Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 June 2009
This a most beautiful recording of the Creation. It is excellently sung by Harper. Shirley-Quirk and Tear, supported by the Academy of St Martin-in-the Fields. Missa in tempore belli is also perfectly sung. The English Chamber Orchestra, Sir David Willcocks and the Choir of Kings College Cambridge, make an excellent team. For me personally, it is a joy to own.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2009
A superb version of the "Creation" with exceptional soloists who have more than stood the test of time and proved that you do not need to buy more recent versions to get quality.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2010
This is a fine recording, featuring great "Oratorio" voices of the time-- in partiular Heather Harper and

John Shirley- Quirk. I remember seeing these two fine Artists at the Royal Albert Hall, in other works.

It`s only my humble opinion, but, I think this is one of HAYDN`S finest works. So it goes without saying,

that this wonderful music has given pleasure to millions throught the years. There is some mystery

surrounding the original English Text, and sometimes English dosn`t translate well from the original

language itself; but whoever produced the text, on the whole, it is pretty good.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
The soloista, choral groups and orchestras on this 2-CD set are superb, with accompanying notes giving full details of the background to the compositions.
The CDs make me glad that I live in an age where such music has become available to evereyone.
At Amazon's amazingly lowe price, TREASURE the MUSIC and the INGENUITY OF THE ENGINEERS who made it possible for ALL to enjoy it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2016
Old recording so sound is not as good as we would have liked , and it took a little time to get to us , but there was no hurry anyway
Perhaps I did not read the reviews as I should , so probablymy fault
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2012
I bought this as my choir was singing the creation in concert, and other than getting the whole choir over to my place every evening it was a bit tricky trying to practice.

The sound quality is great. My only complaint would be that there are a few tracks on the end that aren't Haydn's creation and to start with I thought perhaps I was missing a few pages from my score!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
A treat to listen to this production, under Sir David's direction, is every bit the best I have heard. A pleasure to play.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
Fantastic recording. All the old singers didn't fail in their performance. Excellent sound quality. Highly recommend it. I have listened to it just once and was very impressed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2012
CD good quality recording
Thank goodness it is in English!
Great for following the score in practice for concerts and noting the tricky bits!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
Good performance
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.99
£12.98
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)