Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
26
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2008
I was present at the live concert at the Barbican in August 2007 when this was recorded. It was probably the best concert ever attended, and the recording shows this in it's energy, yet passionate and sensitive qualities.Harry Christoper ,The Sixteen and the Academy of St martin's in the field have produced a superb C.D..
J. Battershill
22 comments| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2010
Theis performance is sublime - I particularly love the fresh open sound of Roderick Williams' Libera Me
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
The Academy and the Sixteen complement each other so well. Wanted to use the work for a funeral and this recording was so much less brash than most and suited the occassion. Despite that sad occasion it is still something I listen to regularly with awe
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
A beautiful synchronising of words and music . Pity about Pie Jesu ! Would prefer the Mozart pieces at the end of disc, tho' on reflection perhaps that would be inappropriate to the contemplative ending of the Requiem
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
This is a joy...let each note caress your ears and fill your heart with peace and joy...I'm a confirmed atheist, so I don't listen to it for any religious experience. It is simply beautiful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
I know and love the Faure Requiem, but this recording by The Sixteen and the Academy of St Martin in the Fields takes it to another level - it is quite simply wonderful
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2010
I thought it was about Fauré, but it really was Fauré and Mozart. What's the point in having Mozart tracks on a Fauré album? Especially when it is not mentioned when you buy the album in the first place.
Anyway, the Fauré's requiem version is very good.
Good buy.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2012
This is disappointing; the recording doesn't do justice to the singing of The Sixteen. It is a live recording in the Barbican hall, but this sort of singing needs some echo such as a church gives.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2011
This is a lovely recording. By far the best I have heard.
My only small niggle is that Faure Req is not the first piece on the CD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
If you like choral music, you'll love this. It is so relaxing after a hard days work or while writing. Great music to study to.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)