can think of, which would normally spell immediate disaster except that Pink does them all so damn well. There are elements of everything from heavy rock to hip-hop, rap, pop and some fabulous down-tempo soul numbers. *And* she has one of the best contemporary blues voices I've heard in a long while.
There should be a little something for everyone to appreciate here, so get buying!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2002
It's the return of the Pink Princess herself, minus the Pink crew cut but still every bit as gorgeous! But if you're looking for a carbon copy of her debut "Can't Take Me Home", then pink's latest offering, "Missundaztood" is not for you. Pink has evolved. She still has the winning recipe of a blend of R n B, Hip-Hop and Funk but this time she adds a hint of Rock.
Stand out tracks include Family Portriat, Numb, My Vietnam and the feel-good new single Get the Party Started. But to be honest there isn't a bad track on the album.
Missundaztood, with its revealing lyrics, provides a personal insight into the real Pink;this is kind of a biographical album.This alone makes it stand out from her first album but add this with the simple fact that there are better tunes on this album and you'll see why this is a must-have. It may take a couple of listens to before you fully appreciate this it, but you won't regret adding this record to your collection.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2002
I'm not really a fan of Pink. When I heard her single 'get the party started', became curious to hear more of her album. I would say that this album is definitely worth buying. Pink proved that she has definitely arrived as a singer. The diversity of the songs in this album is incredible. The tracks 'Don't Let Me Get Me', 'Get The Party Started', 'Just Like a Pill', sticks to your mind long after you hear them. The songs 'Dear Diary', 'Vietnam','Family Portrait', added a personal insight on the real Pink. Man, can she sing! I could now say that i'm one of her fans now. I could hardly wait for her next album. Nobody would not misundertand her intention in this album. She's on her way up and intends to stay there for a long time. Way to go, Pink!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2002
This fantastic follow on from the multi-selling album,'can't take me home' is another all round good array of songs put together by the very talented 'pink'. Although this album is more on the 'experimental' side of R'n'B, it still has the funk, freshness and soulful feel that comes with the powerful voice of pink, including such artists as Steve Tyler(aerosmith), Linda Perry(4 non-blondes). This album is definately a good mixture of ballads, rock and dance and has the feel good factor, whatever your mood!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2002
Pinks second album may have been a dissapointment for fans who expected the r 'n' b style on her second LP, but its an amazing reinvention and experimental music for the former man hater star.
From "get the party started", to "Lonely girl" featuring Linda Perry of 4non blondes fame, who also co-produced this effort, each song has something to offer. each song is special and lyrically form pinks heart. "Misery" with steven Tyler, was for some the worst track, but im divided on this point, as its a good song but not as good as the songs that surround it.
So I say to you, abandon your preconceptions as the album doesn't sound like "get the party started" or "don't let me get me" throughout. It's a rare jem of an album with everything on it for everyone. Pink delivers some of the most amazing vocals on "eventually" sings from the heart on tearful "family portrait", and makes you smile on unusally sounding but great "missundaztood".
Oh, and the UK version which is being sold on amazon, has a bonus track, "catch 22" which fits brilliantly on the end of the CD
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2005
I also realise this album was released years ago but its that good it compelled me to write a review.
Can't Take Me Home was aimed at a totally different demographic than Misunderstood, reason being that Pink took control of her career and proved LaFace she could make it as a Rock artist.
Misunderstood is an outstanding and compelling album, delving into the depths of Pinks emotion, tearing apart every misconception and allowing the listener to feel the songs with raw emotion, something which is rare in music at the moment.
Teaming up with one of the best song writers and producers in modern music Linda Perry (of 4NonBlondes and Christina Agruleria's Stripped album)Pink managed to deliver one of the most amazing albums of the past 5 or 10 years.
The album combines numerous sorts songs that include describing Pinks childhood and upbringing, such as Family Portrait and My Vietnam. Describing her rise to fame Don't Let Me Get Me and 18 Wheeler. It also contains a few party tracks, just to keep those who conform happy with Get The Party Started and Respect, none the less they are totally owned by Pink.
