Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

These albums are well up to the standard that Julie's fans expect, full of late-night romantic music. Critics will point to the lack of any up-tempo songs, but that was never Julie's style. There are other singers and groups who are good at that.
The first of the two albums presented here, About the blues, is a collection of ten blues standards and two originals – Meaning of the blues and Bouquet of blues – all performed superbly by Julie in her own particular style. Of the standards, perhaps the best known are Basin Street blues, I got a right to sing the blues, Invitation to the blues and Blues in the night, but there are many excellent songs here in this well-chosen set.
The second album, London by night, is a story about a girl who finds love, loses it then finds it again. The set opens with Well sir, when she meets her first partner, followed about three songs about her being in love including the most famous song here, Mad about the boy. Next comes My man's gone now – so the first love is over. Then she is on her own again (Something I dreamed last night, Pousse Café, Nobody's heart, The exciting life, That old feeling) before she finds love again in the final song, Cloudy morning. All the songs are brilliant – nothing contrived to fit the theme.
Here are two outstanding Julie London albums together on one CD, which all her fans should find irresistible.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
WOW: this has to be one of the best CD collections that I have purchased from Amazon - and you get instant digital download as well.
Julie London is in superb voice on these re-mastered recordings, and with close miking she is practically in the room with you. Orchestral big-band backings are also A1.
About The Blues/London By Night
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2001
These are two of Julie's earlier albums and she
is just terrific. ABOUT THE BLUES is just that
and her voice is perfect for all the songs.
LONDON BY NIGHT is another great collection.
Husband, Bobby Troup, wrote "Well, Sir" for this
album and once again shows how he can write songs
that show off Julie at her best. EMI has done a
great job of reissuing Julie's albums. Let's hope
before long they will reissue LONELY GIRL, MAKE
LOVE TO ME, JULIE and LOVE ON THE ROCKS.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
Can't stop playing these two classic and classy albums from Ms London - superb arrangements and song choices, all delivered in the hallmark whisper that Julie made her own. Great late-night listening with a glass of something standing by.

While there are many "Best of Julie London" compilations available, it really is worth buying the full albums to appreciate what London and husband-producer Bobby Troup accomplished - the careful song selections, and the way they sustained a mood over a full album. There are a number of Troup's own songs on this set, and they are tailored perfectly to London's style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 December 2001
Definitely a five star collection. If you don't know Julie's work, this would be a very good place to start; if you do, you should have bought this already. Even old favourites have new interpretive slants that have you going back for more again and again. It really is listening heaven from start to finish.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2010
Julie London was named by Billboard magazine as The Most Popular Female Singer in 1955, 1956 and 1957 but it wasn't until later that I added a number of her albums to my collection. Whenever they were released in CD form I couldn't resist and you might say I became addicted.
On the evidence of these latest re-releases I shall continue to satisfy my addition even to purchasing the CD versions of those on vinyl.
Although I do not enjoy the blues the JULIE LONDON "About The Blues" has me dithering and "London By Night" is just great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2010
I heard this artist whilst in a fantastic old pub in Newcastle. It was being played on an old wooden record player, perched precariously on the bar. I had to flick through the pile of LP's to track the artist down and I am glad I did. This CD, which has been digitally remastered is fantastic. I am proud to have in my collection. Soft Jazz mixed with great harmonies, I urge anyone to try this artist, you won't be disapointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2001
ABOUT THE BLUES is a fine collection of bluesy songs as only Julie can sing them. "Meaning of the Blues" was sung by Julie in the film THE GREAT MAN. LONDON BY NIGHT is another great collection of latenight songs. Husband,Bobby Troup, wrote a terrific song for her called "Well, Sir" and she does an admirable job. Thanks to EMi for these. Hopefully LONELY GIRL, MAKE LOVE TO ME, LOVE ON THE ROCKS and JULIE are on the way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
'Dark' is missing from 'About The Blues album.
See
http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B000069HG7/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_S_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=IDHNFOXI8THC&coliid=IHZ7S2GR3NR8E
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2016
The original "About the Blues" album have 16 tracks. This issue has only 12. Last four tracks of the original are missing.

************-------- (14 stars in 20)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)