Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
16
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

If you think you know Killing Joke and you haven't heard anything from this album yet, you may be in for a surprise. The material on this album is far and away the most commercial of their stuff. Now that's no bad thing and I rather like it.

All that said, the headline, Adorations, is a beautiful song and as such is the least expected of the lot. None of the harshness or anger of the earlier or later stuff and Jaz sounds like he's found a new talent as a pop singer! Love it - it justifies the entire album and it sounds good live too (Nowhere Back but Forward Go). Sanity follows on in much the same vein, albeit a slightly lesser accomplishment. Chessboards sounds much more Jokeish but still in the poppy style and Love of The Masses could have come straight off the disco floor.

There's something about Southern Sky, Victory and Wintergardens that I can't put my finger on - is it Duran Duran that I'm hearing? Aha? Depeche Mode? or at least something very similar and very familiar from that era. Infuriating! but it seems to run through the other tracks in the album and it almost shocked me when I heard it first. It's very hard to reconcile the "traditional" image of Jaz, Geordie & Raven with the music on this album. It has to be said though that Big Paul looks like he was born to play this sort of stuff!

If you're more familiar with their harder output, try it before you buy it.

"As pain and joy and sorrow mingle. Patterns we're finding, our faces raised in adorations"
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2010
BTATS was a controversial album amongst KJ's fan base- a departure fom their more basic, tribal rhythyms (which I adore) to a more synth- based goth sound - wich I also adore.They were to return to their roots but this is an essential part of KJ's catalogue that you should not miss.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2008
In an age where bands churn out remastered versions of their old albums this was quite a refreshing change. Instead of remastering, Killing Joke decided to re-release their classic album in it's original format with several tracks mixed by the original producer Chris Kimsy and not with the Julian Mendelsohn mixes that have been in circulation since 1986.

This doesn't mean that the tracks are demo versions, the tracks are still crisp, identifiable and very loud. Think of it more as a new (or old, the case may be) look at the album. Whereas the JM mixes created an album that had big soundscape, the CK mixes release the individual instruments. I personally feel that the keyboards are toned down a bit in favour of the other instruments, although thankfully they don't disappear completely. It's fitting that this album is dedicated to bassist Paul Raven (who died in 2007) as the bass is particularly awesome.

Don't get rid of your original CD with the JM mixes - complete the set with this brilliant companion.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
Following the mainstream success of 'Night Time' (1985), 'Brighter Than A Thousand Suns' (74:20) was released in November 1986 and reached No. 54 in the album charts. Two singles were released - 'Adorations' in August '86 which reached No.42, and 'Sanity' in October '86 which charted at No. 70. Three bonus tracks on this reissue contain the 2 singles in remixed, extended form, plus the B side 'Ecstasy'. An extended remix of 'Ecstacy' (6:28) appeared on the 'Wilful Days' rarities CD (1995).

Chris Kimsey's original mixes are restored on this CD at the bands request, replacing the Julian Mendelsohn mixes. The result is a muddier sound, but if you own the original CD (like me) you have the best of both worlds. The playing time of the song 'Victory' has been reduced from 7:11 to 3:57 on this Chris Kimsey mix ! The CD booklet contains lyrics and sleeve-notes.

Along with 'Night Time', this is my favourite Killing Joke album. It has a dark, gothic sound, embellished with keyboards, and contains some of Jaz Coleman's best vocal performances. You could argue that most of the tracks have a similar sound, with even the vocals sounding samey, and an overall lack of variety, but at least it is a cohesive collection of songs.

My choice of the best songs would be the 2 singles, plus 'Twilight Of The Mortal' (4:13) 'Love Of The Masses' (6:08) 'A Southern Sky' (4:38) & 'Wintergardens' (5:32). The songs 'Rubican' (6:35) & 'Goodbye To The Village' (5:18) are my least favourite.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
Superb rendition of a very under rated album.
Really do prefer this to the original JM reworks. Chris Kimsey is a genius.
A reviewer on here had stated that 'Rubicon' & 'Goodbye to the village' were the worst tracks on it.
You're obviously a 'plastic' fan as these 2 tracks are superb. The energy on Rubicon is almost overwhelming.
Exile is my favourite track that I don't think they've ever played live.
Buy it, you won't regret it.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2008
The mix doesn't really matter because the material is so good. However, the mix being good is a bonus!
The first two songs are two of the best ever recorded!! The rest of the album, too, is nothing short of classic. Rhythmic but also deep and sorrowful, this album is another fine example of Killing Joke's genius. All of their albums are undeniably good, but this one especially.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
I personally prefer the post 1990 years, with the harder sound - but this is still a decent album, probably the band's most out and out melodic offering.

My personal favourite tracks being Twilight Of The Mortals which is an incredible song and A Southern Sky.

The audio quality is excellent too and although it's not 'heavy' as such, its still dark and powerful music. More Depeche Mode perhaps though than Ministry??
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
A change of sound for this album..still very dark with keyboard driven apocalyptic vibes. Adorations was the single i heard first,bought this and was totally tranced. A great change of direction. You don't want ALL the albums to sound the same,and with this group,you're suprised with every release! Killing Joke does not HAVE to sound like their 1st Three albums..would that not be boring! 1982's 'Revelations' was certainly different to their eponymous debut in 1980,and this is different to it's predecessor 'Night Time' So then check out the follow up 'Outside the gate' where there is only Jaz and Geordie as Killing Joke,and again,keyboard driven,with a wonderful track 'My love of this land' So don't knock this change of sound,cos there is plenty of metal for you with their Nineties output. By me,a Loyal fan!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2008
This is one of the most perfect and complete records ever made, and it's great to finally be able to hear the original mixes, with slightly less emphasis on keyboards and more prominent bass, drums and guitars. The booklet has you believe there was some additional mastering done, but you wouldn't notice, the whole thing sounds just as flat as the original album. Shame really.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 October 2010
After the commercial break through of Night Time and it's massive single 'Love Like Blood', the pressure must have been on to move forward with a more commercial sound, yet that in itself must have driven the band towards certain doom.

The internal strife of the mighty Killing Joke is well documented and forms their lifeblood in creating so many classic works.

I would certainly place Thousand Suns very much in that category.

One of my first ever CD purchases, the sound glistened from the speakers with the synth drums and more polished keyboards providing those soaring moments that were the backbone of Night Time.

Sadly, both Sanity and Adorations, the two big singles on the album just fell short of the top 40 and as a result, the album was bought predominantly by existing fans. However, the album is full of standout Killing Joke mid term classics: The two singles are superb and the flow of quality extends right up to the bonus tracks, Goodbye to the Village and on.

So, not a standard bearer like their earliest and most recent works, but still very good indeed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here