This was one of the biggest selling albums of the released year and a massive album for pink in terms of success and gaining respect. I've got to be honest, whilst the girl is using her head and reinventing herself Try This (her follow up album) just doesn't even compare and lacks the compassion and time that went into Misunderstood...it also showed in her tours...the Misunderstood tour was intimate and amazing whilst the Try This tour was an arena tour, and whilst excellent it just didn't touch the intimate gig for avid Pink fans.
Anyhow, buy this outstanding album, its a must have for any CD collection!
Absolutely 5/5 (hopefully she'll hook up with her idol Linda Perry again)!!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2001
This album is of high Quality ad contains a mixture of amazing songs, but be warned it's not the old pink, shes harder, rockier and cooler;
Missundaztood- This song written by pink and L. Perry starts with a cathcy smooth beat and a cool tune comes in later. Itz a grower and you'll fnd yourself humming it all the time
Don't Let Me Get Me: One of best songs on the album. Dissin herself and describe all the bad things that happen to her. Having a shouting match. Very catchy
Just Like A Pill: The second single off tis album, maybe not the best choice but if she wants to introduce her new sound then maybe its a good choice. Its got a very very very catchy chorus. It is one that you cant skip because it is so heart warming.
Get The Party Started: The old pink. this is very catchy and was a good verse. the 1st of 3 songs on the album not written by pink. you've all heard it
Respect: I like this one. It's quite a skater song. She describes i 'Her rap Song', using comedy such as 'Mirror Mirror on the wall, Damn i sure look fine'. It's agood independant women Part III. most likely to be the third single
18 Wheeler: i wasn't sure when i first heard it and i'm still not sure now. Make up your own mind
Family Portrait:Very sentimental. a real proud aceivment and i reckon a possible single. Talking bout the pain a child go through during a divorce, children blaming themselves. I like it
Misery: a kinda ballad. Hard to describe. a kinda mix of Elton John and the New robbie williams (swing music stuff)2nd of 3 not written by pink.
Dear diary: I think the things she says in this song are actually true. Quite emotional. She mensions her dad alot. No real chorus though
Eventually: Very hiphop. Slow and calm. Kinda like a Missy Elliot song. Its good but it should only b 2:52 because it gets boring. Nice though
Lonely Girl: Didn't Like it, but i do now.Another Grower. 3rd out of 3 not written by her, nice vocals from Linda Perry.
Numb: A hard song. Lashing out on the world. Major electric guiter. Good but defnately doesn't fit in with the rest of the album
Gone To California: I think this was a quick song. Maybe took 1/2 hour to produce because it has no beat no tune. Knda boring
My Vietnam: starts out with the sounds of war then starts a wicked and lovable song. This is fantastic.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2004
Get The Party Started-*****- the song that made Pink big, an excellent song
18 Wheeler-****- this song is quite catchy showing Pink isn't a pushover
Misunderstood-***- this song is qite a let down as it sounds a great title
Dear Diary-****- a good song but the lyrics do get a bit repetitive
Eventually-*****- one of the best songs on the album, slow and sad song
Numb-****- a good song thats easy listening
Just Like A Pill-*****- excellent song with catchy chorus lyrics
Family Portrait-*****- a great song about Pinks childhood, sad song, one of the best songs on the album
Misery-****- duet with Steven Tyler thats quite different to other songs on the album
Respect-****- song with Scratch about respect for women, catchy lyrics
Don't Let Me Get Me-*****- great song with clever/catchy lyrics about Pinks life
Gone To California-***- a good song, average
Lonely Girl-*****- song with Linda Perry, one of the best songs on the album, very sad
My Veitnam-****- good song but doesnt suit the finish to the album
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2002
I'm sure I don't need to say it because everybody saw it, but Pink rocks! Her first album was nice and I didn't wait for her second. But it came and I love it. Her great look and voice really got me. Her lyrics are great (I love the fact that she writes about more stuff than 'i love him'-and stuff like that) and she really change her style. She much more funky here than she was in her first album. The first song that was the first single too "Get the party started" is one of the best and refreshing songs in the past 3 years. the following singles "Don't let me get me", "Just like a pill" and the newest "Family portrait" are cool songs with important messages.Therefor, I can see why this album was a huge hit, much more than her debut album. And now she have 3 top 10 hits singles in the U.S and even number 1 single in the U.K. Pink shows us all that she improve her music, singing and stlye and create much stronger album without this anxious woman image she had in 1999.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)