Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
11
Waylon Live
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£10.99

on 7 February 2016
This is what a live album should be like no stop gaps and the performance of waylon and his band is something to die for if you have not got this album and you like waylon or you want to hear one of the greatest then look no further miss out and you will regret it once in a lifetime something comes along that is just incredible this is it buy now
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2012
Haveing been a follower of Waylon for more years than i can remember,At last the almost full version comes out.
They have put together the best package ever all the hits plus Good liner notes the live recording is first class
Comes in two cds as the concerts are quite long. Now I would recomend this to any one that would like to hear Waylon
at his best LIVE. For the price of the cds it is worth it alone.Buy one sit back and enjoy. Turn the music up
it feels as if you are there.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2014
Excellent CD with several "new" tracks - very interesting. That's really all this review needs but apparently it is too short for Amazon so sorry to waste your time with these extra words!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2014
Waylon is my favourite singer and this the best I have heard him it's such a tragedy that we Los t him so early in life
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2009
love ol waylon
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2011
They write about Messrs Jennings and Nelson as Waylon and Willie but most of the plaudits seem to go to Willie. He does mix with a remarkable variety of people, his guitar playing is always distinctive and he's written and sung, some pretty good songs, but the other half of the duo, the late Waylon Jennings, gets somewhat ignored. He has his hard core fans but for whatever reason the acclaim goes to Willie and Waylon gets the polite but faint praise.

Forced listening to this monster of an album might change that. Recorded in Austin over three nights in 1974, it captures Waylon at his peak - he'd just been though that phase where every album seemed to be a personal triumph. This wasn't to last and the man dropped back to producing 3 star rather then 5 star albums. The song selection here can hardly be bettered . It's peppered with songs from albums that many would consider to be some of his best; "This Time", "Honky Tonk Heroes", "Lonesome, Ornery and Mean" and "Rambling Man". This being 1974 ,"Dreaming my Dreams" was still to come but we get a taster for it with "(Way down in Austin) Bob Wills is still the King" - this was the live performance which would be one of the highlights of "Dreams". There are also plenty of great numbers from earlier albums, songs like "Donna on my mind", "Anita you're dreaming", "Never been to Spain" and "Only daddy that'll walk the line" - he seems to have the unerring touch to select just the better numbers. Yes there are maybe one or two missing but if you wanted a best-of up to this point in time you'd have to go a long way to beat this selection.

The pace starts fairly easily as Waylon and the boys ease into the set with plenty of those chugalong rockers that he rather likes - the 12 bar ones but usually with a twist in the tail. First highlight is Willie's "It's not supposed to be that way". There's a slight chuckle from Waylon before putting in a heartfelt performance. Several of the "Honky Tonk Heroes" numbers appear on side one showing his high respect for Billy Joe Shaver.

With side two it just gets better and better. After kicking off with a rousing "Ladies love Outlaws" the big numbers just keep coming. "Never been to Spain" has Waylon and Ralph Mooney trading choruses on lead and steel guitar respectively much to the crowd's delight. And the run-in from there to the conclusion is just fantastic. "You can have her" makes a nice noisy closer.

If you have "Dreaming my Dreams" you'll be aware of the atmosphere on "Bob Wills is still the King". That atmosphere pervades this entire album. To say that the crowd are pleased to have Waylon and the band in Austin is a massive understatement. I say, "and band" because the entire band play superbly throughout. Arrangements are generally pretty close to the studio originals and they reproduce the studio quality with seeming ease. Waylon`s vocals are the star billing and deservedly so but they need the right backdrop which the band provide.

I have to single out Ralph Mooney for particular praise. Also known as the man who co-wrote "Crazy Arms" for Ray Price and subsequently, Jerry Lee Lewis, Mooney reigns supreme in the world of pedal steel guitar. You might have thought that pedal steel over 42 tracks might have gotten boring but that most definitely is not the case. Quite a few songs are effectively Waylon and Mooney duets. i.e. Waylon singing and Mooney picking.

I have said elsewhere in reviews that in most cases, "you had to be there". This is one of those marvellous exceptions to that rule.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2012
Thisted "Live album" where the songs from Seventies and Sixties are on, is Waylon at his absolute High point! It Doesnt' get any better.... My absolute favourite Live album with Waylon Jennings. Jens Munk, Denmark
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2001
This music was recorded live in Dallas and Austin, TX. Jennings baritone voice is clear and shines throughout. He's in good form and was in a good mood for the concerts. I was there for the two Dallas shows. It's about time they release more of the music. There's still more music from these shows that has not been released. As far as live shows go this is one of the best. Waylon's music is much better live anyway.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2015
What a loss to music,this album is fantastic well worth listening to over and over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2016
A couple of songs on these CDs I haven't heard
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Nashville Rebel
£11.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)