Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
86
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 August 2017
Apparently In Italian, A Posteriori means anything from "what comes after" and is relating to or denoting reasoning or knowledge which proceeds from observations or experiences to the deduction of probable causes! This is the 6th studio album from Enigma released in 2006. It has the familiar Enigma ethereal sonic textures, and grooves with lyrics also in I think Italian or Latin or both. The album's subject matter is about the collision of the Milky Way and Andromeda galaxies and is stark and foreboding like you are on an endless journey of discovery through space. We have hypnotic tranced-out mixes and house beats with pulsating throbbing textures, that are both spiritual and carnal along with new age cuts. If you like the unique Enigma sound, you will like this album. Note, my review is for the original album recording.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
Not the private lounge mixes as advertised on track listing.

Pic 1 shows the private lounge mixes and first few tracks
Pic 2 shows the page you are taken to when wanting the audio cd.
Pic 3 shows the track listing on pic 2 page, which is the private lounge mixes.
What you receive is the normal album.
Be careful when buying please. This has been reported to amazon.
review image review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2017
This is my third Enigma album and although somewhat quieter than the others it is still beautiful music with a haunting rhythm with some great atmospheric moods.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
Great Music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2017
Wonderful music, what more can be added?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
an excellant album..love enigma...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2007
I have been a huge fan of enigma for the last 12 years, ever since 'The cross of changes' came out in 1994 and i heard 'return to innocence' at the age of 6, so i was very excited and curious to hear this new album. I must admit that on the first listen it took me by surprise at the change in sound on 'Eppur si muove' and 'feel me heaven'. However, the whole album stuck in my head, i played it again and now i love it as much, if not possibly slightly more than, the other albums. The whole album has an air of being in space, flying past planets,moons and stars - which actually i think makes it sound more dynamic and interesting. Its very cool and definitely worth buying whether you're an enigma virgin or if you're a long time fan (like me). A very accomplished album by MC!! xxx
11 Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2007
Enigma - a 'band' that evolved from monks chanting to red indians whooping to jungle tribes pounding to dolphins screeching. It could all have gone so horribly wrong - if one was to think about the ingredients placed in the meiltng pot one would intellectually cringe and shy away from the 'themes' that are evident in each Enigma Collection.

But each album has been given a touch so feather light, an ambience so spiritual, so jam-packed with meaning and insight that one cannot help but fall in love with each masterpiece - music that strikes a deep resonant chord in the heart, leaving an imprint or echo that calls you back to it time & time again.

And so we come to expect failure with every new creation - because 'how do you improve on perfection?' But Enigma are special - they move on and away from topics they have tried n tested before - they explore new avenues. They do not try and be clever. They do not re-invent themselves. They remain true. Somehow their efforts transcend music itself.

This new album -in my opinion - is their best work yet. Suitable for every mood, it uplifts and warms the soul. It speaks of faith, hope, love and enlightenment - yet also deep yearning, loss and despair. 'Goodbye MilkyWay' is simply a stunning track - its theme allowing you to realise how far Enigma have come since their initial conception.

This is a superb rendition to any music lovers collection. Atmospheric, beautiful, easy listening - yet quite the most 'bouncy' of Enigma's albums yet (Perfect for driving to!). Do buy this - you wont be disappointed.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2006
Michael Cretu, the man who singlehandedly invented an entire genre, is back with the sixth Enigma album: and it's back to basics following the more pop-oriented nature of the previous album, Voyageur, an offering that left fans and critics divided. The shades of europop that tended to overshadow Voyageur have been eschewed and here we have a subtle but powerful odyssey of sound that's almost like a soundtrack to the birth of the universe. Intended as a journey through time and space, Cretu has woven an exquisite musical tapestry. The best way to think of this album is as an electronic symphony. The vocals are only sporadic this time, with the first half almost entirely devoid of lyrics. There's an organic feel to the music, as though the music itself is alive: living and breathing, morphing through different emotions and moods as it grows and expands.

More than any of the Enigma albums since the ground-breaking debut, MCMXC AD, there's a sense of space and minimalism that pervades A Posteriori. This is not a collection of songs: rather it's one long piece of music that seamlessly segues through its different movements. The cohesiveness is offset by the depth of sound and emotion: from the atmospherically down-tempo opening track `Eppur Si Muove' and the beautiful and otherworldly ballad `Sitting on the Moon' to the frenetic `Feel Me Heaven' and the stunning tour de force that is `Dancing with Mephisto'; the moods and emotions are interwoven and juxtaposed with incredible finesse. The production is about as good as it gets: this album HAS to be listened to with headphones...apparently a surround sound audio DVD is being released later in the year: I can only imagine how awesome that will sound.

A Posteriori is something special: it's a stunning, exhilarating rollercoaster of sound and emotion that's invigorating, sensual and, by the time the strangely beautiful lullaby `Goodbye Milky Way' ends the journey, is also quite moving. This is the cutting edge of music: it dispenses with the formulaic cut-and-paste mentality that is deadening the music industry and explores a different terrain...on in which the music itself is alive and allowed to unfold of its own accord, gently guided by an overarching vision and purpose. `Follow me, come and feel infinity, eternity...'
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)