Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
61
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.21+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 November 2008
Ok...I'll admit I'm a lifelong fan of Macca's output. Biased though I am, I will point to his mistakes, his halfhearted albums and indulgences. (and even when Macca gets it wrong he is never less than listenable - he is incapable of writing a boring tune) but this album - wow! He packs everything in here - soaring melodies, riffs to die for, bass lines heaven sent, and you know what - it's easily one of the most enjoyable albums of the year.

All this, plus Youth's production input give this album the rough around the edges quality of Macca's early solo work, but with the added benefit of keeping the whimsy to a minimum.

By turns frothy, rocky, spaced out, with more than a touch of the blues - this is wholly glorious !
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2008
Much as others who have already reviewed this album, I am a longtime Paul McCartney afficionado (you could say he's a Lifelong Passion of mine, in fact). I also have the first two Fireman albums in addition to his entire back catalogue.

This album is pretty far removed from his previous Fireman releases. It sounds a bit like the sounds he produced on Twin Freaks, which was remixes of some of his songs. Although there were some vocal sounds in parts of Rushes, this is the first Fireman release to include sung vocals. These are delivered in time to some really funky beats, much as you'd expect to hear in an achingly hip bar or club, and I am confident that this album will actually be played in such premises in the immediate future.

Despite his successes and the adulation and critical acclaim he has received throughout his career, McCartney is very insecure. He has said himself he feels more able to kick back and goof around and noodle with these Fireman projects and so this is Paul McCartney being relaxed, free and himself. Not that his other releases are not true to himself, but he has long been pigeonholed as some soppy balladeer and as such a one trick pony but of late, most notably and recently with Electric Arguments, he has proved this to be anything but the truth.

A highly recommended album which is getting a lot of positive feedback from all quarters, and one I'd recommend to any fans of Paul McCartney, and of ambient and dance music per se.
11 comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2008
i,d heard through the grapevine that this album was astounding, i read the reviews on amazon 1st,people seemed to be happy with it.so i thought i,d take a risk.got to say i would agree that its the most consistant album since band on the run.theres some modern beats,lots of enchantment.lovely melodies,it really works.i,m on my 10th listen in 3 days,i dont remember the last time i liked an album so much and i do have a good few thousand.Paul,you,ll soon have your missing millions back at this rate
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
This is an absolutely astounding album. I'm even more in awe of Macca's genius and I'm only annoyed it's taken me so long to get to hear this. Phenomenally brilliant and easily his best ever solo album. Some of the tracks would have graced the 'White Album'. Can not recommend highly enough. Truly magnificent - one of the best albums I've heard in years.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 2 January 2015
This album makes me feel glad to be alive.
Paul has made a few - though not enough - truly great records since his Beatles days, including Flowers in the Dirt, Flaming Pie and Chaos and Creation...and this can be added to that illustrious list. (Never a fan of Wings, so haven't included any of their stuff.)
The combination of McCartney & Youth (who forever endeared himself to me when he produced the haunting Together Alone by Crowded House) is a potent and fruitful one.
The songs and semi-improvisations the two have come up with are never less than intriguing, sometimes breathtaking, occasionally beautiful.
The opener Nothing Too Much Just Out Of Sight is a five-minute stormer that puts you in the mood, and Two Magpies keeps up the interest and excitement. Travelling Light is the kind of gorgeous ballad at which Paul excels.
Other highlights include Dance 'Til We're High, Light From Your Lighthouse, Highway, and Sing The Changes, but even the least of these tracks - and they're not all quite so memorable by any means - is worth hearing.
With a big cheerful booklet full of pictures and photos, almost no info on tracks or even writing credits, and about an hour's playing time, this is one of the Fab One's most fascinating albums - for me it beats Ram or the overrated Band on the Run into a cocked hat.
Paul was always the innovator of the Beatles, John dabbling with songs like Walrus and Strawberry Fields, but one glance at their post-Beatles output shows Paul trying all kinds of things, while John (whom I otherwise loved) spent time either making derogatory songs about Paul, supposedly radical Christmas songs, the sadly misconceived Rock 'n' Roll debacle, or verging-on-the-twee stuff such as Woman and endless variations on Oh Yoko/Dear Yoko love songs, not to mention primal screams such as Mother, which I imagine even John's most diehard fans rarely if ever play any more.
Paul, lucky for him, has had longer. He's generally made the most of the fact, and a joyously musical foray like this one more than makes up for all the silly love songs and less than wonderful Christmastimes.
You just never know with Paul...

Lovely.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2008
Electric Arguments shows Paul McCartney at his eclectic best rocking out our aural senses with the fiery "Nothing too much, just out of sight" which can leave us guessing where all this pent up aggression and vitirol is coming from? whilst other tracks such as "Two Magpies" is a lovely basic song with added acoustic flavours backed up by Paul's singing which hasn't aged a bit from his day's as a Beatle and the other "Sing the changes" is very uplifting which carries on in a similar vien with "Highway".

His solo career has often been met with added scorn and amazement at times but nobody can ever say he has ever written a boring tune as there is none on here to moan about!

Looking through the booklet that accompanies the album its funny to see Paul letting himself go with a canvas and paintbrush like a kid in a candy shop making the artwork that's seen on this album which despite all the problems he faced with his now ex-wife its good to see him letting himself go to keep us happy.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2008
What can i say about McCartney's new album but bravo.It's a stunning and unexpectedly brave and compelling listening experience.I'm not known for my hyperbole but this record is as strong a album as he's put out since Ram.The highlights for me are Traveling Light,See The Changes,Highway,Dance 'Til Wer'e High,Lovers In A Dream and Nothing Too Much just Out Of Sight,but the whole album is a joy to be hold.If you are a lapsed Macca fan then this should bring you back to the fold,it's outstanding and all i can say is Band On The What!
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
I was astonished by the amount of pleasure to be gained form sitting back and listening to this "Fireman" episode - Paul without the spotlight. There is at least one song on this collection that is sublimely uplifting in Class A. I won't say which one because such judgements are subjective - it might be a chord change that evokes something in me personally. But this is good, and if you're a Paul fan, indispensable. I found it by accident - not a bad way to come upon the Taj Mahal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
Perfectly pleasant - rather bland, but pleasantly so. I honestly did enjoy it, though I can't imagine ever specifically wanting to hear it again.

It seems extremely sunny - all light and no shade. I don't mean that as a negative, just an impression.

It's also very homogenenous, though it didn't (on a single listen) bore me as a result.

The booklet, though, must stand among McCartney's graver crimes against living vegetation, consisting as it does of a large and glossy collection of ill-composed, repetitive and uninspiring photos of some very uninspired playschool paintings, some with Paul and Youth in the frame.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2012
The thoroughly splendid aspect to McCartney's post-Beatles career lies in its relative inessential nature. Whereas each Beatles release was An Event, a crucial part of the zeitgeist, a seismic shift in youth culture and all that balls, McCartney slings out an album every 18 months or so to little or no acclaim. The diehards snap 'em up, the rest of the world ignores them, thinking, "McCartney? What - 'Wonderful Christmas Time'? 'Ebony & Ivory'? Don't bother."

But in his forty years of post-Beatles record-making, amidst the dross and laziness, the misfires and wrong turns, there are buried shiny wonders, flowers in the dirt. Why are they left untouched? Is it because the critical consensus is that McCartney is creatively past his best? Or that the public perception of him is of a tight-fisted multi-zillionaire, churning out the oldies, shaking his dyed top o' mop like some animated relic, his perpetual thumbs-up the rock equivalent of the Queen's wave?

Well, all that stuff is irrelevant because, in the end, it's the music that remains and that's what matters. I'm no McCartney expert, I couldn't list all the records he's made in the order of release, but out of curiosity (which is the best way to approach McCartney's catalogue, maybe) I bought his 'Run Devil Run' album of hastily-recorded rock'n'roll covers and I was deeply impressed and entertained. His love of, and attachment to, his musical roots was infectious. This was no contract-filler by some old cynical hack. (You know he's not in it for the money - he's already got the money.) And I thought, "OK, you know where you're from but where are you going? Are you resting on your laurels or trying to do something new, something else?" And that's what brought me to getting 'Electric Arguments'.

Although a collaboration between McCartney and Youth, it's not apparent where the creative interaction lies. Maybe Youth's role is to give shape and purpose to McCartney's noodles and doodles. If so, he's probably the best producer McCartney's had. The album cover is a detail of a sloppy painting by the duo and this is a perfect representation of the music. Opener 'Nothing too much just out of sight' is a variation of Zappa's 'Willie The Pimp' riff with McCartney seemingly shouting (in a cod-blues holler) random phrases, and from there we're taken on a magical musical tour, with short stops to take in psychedelia, 70s stadium rock, lullabyes, Beck-like country, Spectoresque pop, new age. McCartney, however, is no tourist. He OWNS this land.

The implication of the cover (and booklet) art is that McCartney has abandoned any desire to paint masterpieces and contents himself with scribbles, but what he (and Youth) have produced is a series of abstract sketches, childlike wonders produced by a master's hand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)